We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great accommodations for a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 18 Louisville B&B and Inns
Westchester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great accommodations for a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in June on vacation to visit numerous local attractions, hit the bourbon trail, and visit Churchill Downs.

The location couldn't have been better, 15 minutes to downtown, 5 minutes to shops and food, quiet neighborhood.

The building is charming, and considering how old it really is, it is in great condition. Most rooms available are excellent.

We stayed in the travelers suite (cheapest room) but that is the only room with a caveat: the bathroom (toilet and shower) is in the bedroom... think of a loft type room. There are curtains that separate it from the bed area, but some people may find that an issue. My wife and I did not, but we also had no problem "taking turns" in the room. All other rooms have a separate bathroom, with appropriate cost.

All being said, the house, and room, were perfect for our desire for a quiet, comfortable home-base to explore Louisville and Kentucky.

The Breakfast was amazing. 5 star service, full spread with multiple items every day (yogurt, coffee tea, fruit, nuts, juice) along with rotating hot items (pancakes, eggs, omelets, ham, bacon, ect.). In fact, it was so amazing, the one day we were going to skip it, we rescheduled our day in order to have it.

The Staff: both Cynthia and Drew were awesome and very hospitable.

Amenities: WiFi, AC (thank god), nice grounds to walk around, an awesome porch for relaxing

Pros: Location, Price, Amenities, Comfort, Mini Fridge

Cons: if the place is busy, I can see breakfast being a bit hectic, and nights possibly being noisy. There was 2-3 other couples there while we were there and we didn't hear them, and breakfast was usually just my wife and I (early risers). But the place can hold many more than 6 people.

Tips: 8am is earliest for breakfast, plan around that.

Verdict: Worth the price, would recommend.

Room Tip: travelers suite: right price if you don't mind the quirky bathroom. Also, it's the only roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
34
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at this B&B on a weekend in June, 2014. It was our first trip to Louisville and we were debating staying downtown or a little further away when we found this B&B's website. This was the perfect choice. It is just a short drive to Main Street and the museums, to Churchill Downs or to the University of Louisville. We would recommend a drive up Bardstown Road to the downtown area as there are plenty of good local restaurants and shops along the way. The B&B itself was a nice quiet retreat after a busy day of sightseeing. The breakfast was made fresh each morning and featured wonderfully delicious fruit and local items like honey. Plus you cannot beat the history that the B&B offers with interesting connections to US history (no spoilers here - check it out for yourself)! Cynthia was friendly and helpful and really made us feel at home. We highly recommend this B&B and are already planning another long weekend stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights last weekend and it was a great experience. The Jane Austen suite was a very large room with a queen bed and two twin beds. There was a very interesting selection of old books to peruse in the room, with chairs and desk areas to sit at. There was also a wet bar area with a sink, mini-fridge, and microwave. The room was on the first floor of the main house toward the front door. The bathroom in this particular suite was a bit interesting, as it was a sunken bath under a slanted ceiling. It required a bit of bending over in order to bathe , but this wasn't really a big problem.

We had no problems with noise while we were there, which was nice because we mostly just used the room to sleep at night after returning from a busy day out doing things around Louisville. The neighborhood and grounds seemed quite quiet and peaceful. The building itself is old but well-maintained.

The highlight of the whole stay was definitely the innkeeper, Cynthia. She was very welcoming and hospitable, and always asked the day before when we thought we'd want breakfast. The cooking was great, and varied day to day (french toast, eggs + spinach, biscuits, sausage, etc). When we forgot a couple of our possessions in the room after checking out, she neatly put them on the kitchen counter for us to retrieve later.

Overall I definitely recommend this B&B, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We just returned from a four night stay at Bashford Manor. We stayed in the East room which was large with a queen bedroom and another single bed. The building and rooms are beautiful and the food and hospitality were great. Cynthia made us feel very welcome and she was very helpful in giving us tips on where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful historic home during the week of the Kentucky Derby, and totally loved it. Our parents had the Library suite downstairs, which was very spacious and gave us a relaxing place for our evening chats. Our suite was on the upper level, a quaint room with a queen bed. We loved coming down to a tasty breakfast every morning in the dining room, it felt like being at home. Cynthia was very gracious host, and accommodating to anything we needed. She provided us with useful information for our dining and shopping experiences. We found the location to be easily accessible to the Derby, shopping, and restaurants. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great historic Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

First, understand what you will be getting when you stay here: this is obviously a work in progress. Cynthia is clearly a woman of ambition and vision, and as such work on this stately and historic home is continuing. We stayed in the Garden Suite, not the main house. The seclusion was wonderful, but the effort and the ambiance thus far are clearly in the main house. On our next stay, we will opt for the main house. I would also caution potential guests, the Garden Suite would be very difficult for a person of much "girth" to navigate. Breakfast is STELLAR, do not skip it! For those wanting to see the real gems of Louisville, the location couldn't be better. The property is just a 3 or 4 minute drive from the truly delightful "Weird Louisville" that everyone should experience up and down Bardstown Road.

Cynthia and staff were very accommodating, which I understand is not always the case with B&Bs. We were given a very gracious schedule with check-in, breakfast, and checkout My wife looked at me on the way out the door and informed me that we'd be back when everything was in full bloom. Still being polished, but oh what a gem the Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast will be when completed!

Room Tip: Garden Suite or Carriage House for privacy, main house for the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janesville, WI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked 4 rooms for 2 nights. West, Travelers, one lower Carriage House suite and the Carriage House Loft suite. The price here can't be beat for such great accommodations!

My husband and I stayed in Carriage House Loft suite. it was nice and roomy to play games with the family, though Cynthia had graciously offered us the dining table. I heard there was a cake there. Should have used the table! Thank you Cynthia! Couch was very comfy and great for napping. We asked for an extra blanket and it was happily provided. There's a huge soaking tub. Choose one of the rooms inside the house if you prefer the feeling of historical luxury. Personally we were very happy with this suite.
Cynthia is so pleasant to work with and VERY understanding when we had to change a reservation night earlier in the month. At another B and B I feel like this could have been a stressful situation but she was amazingly accommodating. I LOVED her passion for history and her love for this rescued beautiful old house. All 6 of us agreed that she is a wealth of knowledge and has a way of putting her guests totally at ease. Personally she's one of our favorite Inn Keepers ever! The Bashford Manor is centrally located to anywhere we wanted to go in Louisville. We appreciated having off street parking. I loved the beautiful Dining room set up with a table for 6 and several tables for 2. She let us choose the breakfast time which was so thoughtful . Overall we were very pleased and would love to return in the summer to enjoy that inviting porch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trulike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,540 reviews
South Side
Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds
East Louisville
Homewood Suites Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
East Louisville
Drury Inn & Suites Louisville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2227 Bashford Manor Ln, Louisville, KY 40218-1301
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National historic landmark with modern amenities, park setting, convenient and centrally located! Comfortable and classic. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing