We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great find away from traffic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East
Ranked #34 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find away from traffic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Louisville is a busy city, and this hotel was convenient but out of the craziness of downtown and mall areas. We would stay here again in a heart beat. The hotel staff was amazing and the fresh baked cookies were enjoyed by my husband! Hot breakfasts in the morning were good though not comparible to some hotels. We stayed here mainly for the hot breakfast originally though so we had very high expectations. The pool was clean, and there is a small library of books that you were able to check out if you wished. The bed was really comfortable - both matress and bed sheets/down comforter.

Room Tip: Call and ask questions. This is what I did, and I was not disappointed. I was able to book a lot c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessed1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Dear Blessed1024,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for telling us about our breakfast. We hope that you will return to our hotel in the future.

Thanks again for your review. We hope to see you next time in Louisville!!!

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    86
    43
    24
    12
See reviews for
132
37
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

I picked this hotel mainly because of the price of the room. I have stayed with this chain in the past and know their standards. The front desk person was extremely nice when I called and asked a few questions about the area and she booked me a room directly instead of pushing me off to a central reservation line. We took longer to reach the hotel than expected and the front desk clerk was gracious enough to leave the pool area open late so I could go and sit and relax in the hot tub. After an entire day of sitting in a car I can't tell you how wonderful that was! The room was a little dated and we had some trouble with the toliet at first. The refridgerator was cool but not overly cold and there was no temp control. The rooms were clean and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good. There were always fresh cookies available and every person on the staff was friendly which made it very warm and inviting. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: For a few dollars more the two room suite was well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamiD1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns. We will pass them on to our management staff. We take your concerns and find a way to make things better for our guests. We appreciate it. We strive as a hotel to provide a great to place to stay for all of our guests.

Thanks again for all of your comments. We hope that you will come stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel before and always try to book here when we visit Louisville. A few things have changed over the years that we don't care for. One reason we like Country Inns is the "country" feel, with the country borders, murals, etc. I think the chain as a whole is getting away from that, and it makes me sad. The hotel in general was fine, the room we had was a suite, with a closed off bedroom area with a 2nd tv. There was also a small microwave and fridge in the room. The bed was a king sized and very comfortable, although the pillows are very tiny and don't stack very easily. The included breakfast each morning was quite good, and way more than the standard "continental" breakfast you usually get included with a room...there were waffles, eggs, breakfast potatoes, meats....along with the standard cereal, fruit, bagels, etc. The workers, including a manager, Ronnie?, we spoke to at the hotel were extremely friendly. (We had to laugh about the whole toaster/microwave colors issue!) The pool/hot tub area appeared to be well maintained.Our only complaint was that one day when we came back to our room, we thought the housekeeping staff had been in the room, as the bed was made. However, there were no fresh towels, and the garbage can in the bathroom had a yogurt cup (we don't eat yogurt, so it wasn't ours) and had not been cleaned. We saw the housekeepers in the hall, and asked if they were finished with our room, and they said yes. Well, we kind of told them no we didn't think that they were finished. They did come back and take care of the rest of the cleaning, but that was just a tad disappointing. That experience notwithstanding, I would still stay at this hotel again while in Louisville.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments about your stay. We are currently looking in to your comments about the housekeeping you received at our hotel. We are sorry for any trouble that may have caused you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

Thanks again for yoru comments. We hope that you will stay with us again on future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is a excellent hotel for anyone to stay in!!! Was able to upgrade to a suite no extra charge which was nice becuase there was more privacy for myself and my two guests that were staying with me!!! Also has a great breakfast, pool/spa area, and large meeting space (which I didn't use), but I did see some type of arts and crafts going on, which seemed fun!!! A very friendly and prompt staff during each shift!!!! Was very pleased with the cleanliness in hotel and in my room!!!! Also houskeeping and maintance staff was friendly and did a incredible job cleaning the room while we were out and didn't mess with personal items which meant a lot!!! Again I would reccomend this hotel to anyone and I would stay again for sure!!!! God Bless

Room Tip: Great on price and upgrades to suites and more rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BronsonEngquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for your great comments. We really appreciate them. We are so very happy that we could uprgrade your room. We really feel good when we can make the guests experience better. All of your comments will be passed on to our staff.

Thanks again for your review. We hope that you will come stay with us again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Im on the road 5 months and I finally found a place where I felt welcome.... Greattttt staff, room and service. Thank you so much Ronnie,Sean, Rob and Upshaw you all made my stay great. To sum it up AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry333_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you comments about our staff members, Ronnie,Sean, Rob and Upshaw. We will carry this comments on to them. Our staff always appreciates hearing good comments!!! We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.

At the Country Inn & Suites Louisville, KY hotel, our aim is to provide travelers with that "home away from home" feeling.

Thanks again for your time. We hope to see you again in Louisville!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

+ spacious rooms
+ friendly staff
+ nice breakfast
+ convenient location

- our toilet was very hard to flush (we checked in late & only stayed 1 night so we didn't give them time to fix it)
- stale donuts at breakfast
and, the BIG negative:
- we were only staying one night, but housekeeping came in & cleaned our room while we were at breakfast. That was a major negative for us since we had our belongings all over the place, expecting privacy while we ate. It was also really illogical since we went back into the room before check out. Thus they'd have to clean it again, right?

Lesson learned: now we put the "Do not disturb" sign on the door when we go to breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmeclavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We would also like to apologize for the trouble that the housekeeping staff provided you. We will investigate this issue to insure this will never happen again to our guests. We strive to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

At the Country Inn & Suites Louisville, KY hotel, our aim is to provide travelers with that "home away from home" feeling. For your convenience, our guest rooms feature free high-speed Internet, a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer and irons/ironing board. Stay with us and enjoy all the convenient amenities you have come to expect.

Once again we are very sorry. We hope that you will give us another chance. Thanks again for yoru comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed for 1 night. We often stay at this chain due to convenience of 2-room suites while traveling with toddler. Front desk attendant was very welcoming and exceeded our expectations. However our room was dated, stains on furniture and questionable in cleanliness. We were also surprised by housekeeping knocking at our door at 9am Saturday morning. I'm not sure why they didn't just wait for us to check out like most other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avdotia28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_CEG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We have passed your comments regarding the service on to our staff as it is important for them to hear when they are doing a good job. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable hotel and we have addressed the issues you raised regarding the condition of your room. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Staybridge Suites Louisville East
East Louisville
BEST WESTERN Louisville East
BEST WESTERN Louisville East
#47 of 95 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
East Louisville
La Quinta Inn & Suites Louisville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East
Address: 1241 Kentucky Mills Drive, Louisville, KY 40299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Louisville
#38 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East Hotel Louisville
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Louisville-East
Country Inn Louisville
Louisville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing