We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids enjoyed the zoo a lot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louisville Zoo

Louisville Zoo
Ranked #12 of 168 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kids enjoyed the zoo a lot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Interesting stop while we were in Louisville. We made almost a day of it. Had a good time and learned a lot! Who ever thought elephants were trained like horses.....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Number1Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    368
    132
    36
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
253 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A great small zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

My mother, husband and I visited the Louisville Zoo for the first time this past August while in the city for a family gathering. This is a wonderful place. It is a small zoo, but beautifully and intelligently laid out so that it does not seem small, but at the same time you are not walking too much. (My Mom is 73 and very active, but still . . .) The variety of the attractions and the obvious good health and happiness of the animals is to be commended. Two small complaints. The penguin exhibit smells dreadful. (Now, I know penguin guano stinks, so don't point that out.) But this is an indoor exhibit, and I know that a better air filtration system would seriously lessen the stench. Second complaint, there is a small cemetery in the center of the zoo, well preserved, obviously honored. But there is a serious lack of explanation as to why it was there beyond a small plaque saying who it MIGHT be in the plots. Very odd.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This has always been one of our favorite zoos. It's easy to navigate and you never miss seeing an exhibit because they are all on the map's path. We were there on the day that they were opening their Halloween attractions, so they closed a bit early, but the Halloween decorations were awesome! Restrooms were very clean. The kids enjoyed this very much! I had heard that food prices were high, so we packed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pamky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful zoo!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We really have enjoyed the times that we have went to this zoo! It's not to far from home, yet its far enough away to make a nice day trip! We have a zoo membership that allows us to get in free to a lot of zoos.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Afternoon with granddaughter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We enjoyed this afternoon by seeing the zoo through the eyes of our granddaughter. What a wonderful experience. Walking was a challenge with all the up and down of the steep hills.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 123456topman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Louisville Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing