We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Room, but Property Needs Work” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #82 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Columbus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Decent Room, but Property Needs Work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The entryway and lobby had a decent appearance, but when we made the trek back to our room, things really deteriorated. We had to walk through musty hallways, past room after room that had been totally gutted and left in shambles. Despite the condition of those creepy, filthy rooms, it did not appear that any renovation was taking place. The dark, dank hallway and eerie confines brought to mind scenes from The Shining. We continued on past the church that has apparently taken up quarters in the hotel. Elsewhere there appeared to be a hair salon occupying some rooms. A piece of unrecognizable food (my best guess is pizza) that was caked on the stairs remained in its position for the duration of our stay. Finally, near the end of this long journey we arrived at our room. I had become very worried about what would be behind the door, but the room turned out to be surprisingly clean and comfortable. The "Wick's" bar in the hotel provided for some interesting times, what with the children falling asleep near midnight while their besotted mothers belted out karaoke, and the couple running the karaoke equipment who bore a striking resemblence to the old Saturday Night Live skits with the musical couple played by Will Ferrell and Ana Gasteyer. The bartender was very pleasant, however, and presided over the bar with aplomb.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcvan1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada P, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments on the hotel room. The hotel has been working hard to ensure the rooms are nice for the guests. The hotel does have one section of rooms where renovation is taking place and I think you somehow found that hall. We do have 14 guest entrances, and generally try to show guests the best entrance to park and use so they dont have a long walk to their room or have to walk through that wing being renovated, I certainly apologize if you received poor directions. The hotel does have a barber shop which is open for guests to use, and currently has a spa which will be opening in November which is under construction currently, it will be a beautiful space and will enhance the guest experience here tremendously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    174
    319
    325
    307
See reviews for
392
154
47
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Level Contributor
303 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I trusted reviews - not on this site - but on expedia and I shouldnt have. This hotel was terrible to say the least. We stayed here for a concert and we got less than what we paid for. The room was dirty (I just cant do hair in a shower that is suppose to be clean) and next to the indoor pool. I didnt sleep at all. After being all day on the rode and then shopping while the guys went to concert, I needed sleep... didnt get it here. Avoid this if you like clean and quite hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada P, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory and it does not sound like we asked enough questions to correctly assess which room would be the best for your stay. If you were looking for a quiet room, a room by the pool was a bad choice. We do have 4 floors of hotel rooms, and many rooms in nice quiet areas of the hotel. If you would like to reach out to me directly I can set you up with an appropriate room and ensure everything is perfect on your next stay.

Dawn McIntire
General Manager
Ramada Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Louisville hotels

CIRCLEVILLE
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent hotel. I stay here every Friday. I enjoy my stay, have a comfortable stay, and enjoy the staffs' professionalism.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Johnathon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada P, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so much for being a regular guest! I appreciate it! Stop by and say Hi sometime at my office. The hotel just installed 5 new internet access points to improve the wifi connectivity at the property as well as our newest upgrade..let me know how that works!

Dawn McIntire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I was a little reluctant to book this hotel due to some negative reviews on this site. But I wanted a place with an indoor pool in that area, and this hotel fit the bill. First off: I understand some of the complaints. For instance, there is a restaurant by the lobby that has live music on the weekends. However, from what I could see, you could not hear the music from any of the guest room. My only other complaint is that there is some unattractive wear and tear. Other than that, the hotel was fine. My girlfriend and I had a great stay there. We were there for five days. We enjoyed the pool on several of those days, and the workout equipment daily. Our room was equipped with a fridge, a microwave and a coffee maker, of which we made good use, and all were perfectly functional and fine. The air conditioner/heater was new and quiet and worked quite well for cooling in the day, and heating at night. There is a pizza restaurant/bar and a coffee/breakfast lounge, both of which were perfectly passable for what they are. They are not gourmet restaurants or fine dining facilities. They are places to get food, drink and coffee, and they are perfectly good at providing these services. The pool was big and warm and clean. The atrium area around the pool is lovely. The workers and service people are friendly, helpful and competent. For the price, this hotel was good at what it is, a fairly low-priced hotel with a big, heated, indoor pool. There is a Dairy Queen that essentially shares the property (separated by a tiny wooden walk bridge) so if you like that. . . All in all, it was a very good hotel experience. I would recommend it for travelers on a budget. If I were ever needing to stay in that area, I would certainly return to this hotel

Room Tip: we stayed on the bottom floor on the left side, toward the front desk, Specifically, rm 1111. easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertcronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada P, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I am so happy you enjoyed your visit...we did recently install many new air conditioning units, and are working hard every week to continually address some of the wear and tear items in the hotel. We have a great new Executive Housekeeper as well who is working daily to keep the hotel nice and clean! We would love to have you back!

Dawn McIntire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Through some connections we were able to get a good rate for the four of us, 2 children (16/20 yrs old), and my wife and I. Connecting rooms, clean, if a little bit dated, but quite roomy, lots of storage. nice TVs (3 of them, each bedroom plus living room). New aircon, easily controlled so were comfortable all the time. We'll definitely repeat our visit next time we're in Louisville.
Great mattresses, quality sleep. I like firm mattresses and these treated me well.
Didn't try the restaurant, but the coffee was good, and we found the staff to be friendly and competent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada P, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to review us and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Stop in and say hello the next time you in, would love to meet you!

Dawn McIntire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
East Louisville
BEST WESTERN Louisville East
BEST WESTERN Louisville East
#46 of 95 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#44 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
East Louisville
Red Carpet Inn Louisville
Red Carpet Inn Louisville
#79 of 95 in Louisville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 9700 Bluegrass Pkwy, Louisville, KY 40299-1904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Ramada Plaza Hotel Louisville features all new guest rooms, 32 inch HD TV's, Indoor Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Arcade, Gourmet Coffee Shop, Family Pizza Restaurant, Nightclub, Business Center, Free Airport Shuttle and has over 40,000 SF of banquet and Exhibition space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing