We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Louisville Mega Cavern
Ranked #1 of 174 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: While visiting Louisville, Kentucky, you won't want to miss MEGA ZIPS; "The World's ONLY FULLY Underground Zip Lines & Adventure Tour" featuring 6 Ziplines and 2 challenge bridges up to 2 hours of adrenaline or MEGA QUEST the ONLY FULLY underground ropes challenge course in the world! Mega QUEST is one of only twenty courses of its kind in the USA. Aerial challenge and ropes courses are the hottest new extreme sport in Europe where thousands of courses are located. For those wanting a lesser thrill, be sure to check out the MEGA TRAM a Historic Tour: Ride and never walk through a part of 17 miles of underground passageways beneath the city of Louisville. Learn about the geology, history, mining techniques, recycling, and green business technology. See where 50,000 people would have been invited to stay during the Cold War Era. The historic tram tour operates mid-January through October. If you are visiting us during the holiday season, be sure to check out Lights Under Louisville: The World's Only FULLY Underground Holiday Light Show. Drive through 1.2 miles of underground passageways beneath the city of Louisville, Kentucky as you see and hear the sights and sounds of the holiday season. Offered seasonally mid-November through December. The cavern is transformed into an underground holiday light show with more than 750 lit characters.
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I visited today with my 10 yr old daughter and we had a blast. Alec and Paige were awesome guides. Be prepared for dust and a chill. It's pretty cold in the caverns. Great fun for a family outing.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Q, Social media Manager at Louisville Mega Cavern, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Great to hear, Rachel! I am glad that your family had a fun, though chilly, time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,080
    1,004
    213
    61
    112
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Claus, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great day”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My family of 5 had a great time. Tour guides Sarah and Brandon were great. Kids were aged 12-16 and everybody had a good time. I'm not a huge fan of heights but I didn't really have any trouble until the last zip because you have to stand on a platform - other than that I had the most trouble walking over the bridges despite the fact that you are fastened on the whole time. It was pricy even with our military discount which saved us 20 dollars a person

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenandbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Q, Social Media Manager at Louisville Mega Cavern, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that Sarah and Brandon were able to make you feel safe and comfortable! I will pass along your kind words to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adrenaline rush!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Ziplines were awesome and challenged my fear of heights. But, it was so worth it! Our guides, Max and Jess, were very helpful and had a great sense if humor. Highly recommend the experience!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Q, Social media manager at Louisville Mega Cavern, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking to the time to review our Zipline tour. We will certainly pass along your compliments to the guides. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
converse, indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We took the Mega Caverns Tram Tour (too chicken to zipline!). The tour lasted about an hour and was interesting. I thought it was a little pricey for what it was. The tour guide was knowledgeable and seemed to enjoy her job. The bathrooms were very clean which was nice and the food (concession stand style) was reasonably priced. Overall - not a place I would visit again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Q, Social media Manager at Louisville Mega Cavern, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Jackie! Thank you for your positive words. We appreciate the feedback. If would like to chat further about why would probably would not want to come back again, I would love to talk to you about what we can do to change your mind! Jennifer.quinlan@louisvillemegacavern.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Joel & Katie”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was our first experience ziplining and had a great time. Joel and Katie were very safety conscience and had great personalities! They made us feel comfortable and tolerated our fear of heights!! Ours was a 2 hour experience and there is a lot of standing and waiting as each of our group members were hooked up to zip. But worth it! We took our 14 year old son and our 16 year old daughter went with her softball team. She said their guides, Zach & another guide, really helped them calm down and were helpful. We heard of great experiences by all. It was an awesome experience. Thanks!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Q, Social media Manager at Louisville Mega Cavern, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
So glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the zipline tour! Thanks for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Louisville Mega Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing