We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Ranked #16 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Easy to find off interstate. Hotel has a free packing lot and nice lobby. Large lobbyarea with bar and rooms to watch tv. Front desk and all employees were very helpful and friendly. Shuttle was great and you could walk to get something to eat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm happy that the location worked so well for you and that the staff provided memorable service. We hope you return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    255
    109
    40
    19
See reviews for
241
179
52
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, hotel transfer, and local van shuttle. Had drinks at the lounge the first night which was relaxing. Hotel lobby (and bar) has an open design so there are many couches and lounging areas.

Nicely decorated, rooms were clean. Traveling companions requested a refrigerator and microwave be brought to their room, wish I did that. Although they have a complimentary breakfast and room service I personally prefer a restaurant available in a hotel. I'd certainly stay here again when going back to Kentucky.

Room Tip: Accessibility: I originally took the kingsize room because it had accessibility for older patron as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Su V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I'm glad that everything worked out well for you and that the staff provided great service. Please keep us in mind should your travels take you back to our area. Again, thanks for the input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here with my mom and brother while visiting, and after bringing back leftovers from dinner, we realized we didn't have a fridge in the room. I called to ask about switching to a room with a fridge and was told that none of the rooms have them but some are available on a first-come, first-served basis. They sent someone up with one within the hour even though they were fully booked because of some big bicycle event going on in the city.

The next morning, we went to the complimentary breakfast that had many different options including a nice variety of proteins. They also had different coffees, teas, and hot chocolate.

The room had double beds and a nice big bathroom. I recommend this Hampton Inn to anyone visiting Louisville.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank trophygirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the great review of your recent stay with us. The staff will be pleased to see that they made a positive difference in your experience here. We hope you will keep us in mind for your future lodging needs. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Good hotel. Bar and Food area could use remodeling. Very inefficient use of space. The lanes and aisles created by the tables and entry ways cause bottle necks that make the dining experience a hassle to deal with. There is a lot of space that can be used for sitting and drinking however they layout of the room does not allow for this. This area should be remodeled to take advantage of all the space.

Room Tip: This hotel is in a great location downtown. During convention season however, space fills up quickly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErrorFortytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I'm sorry that the layout of the dining space was problematic for you. During peak periods at breakfast, especially on weekends when there are more groups, the breakfast area can get congested. We will continue to monitor this and look for new operating efficiencies. Thanks again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The staff at the front desk and the staff that helped us with a last minute reservation were great. They were helpful, warm and accommodating. After a very long day of travel their friendliness was very welcome! The location was a few minute walk from some great restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review following your recent visit here. The staff will be pleased to learn that the service they delivered was a memorable part of your stay. Please keep us in mind if your travels take you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Absolutely Awesome! The hotel was very nice, beautiful lobby, excellant breakfast,and the rooms were wonderfully cleaned with specially folded towels. But what made this visit awesome wasn't necessarily the accomodations. It was the STAFF. What an amazing group of people! From the moment I made the reservations, to check in, to the multiple times we needed help...they were there, happily and willing to help with everything. A fantastic stay, and we plan to stay every year now when we go to Louisville. We were there for an archery tournament, and when we checked out, the front desk employee even asked how my son did - and we hadn't even met him previously! Now, that's service!! Thank you Hampton Inn, your hotel was wonderful, but it was your Staff that really made the difference!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Wow, thanks for writing a great review on your stay. We think the staff is awesome too and we're glad they made a difference in your visit. I'll be sure to share this feedback with the team--it's what motivates them to deliver this type of service daily. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

These folks do it right. They really care about the people that stay with them. They always have a smile on their face when I check in. They actually have a parking lot in downtown Louisville. The location is great as you can get to anything in the downtown area. If you need transportation, that is not a problem. Clean rooms with great beds. They treat me like I am at home. I love staying in this hotel in Louisville. Thank you Hampton.

Randy E

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Randy-
Thanks for providing feedback from your recent visit to our hotel. I'm glad that the staff provided you with friendly and personalized service that made you feel "at home". I will be sure to pass along your comments to them. We look forward to your return visit in the near future and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#14 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,564 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#8 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Address: 101 E Jefferson St, Louisville, KY 40202-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Louisville
#11 Business Hotel in Louisville
#15 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much history and activity swirl around the Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown. From the Louisville Slugger factory, an American tradition since 1884, to the Belle of Louisville, perhaps the most famous steamboat plying the water, you can see it all from the Hampton Inn in Downtown Louisville. Be sure to check out our hopping entertainment district, Fourth Street Live!, and the newest museum in town, the stunningly modern and cool Muhammad Ali Center. You might even see the champ there himself-he's a Louisville native! So come stay with us at our 173 room newly renovated hotel in Downtown Louisville. After a trip full of fun and adventure, we think you'll agree, we're located in the city for sports, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing