We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...sometimes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #85 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...sometimes”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We were in Louisville for the Ag Machinery Show. Stayed for 5 nights Had stayed at the Ramada in Shelbyville last year which had free hot breakfast and great rooms, pool and hot tub. This hotel was much closer so we gave it a shot. Surprise...we had stayed at this same hotel with our kids 17 years ago when it was a Double Tree Inn. It's definitely not what it used to be! ( I heard it had been part of 2 other chains including Clarion)
The atrium which included the pool, a child play area an several patio lounge areas is still there and is a nice place for groups to socialize. However the advertised hottub has been covered over by a "deck" of sorts for quite some time. We were on the bottom floor outside room (not poolside) with a king bed. Heating units kept cycling on due to lack of sealant aroung them causing a constant cold draft.
Pros:
- Comfortable bed and clean room.
- Friendly and helpful front desk staff (and timely maintenance personel)
- Pool area well decorated with trees and furniture.
- Close to shopping and restaurants
Cons:
- No free breakfast (Weekend buffet available was overpriced and barely edible and guarded by a 300lb bouncer!) Ryan's Family Restaurant (buffet) is cheaper and has a multitude of choices for every pallet.
- wifi not available in all rooms due to placement of routers and cement walls.
- Bar & Grill attached to hotel is a bit sketchy...minimal furniture that you would see in a rowdy roadhouse. Ordered out for pizza instead.
- morning Cafe is overpriced and limited menu.
- Shower tiles have been painted and are starting to peel.
- Pool is available for Birthday party rentals on the weekend so can lead to busy pool and very noisy atrium.

We would likely not stay here again because we lost too much time in the mornings finding a restaurant for breakfast, standing in lines and waiting to be served. Much better to just go to a lobby, grab a bite and leave.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue2879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    186
    342
    348
    346
See reviews for
448
163
49
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Overpriced rooms. Service was decent, but both ice machines within a hundred yards of my room were out of service, so needless to say, it was an adventure just to fill my bucket. Hot water valve was stuck open on tub, hot water ran all night, as well as the toilet. Maybe if some repairs were made to the mechanicals of the hotel , energy bills would be a lot lower and they wouldn't have to charge so much for a mediocre room. On a positive, wicks pizza is inside the hotel so no need to travel far for some decent grub

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Louisville hotels

Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I was in Louisville for the National Ag Show. This is a huge show, so hotels were at a premium closer to the fair grounds. This hotel was a reasonable alternative for us. This hotel is huge! We were surprised at the size! Good thing to make note of as, we took the car to the entance hall, good thing! Room was OK. They definitely could use an upgrade. If you are using the desk for computer work, it would be nice to have a lamp so you could see what you are doing. Did not try out the restaurant. There is a great Mongolian Grill just across the street that was fantastic! Price was good, could not believe it was $69 bucks per night! Overall I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairiephyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Ask for a room near the lobby because those have been somewhat renovated. On the good side there was an LCD and no hairs on the sheets. The bad: our room was literally 1/4 mile from the lobby, they had the heat turned off in the hallways and all unoccupied rooms. We couldn't take our coats off for an hour after we arrived even with the heat turned on. Stains on carpet and on recliner, cheap grandma furniture. If u just need a clean bed for a night and you get a cheap price on Priceline , you'll be ok. Any more than that and you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on New Year's Eve because our friends were playing a set in Wick's Pizza Pub in the hotel. After reading the reviews that others had posted about this hotel I was pretty leary of staying there but trying to be safe on NYE we booked a room. We were put on the top floor (4th) in a suite that we requested and were surprised by how nice the room actually was. For the extra money it was much better than the other rooms that we saw and the problems that I read about.

I think that part of the reason that there wasn't so much wear and tear on our room was because it was suite. It's definitely not the nicest suite but the bedroom was large and it had a giant connecting living room area. This hotel was built in the late 60's I believe and back then this was a really nice hotel (not under Ramada ownership) and the suites were basically executive suites that were incredibly nice. For this reason I think that not as many guests stayed in these rooms over the years- hence less smell and damage to the rooms. Our friends were staying in the two suites next to us and their rooms were also nice like ours.

The bathroom while not cracking and painted over was definitely a problem. The shower was basically half shower and half bath because I couldn't get the shower to be, well, just a shower. The water also took forever to get hot- my husband speculated that because the hotel is so huge and that it probably only had one water heater in the whole building, it took longer to travel up the pipes to our floor.

The hotel was filled to the brim that night- there was guests staying for NYE, a birthday party, and perhaps a youth league of some kind. The pool was in use waaaaaay past the scheduled shut down time. Parents were supervising their kids while playing cornhole (also known as bags) surrounding the pool. I definitely did not feel safe walking alone in the hotel because it is so large and the lighting is very dim in many areas. I made my husband walk the 10 minutes(!) from the hotel restaurant back to our room just to get something really quick.

In short- the beds were nice and comfortable, the suite would be the best option or at least ask to be placed on the 4th floor if possible to reduce potential situations of wear and tear. The showers sucked, no other way to put that. There was poor lighting and the hotel is so large that it is both intimidating and easy to get lost in. The parking lot is a little sketchy. The budget was in the right price range.

Would I stay here again if given another option? No.

Room Tip: The 4th floor is the best way to go for less wear and tear possibilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheIrishSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed during the holidays. It's central location was close to all of our family, restaurants, shopping and entertainment. A great pizza place, Wyck's is practically in the lobby. Staff there were great too.
The staff was accommodating and very friendly. The nice gentleman that checked us in, met us at the door near our room with a luggage carrier, helped load it and brought it to our room!
We found it to be quiet, occasionally one of the heavy door shutting. Granted, it is an older hotel but a good value.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay more than one night, I'd suggest a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smooty86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Pros: pizza joint (Wick's) on site; arcade on site for kids; nice towels and bath products. Nice bedding, bed well made by staff. Nice flat screen TV. Staff helpful at checkin.

Cons: no hot water in bathroom sink in late evening (both too late and too inconvenient to call to have it fixed at that hour). Bathroom small. Rooms were a long way from check in and pizza place/arcade area. Furniture looked like it had seen better days. Generally dingy feel.

Overall: ok for one night stay passing through at a good discount rate.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamish2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
East Louisville
Best Western Louisville East
Best Western Louisville East
#42 of 95 in Louisville
452 reviews
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Ramada Louisville North
Ramada Louisville North
#66 of 95 in Louisville
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 9700 Bluegrass Pkwy, Louisville, KY 40299-1904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Ramada Plaza Hotel Louisville features all new guest rooms, 32 inch HD TV's, Indoor Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Arcade, Gourmet Coffee Shop, Family Pizza Restaurant, Nightclub, Business Center, Free Airport Shuttle and has over 40,000 SF of banquet and Exhibition space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Louisville Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing