We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local is Much Better Than Chain”

Mrs. Potter's Coffee Lounge & Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local is Much Better Than Chain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm not sure what Mrs. Potter's secret is, but I loved her coffee.

This cute coffee house is a few steps away from the hotel where I stayed in Louisville. It was great for a mid afternoon pick me up and then breakfast the next day.

I came for the coffee, but stayed for the staff. Often times local coffee houses can come with a little attitude. Not this one. The staff members I met were friendly and engaging. I gots lots of tips for what to do while I was in town.

The best tip I got was to come back for breakfast. Which I did.

I can't wait to get to Louisville again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RickF413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice atmosphere, great food, perfect place to grab a quick bite while seeing the sites in Louisville.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Franklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stopped on a whim, glad we did”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My mom and I ate lunch here Saturday on a whim. We were downtown, headed to another restaurant, when we saw the menu for this place. It looked good, so in we went. What a fabulous choice. We split the antipasto platter (yum), spinach and atrichoke dip (best we've ever had, and we've eaten many), and the prosciotto & fig panini (awesome). Prices were very reasonable, our total with tip was $13 each (no drinks). The only negative was the peppers on the antipasto platter which my mom said were not good as they were too large and thus chewy (I don't eat them). Definitely stop by if you are in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelTravelNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly waitresses, great cappucinos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I stopped by to get a coffee and peruse our laptop. Let me tell you the waitresses were about the friendliest around, and the cappucino with one shot of chocolate with incredible.

A mom and her daughters came in after us and sat down to dinner, and I overheard them they how great the salads were.

Clean restaurant, great service, nice waitresses. I would defnitely come back when in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midwestscubagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not your average cafe'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This cafe' has an artsy vibe; kind of an industrial loft feel. Our dining experience was a little different from other reviewers. We received excellent service. Granted, the restaurant was only half full and it was likely after the lunch time rush.

Our kids really enjoyed the sweet tea, but did not like their quesadillas mainly because of the spinach tortillas. When we asked if there were any other tortillas, they said no; I found the lack of variety a little strange. On my part, my husband and I enjoyed our food; he had the apple bacon quesadilla. The sun-dried tomato vinaigrette dressing on my salad was excellent. When I inquired about it, they said it was made from scratch on the premises.

Overall, the food was good (adults liked it; kids didn't), ambiance was different, and the service was great!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jorylou5465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs. Potter's Coffee Lounge & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing