We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“OK hotel close to Jewish Hospital” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
203 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“OK hotel close to Jewish Hospital”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I have Gold status with Hilton and stay in lots of Hamptons, and this one wasn't as nice as most of them. The front desk staff was helpful and proficient, but the rooms were small and poorly lit, the breakfast was subpar, and the room rates were high. This wasn't a good value or the greatest Hampton, but we needed to be close to Jewish Hospital and it was good for that.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rams1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us recently. I'm glad that our central location made it easy to access nearby Jewish Hospital. I hope you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle service to that facility. That, coupled with free parking and free WiFi, makes us one of the best values in the downtown market. I'm sorry that you felt our breakfast offerings were 'subpar', it typically gets very good feedback. I'd welcome specific feedback from you on what you felt we were missing when you were here. I hope you will keep us in mind if your travels take you back to our area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    244
    99
    37
    18
See reviews for
233
173
47
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loiusville, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Nice , quiet , reasonably priced hotel in downtown Louisville. Very comfortable, nice size rooms. In walking distance to many attractions and 4th Ave. Live. Wonderful breakfast, very courteous and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I'm glad that our central location, hotel facilities and staff service made a difference in your experience here. We are thankful that you stayed with us and hope to see you again on a future trip to the Louisville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We loved the Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown!! The room was clean, the breakfast was good, and the staff was excellent!! We will definitely be back, and we hope to see both Augustus and Katie- our tour guide and food connoisseur. Augustus has excellent charm and knowledge of the area, and Katie's recommendations for restaurants were perfect!! Five stars!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay here. I'm happy that you were pleased with the cleanliness of your room and the breakfast offerings. We'll be sure to share your feedback with Gus and Katie about how they made your experience memorable. We hope to see you again the next time you come back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here for a conference that was held in another hotel, which was a mile away. The hotel's shuttle drove me there several times. Every single person was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty and free. The hotel is within walking distance to many Louisville attractions such as 4th Street and the Ali Center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reader2059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us last week and for giving an endorsement on your experience. I'm glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings. I hope that if your travels take you back to our area that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a great experience at this hotel!! Convenient to all of downtown and at a great price. Room was clean and on the end of hall. Very quiet. Would def stay here again. Another positive is the parking. It's free and onsite.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redwasp20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I'm glad that you found our central location, with free parking and clean and quiet accommodations to your liking. We know that you have many choices of where to stay when traveling and are glad you stayed with us. We hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stopped in around 8 pm after a day of driving, Zach was at the front desk and got us a room right away, the price was right and the room beautiful. The down comforter was a bit "lumpy" but the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was less than expected. Eggs tasted like powdered, the hot water for the hot chocolate wasn't hot. They could have used another staff person to help out. The lady that was there did a great job but it was busy and hard for her to do it all on her own. We were on the 8th floor and apparently the trash outside is collected at 3am and the large bins are drooped from quite a height because it woke us both up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clang_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us recently and for writing a review about your experiences. I apologize that the breakfast offerings were not to your satisfaction. We typically do a fine job in this area and will work harder in the future to ensure we deliver a more consistent product. I will also check with our trash hauling company. That time of the morning is much earlier than we should be picked up. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I recently spent two nights at the Hampton Inn in downtown Louisville. They gave me the hospital rate as my husband was having surgery and I did not want to make the almost 40 miles each way drive back and forth on the first two days. They have a wonderful shuttle service that took me to and from the hospital at no charge. I didn't have to take my car in, park and then walk the full distance each time. The breakfast was Super ! Great selection and the scrambled eggs were hot and really good. The desk staff was very helpful and courteous. I heartily recommend this place for anyone who has a loved one at one of the hospitals. I was not then worn out from the long drive and could visit two or three times a day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne37034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review and endorsement of our hotel. I'm glad that our hotel and staff provided you with a stress free environment during a stressful time for you. I'll be sure to share your feedback with everyone here. Let us know if we can be of any help to you if you need to return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#26 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
#36 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Address: 101 E Jefferson St, Louisville, KY 40202-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Louisville
#11 Business Hotel in Louisville
#15 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much history and activity swirl around the Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown. From the Louisville Slugger factory, an American tradition since 1884, to the Belle of Louisville, perhaps the most famous steamboat plying the water, you can see it all from the Hampton Inn in Downtown Louisville. Be sure to check out our hopping entertainment district, Fourth Street Live!, and the newest museum in town, the stunningly modern and cool Muhammad Ali Center. You might even see the champ there himself-he's a Louisville native! So come stay with us at our 173 room newly renovated hotel in Downtown Louisville. After a trip full of fun and adventure, we think you'll agree, we're located in the city for sports, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing