We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great neighborhood vibe - local shops

Frankfort Ave seemed like a great neighborhood full of locally owned shops, restaurants and... read more

Reviewed August 22, 2018
luv2ride
,
Maryland
via mobile
Eclectic

Just take a walk in this street and enjoy the shops, restaurants, and such. Wonderful atmosphere... read more

Reviewed July 8, 2018
AymanPhD
Read all 143 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Louisville
from $15.00
More Info
from $159.00
More Info
from $157.94
More Info
from $16.80
More Info
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
78
45
9
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
45
9
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trolley hop comfy cow fat friday el mundo blue dog occasional train locally owned shops great neighborhood sweet surrender trading post half block silver dollar bookstore galleries railroad clothing neighborhoods
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had an enjoyable time visiting the local attractions. I had assumed the Capitol city was bigger, but all in all a memorable experience.

Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited based upon high ratings from TA. Was disappointed at this mid day visit. Shops, etc can be pretty spread out for a walking tour. We prefer Bardstown Rd area but I can see if you did the trolley hop it would be more enjoyable.

Thank TheHungryHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

Frankfort Ave seemed like a great neighborhood full of locally owned shops, restaurants and businesses. Very eclectic and sometimes funky. All the businesses are on the south side of the road and a railroad on the north side. The railroad track has been turned into an asset with linear gardens and landscaping graced by several seating areas. The Avenue bustles with locals, walking their dogs, eating, greeting friends.

Amazingly in today’s America, I only saw 1 chain business and it was a drugstore .... everything else was unique on this walkable avenue. Hopping barbecue joints, French-style bistros, salons, spas, shops, often with water bowls for their doggy neighbors near the doorway. In addition to the gardens and outdoor seating, the area was graced with a scattering of painted horse statues, created for a previous charity fund-raiser.

Lovely area!

Thank luv2ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

It lacks the buzz of Bardstown Rd,/Baxter Ave. Maybe because one side of the street is a railroad track Some good restaurants

Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

Just take a walk in this street and enjoy the shops, restaurants, and such. Wonderful atmosphere. My wife and I love to take long walks here, especially when the weather helps. You get to see a variety of places and many coffee shops as you hangout.

Thank AymanPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018

I left Louisville to pursue a job opportunity over 25 years ago, so I've seen the changes like stop-time photography each time a make a trip home. The changes to Frankfort Avenue are, perhaps, the starkest. What used to be a very low to lower-middle class area is now kind of hip and happening. Lots of cool restaurants and bars, boutique businesses, and gussied up storefronts. Truthfully, I kind of miss some of the grit and grime of the 1970's that used to define the street life, but it's much more welcoming to tourists and other Louisvillians nowadays.

Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2018

This is like going through the streets of Montreal. So much to see and learn, great food, loaded with charm. You just can't beat the feeling you get by this wonderful experience.

2  Thank Skip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018

The shops, bars and restaurants on Frankfort Avenue include an amazing array of choices. When we cross the bridge to go to Louisville, this is one of our frequent destinations...

Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2018

Love, love, love the quaint and eclectic shops on Frankfort Avenue and the Restaurants as well! Wonderful old neighborhoods line this street just past the railroad tracks! All walks of life meander the shops and eateries and the occasional train can give it a little excitement (but can also be a little noisy after the first few minutes). If your in the mood for shopping and bargains, you simply must go to Margaret's!!!

2  Thank jackiebee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

I’ve been calling Frankfort Avenue “the Avenue” for years. It finally caught on.
It’s a great strip of local cuisine, coffee (no Starbucks, thankfully), bakeries, banks, clothing, churches , galleries, etc.
Lots to offer.
Not sure about the “historic” designation. Catchy but . . .
Good place to browse on a Saturday.

Thank studiompm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews