We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Sculptures I've seen in a Cemetery”
Review of Cave Hill Cemetery

Cave Hill Cemetery
Ranked #6 of 171 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“The Most Sculptures I've seen in a Cemetery”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We love seeking out the local cemeteries in a new city, so of course we visited. The office was closed on a Sunday but you can google a map and find where some of the fun sights are.

There is a neat little cave down by the lake that can't be entered, as well as some of the most elaborate sculptures on tombstones I've ever seen. Two specific stops we made were to see Colonel Sanders' tomb (complete with a bust of him) and a beautiful statue of a magician placed atop his grave. This place is a great stop if you're a cemetery lover like I am.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ark18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    113
    15
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Every visit is unique”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I often walk the property and enjoy the beautiful grounds. On several occassions I have photgraphed the beautiful sights. It is a great place to remember our military men and women who have died over the decades for our freedom.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberlgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Beautiful”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife and I visited because we enjoy Victorian cemeteries. This cemetery was no exception. They had everything you come to expect; Beautiful private mausoleums, hand-crafted tomb stones, and well kept and designed grounds.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CalAlumTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Be sure to set aside a few hours to tour the beautiful grounds and breath taking monuments. Tours are available throughout the year, but not weekly. Check the website for dates and times. A worthwhile experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie_7483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A gem of the community”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Outstanding landscaping and topiary combined with some simply amazing memorials makes this place a great location to explore. There is some interesting history to be found as well as unique geological features here. Many natural springs help to form this place into a gem of the area. There are also some very cool Geocaches and EarthCaches here as well that we very much enjoyed!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cave Hill Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing