We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“All you could want in a place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Ranked #16 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“All you could want in a place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Nice, clean decent sized room and bathroom. Has free parking, and free breakfast in the morning. Also has free WiFi, though a bit slow (may have been a simple problem with my laptop).

It's on Jefferson, and right near the I-65 exit... and a few blocks from downtown. It's near a shady looking gas station and pawn shop, but in the two days we stayed here, we had no problems when walking to and from downtown (at all times of the day or night).

As I said above, it's only a few blocks from downtown, so walking to the KFC Yum Center or Fourth Street Live is simple.

I read a previous review that the traffic/busy street kept that person awake over night. I slept just fine... I'm pretty sure that most people from the typical suburb or city will sleep just fine as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhawrysko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I'm glad that the hotel and its location worked so well for you. We look forward to having you again as our guest when your travels take you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    250
    100
    37
    18
See reviews for
237
175
49
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife & I stayed there with our infant son for two nights. On the trip home we noticed these sores appearing on his arms. After arriving home I noticed them on my legs too!! They were the tell tale triple bites from bed bugs. After calling the hotel management I was told they would "investigate" to see if there was an infestation. Two days later I received a voice mail from a management company saying that they found no signs of bed bugs and therefore would not do anything to assist me. Do yourself a favor and choose another place to stay. I am a frequent business traveler and have Gold status with Hilton and have never been this appalled!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
When I was informed of the possibility of this problem, I , like most responsible hoteliers, took it very seriously and acted immediately. I personally checked this room and had the housekeeping manager inspect it as well. I did not leave it to our inspection alone----I contacted our pest control company who was here within 24 hours. They performed a thorough inspection and certified in writing that there was no sign of any activity of any kind. Although I don't dismiss that you and your son may have some type of bite, I can state that it is not the result of bedbugs or any bugs from that room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I use to stay at mostly holiday inns and decided to give hampton a chance. Great location clean rooms and would definetly stay again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thanks for the positive feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and the service we provided. I hope that you will keep us in mind if your travels take you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

All the staff we talked to, front desk, breakfast crew, and staff we met in the elevator were so accomodating. Front desk had great recommendations for restaurants. Provided a map with locations circled. So awesome. Maintenance and housekeeping staff on elevator were very polite and helpful with children. I think we got a room upgrade. Was very nice. As usual this hotel chain has very comfy beds/sheets/pillows. 6 yr old loved the pull out couch. The indoor pool is amazing,huge. We all loved it...kids and adults. We made the walk to Fourth Street Live downtown.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geogchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that we provided service worthy of such great feedback. You can be certain that I will share your comments with our dedicated team. We hope to have you back in the near future as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I'm creeped out by hotels and I give this place a 4 star. Everyone was VERY pleasent even with all the commotion and drunk people from New Years eve. Within walking distance to both the river front and 4th St.

I also want to say their complementary breakfast was the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Happy New Year and thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will share your feedback with our staff--especially about the breakfast. We hope you will consider us again in the future if you travel back to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night last week. I don't remember staying at a Hampton Inn before, but the hotel was very nice. It was decorated quite pretty for Christmas. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The location was in walking distance to restaurants and the KFC Yum Center. The lady at the front desk was friendly and helpful. We had an easy check in and check out. There were alot of options for breakfast, seating was plentiful, and the dining area large. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shar0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. I'm glad that you were pleased with the hotel and the service provided by our team. We hope you will keep us in mind if your future travel plans bring you back to Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This is the second time within four weeks that a Hilton Hotel gave my room away! When I stepped up to the counter to check in, I was told "sorry, but were overbooked and your room is no longer available!" Apparently, guaranteeing a room at a Hilton property with a major credit card (along with being a HHonors member) is not much of a guarantee!! I simply can't believe it!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Speakman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I sincerely apologize for the problem you encountered at our hotel that resulted in your relocation to a different hotel. Without knowing the exact date of this occurence, I am unable to tell exactly what happened in your case. Please contact me directly at 502-585-2200 and I would be more than happy to look into this.

Sincerely,
Bob Gigliotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#9 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Address: 101 E Jefferson St, Louisville, KY 40202-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Louisville
#11 Business Hotel in Louisville
#15 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much history and activity swirl around the Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown. From the Louisville Slugger factory, an American tradition since 1884, to the Belle of Louisville, perhaps the most famous steamboat plying the water, you can see it all from the Hampton Inn in Downtown Louisville. Be sure to check out our hopping entertainment district, Fourth Street Live!, and the newest museum in town, the stunningly modern and cool Muhammad Ali Center. You might even see the champ there himself-he's a Louisville native! So come stay with us at our 173 room newly renovated hotel in Downtown Louisville. After a trip full of fun and adventure, we think you'll agree, we're located in the city for sports, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing