We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St James Court Art Show is a must-see every October!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Louisville

Old Louisville
Ranked #13 of 168 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“St James Court Art Show is a must-see every October!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The first weekend of October is the annual St. James Court Art Show in Old Louisville. The vendors are spread out over several city blocks, and there's something for every taste and imagination. I've been the last two years, and I intend to make it an annual trek for the rest of my life!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Vettesailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    120
    24
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place for a stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The old homes were amazing! Streets were quiet with surprise fountains. We spent over an hour waiting for the museum tour to start just strolling the surrounding streets. Take the tour if you can. Very informative and interesting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stuchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I live here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have stayed here during the work week for 6 months on 3rd street close to Central Park. The neighborhood is beautiful, my apartment is all I need. History rich and was never bothered. Of course there are some shady people around but you are going to get that pretty much anywhere. I would choose this area to live before any apartment complex.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be smart, plan, and take your time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Old Louisville buildings & homes are mixed in use, some are remodeled, restored and amazing treasures. Some are rentals and a little run down. The closer you are to central park and from there over to 3rd street really are some rare beautiful discoveries. Do some searching online, stay in a bed and breakfast, do a little research and you will glad you did.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SteppL705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette
Level Contributor
392 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Hidden treasures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had visited Louisville many times through the years, but only discovered Old Louisville after visiting the St. James Art Fair one October. Then we learned what a hidden treasure Louisville has in this collection of Victorian Homes. We've since been to the art fair additional times and Old Louisville Holiday House Tour which included the Conrad-Caldwell House Museum decorated for the holidays. It's a treat to walk through this neighborhood anytime, savor the architecture, and consider the bygone days it represents.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mack3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing