We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicken livers :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvest - Louisville

Harvest - Louisville
Ranked #25 of 1,748 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Hancock & Clay
Description: harvest...a locally grown restaurant.
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chicken livers :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The chicken liver app was our favorite, and my husband 'says' he doesn't like chicken liver. He had the fried chicken and it was wonderful. I had a salad and a couple of apps. Both had a nice local beer. I love farm to fork restaurants and this one was very good!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FortWayneJoanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    92
    38
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Never one to steer us wrong, JG back home has guided us to some great restaurants while we are on the road. Tonight she has truly outdone herself by sending us to Harvest. While the concept of farm to table is a noble one, one wonders if the reputation is worthy of great praise. In this case, all the accolades are well earned.
First, start with a cocktail: the lemon punch with gin (it has a charming name which escapes me, but it is first on the list) is divine. Proceed with caution as it a flavor powerhouse.
Second, do not overlook the appetizer course. One of the specials was Tomato Gazpacho which I thoroughly enjoyed. Light and refreshing, it was the best of the tomato, heirloom, I am certain, with no skin or seeds. Delicate seasonings elevated the humble fruit to exquisite joy in every savory sip.
Main course is mostly meat offerings with the Jambalaya being an outstanding selection. When one of us inquired about allergies, it was obvious that the concern would be adressed (the waitress assured us she verified with the Chef immediately after we placed our orders). The vegetable sides included with the dinners were uncommon (sweet potato grits, for example) but outstanding.
Save room for dessert as more flavor explosions await your taste buds.
This was a supremely satisfying meal: the service was professional but relaxed and welcoming. The decor is simple and clean but feels like home. To top it off, Igor, one of the owners, came by to share his vision with us and was delightfully charming and personable.
This is a true gem in this lovely southern city; do not miss a visit here. We are already planning our return on our next trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cozy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I dined here in July and really enjoyed our experience. The atmosphere of the restaurant was comfortable and relaxing. Our server was very knowledgeable and gave honest opinions when asked about the menu, which was very helpful! We ordered the pretzel bread appetizer and then two of the specials. Our food was good and the portions were refreshingly small compared to the massive plates you find so many times. It left room for dessert which is always nice! The only thing we found surprising was the somewhat high prices, but since they are all about local items this makes sense. This is a great place to stop in for a unique meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty farm-to-table dining in trendy, urban Louisville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The neighborhood itself has a cool, urban-revitalization vibe, and the rstaurant itself is unpretentious in its decor and service. The drink menu and the food menu are DIVINE. All locally sourced, fresh ingredients in innovative, yet not unfamiliar dishes. Try the 'Kentucky specialities' section of the menu - you will not be disappointed. I wish my trip were long enough to go back for brunch. The crowd is extremely eclectic across socio-economic and age group lines. You will have a table of young artists dining next to masters of industry, mothers of three, and couples on an intimate date. A great meal, and fun dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest family
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

In Louisville for a Little League tournament and came across this divine restaurant. One of the best meals I have ever had anywhere. The chicken livers were to die for and the chess pie was out of this world. Lively atmosphere , but the food is DIVINE.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DDaisydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvest - Louisville also viewed

 

Been to Harvest - Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing