We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:45 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful large and winding cemetery with two notable residents

This is a large cemetery and you will get lost! Even with a map we got confused. Perhaps more... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Disneybus
,
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Amazing history!

This cemetery is beautiful! The grounds are so well kept. There are so many amazing and unique... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Shellie T
,
Teutopolis, Il
Read all 639 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Louisville
from $15.00
More Info
from $159.00
More Info
from $157.94
More Info
from $16.80
More Info
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveler rating
479
133
19
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
133
19
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buried here colonel sanders civil war final resting place kentucky fried chicken yellow line grave stones burial site beautiful headstones peaceful place spring and fall muhammad ali front gate works of art points of interest lots of history interesting place
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 633 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

This is a large cemetery and you will get lost! Even with a map we got confused. Perhaps more markers are needed at each intersection in addition to following colored, broken, and solid lines. It's beautiful with changing landscapes and many interesting and magnificent markers. We did manage to find two of its more notable residents using Google GPS - Colonel Sanders and the Champ - Muhammad Ali!
Ali's marker is inspiring, appropriate, and not ostentatious. "Service to others is the rent you pay for your room in Heaven"

Thank Disneybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

This cemetery is beautiful! The grounds are so well kept. There are so many amazing and unique headstones. So much history, the sections that contain departed soldiers literally gave me chills. We spent about an hour and half here, but had the weather been a little warmer, I could have easily gotten lost in time. It's a must see!

Thank Shellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Many of the historians who built and worked Louisville are buried here. Be sure to ask at the gate for the driving tour and markers of the great Louisvillians and princesses.

Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent the afternoon driving/walking a bit looking at and reading the markers. The older headstones were more detailed than the modern ones. Ali and Colonel Sanders are buried here. Large Military section.

Thank roadtrippersx2Chicao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As part of a garden tour, this was a surprise and well worth the visit. Historical graves and some of the monuments are truly works of art.

Thank Starboard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was our intent to visit Ali's grave when we left Canada and so this is the first thing we did. We parked up somewhere and walked through the cemetery with the help of a guide. If you can't walk far I would recommend driving through. But for us it was a lovely morning, birds singing, sunny and dry. We followed the white line until we reached the green line which led us to Muhammad Ali's resting place. It was beautifully kept. While there we met other travelers who had come to see the "greatest". So very glad we made the trip.

Thank notanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Parked the car and took a quiet stroll and enjoyed the beauty of the cemetery's landscaping and diverse sections.

Thank tonjaaaronwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Cemetery is just not for the dead!! There are many historic graves here including Mohmand Ali... It is extremely well kept

Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cave Hill Cemetery is one of the loveliest cemeteries and arboretum that I have had the pleasure of seeing. Sure, Muhammad Ali and Colonel Sanders are both buried here but there is a lot more history that can be enjoyed with a walking tour. Historic tours are offered throughout the year such as today where you can learn more about the past movers and shakers of the community. Local architect Steve Wiser takes folks on a 2 hour walking tour that is very informative and truly picturesque. I saw areas that I have never seen before and learned so much more about the history of Louisville than I thought possible. Be forewarned that Steve is a fast walker and there are a number of hills to go up and down. The good news is that you will be rewarded with an enjoyable afternoon-and exercise. They also do a twilight tour on wagons that are very popular and sell out. Do check out their website for other tours and events throughout the year.

Thank jgbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As fun as it gets riding around a cemetery. We were driving around while an actual burial was taking place. So I would recommend to be respectful when driving and not play any loud music. It is better to drive then walk around because it is a very big Cemetery

1  Thank rocky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews