We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

The Hampton Inn provided me with a good nights sleep, and good value for money.
Consider that the rate was $135, including free breakfast, free internet and free parking; all set in a downtown location. That is pretty good.

Never understood the policy of "the more you pay, the less you get outside of the room itself" and Hampton Inn is more and more look like a favorite for me.

I never was concerned with the traffic and noise from outside, in fact I slept like a rock the whole night. Room was big and bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was all right, with several choices of cereals, youghurts and even fresh fruit salad which made a healthy breakfast option possible. Three coffee options and several juices and some hot options as well.

The room in itself and the qualities of the hotel was above average and fine, but not having to pay for parking, internet access and breakfast is something that us European travellers are used to, and that was a huge plus for me.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweTraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    277
    113
    42
    21
See reviews for
261
188
56
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable (although, they are on the small side). The lobby was nice, the food was good. The free parking and location were the best for us.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reganamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

Pros: Located right off the interstate. Short walk to 4th Street Live. Free parking on site, unlike the others across the street. Quality free breakfast. Very large, modern, and comfy breakfast, lounge, and sitting areas on first floor. Front desk staff is very quick and friendly. Our room had king with sofa and desk. The room was just the right size. Room had a modern decor.

Cons: Downtown traffic is noisy and can be heard inside room at all hours. Noisy guests in hallways can be heard inside room with door closed. The indoor heated pool was cold. Room did not have flat wide screen TV.

Tips: Louisville Slugger Museum and Factory. Harrah's Horseshoe Casino. 4th Street Live.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanAndTiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Really good choice - again we looked for something that was middle of the road and that we could afford, the staff were great, check-in was a breeze and we were set. Room was good, clean and roomy enough for 3 adults and 1 teenager, bathroom was good.
Parking was included - as was a shuttle that ferries guests to and from local destinations. We were dropped off at the Spirit of Louisville - for a cruise on the OHIO - a great choice and a couple of relaxing hours in what was a hectic month of touring. At the same time they ferried my sister to Joes Crab Shack for dinner so everyone was happy. Breakfast was included and was well received, altho noisy as there was some sporting teams there at the time. After the river cruise we found a mexican restaurant for dinner and then walked home - quite safe and Louisville has a nighttime street partol on bikes which was comforting but there were no problems. All in all recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontourusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

Hampton Inn is always dependable as far as quality and service, but this Hampton Inn (as well as most other downtown Louisville hotels) are along the route to the 3 major hospitals in downtown Louisville making ambulance sirens a common sound. A room not facing Jefferson would be preferable.
Of things that the hospital can actually control, this was a great place to stay for easy walking access to downtown restaurants and sights. We walked to the Louisville Slugger Field for a Bats game as well as to Los Aztecas for dinner and Glassworks to attend a wedding.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, in
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for the Derby - on a normal weekend we would proably not have stayed here but since everything was inflated due to high demand we didn't want to spend more than the $400 a night that we paid for this Hampton Inn. Big party hotel for this weekend and it was very noisy. Hotel seemed to try and compensate for the inflated rate with very nice breakfast and snacks in the lobby. Upon arrival, we also received 2 Derby glasses and a louisville slugger bat in the room. No shuttle to the Derby but very friendly staff lead us to downtown shuttle for $20 round trip. Louisville has shuttle situation figured out. Even with all the people attending the Derby, shuttle service very nice and quick. We did not sit in traffic for long periods of time - they had special lanes for shuttles. Hotel is what you would expect from a Hampton Inn just not what you would expect for the price any weekend other than Derby. Fun stay. If you have never been to the Derby - you must go!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsister09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

After taking the hotel's free shuttle from the airport (10 minutes away) we easily walked to Actors Theatre or the shuttle dropped us off. Large, comfortable rooms with free wifi, free hot breakfast with plenty of tables, friendly staff, who responded immediately to every request, free easy parking. Many nice restaurants nearby. Our weekend seeing plays was enhanced by these lovely accommodations. Budget prices without having to stay in the suburbs.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGBfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Address: 101 E Jefferson St, Louisville, KY 40202-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Louisville
#11 Business Hotel in Louisville
#15 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much history and activity swirl around the Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown. From the Louisville Slugger factory, an American tradition since 1884, to the Belle of Louisville, perhaps the most famous steamboat plying the water, you can see it all from the Hampton Inn in Downtown Louisville. Be sure to check out our hopping entertainment district, Fourth Street Live!, and the newest museum in town, the stunningly modern and cool Muhammad Ali Center. You might even see the champ there himself-he's a Louisville native! So come stay with us at our 173 room newly renovated hotel in Downtown Louisville. After a trip full of fun and adventure, we think you'll agree, we're located in the city for sports, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing