We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful new hotel, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Louisville Marriott East
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in early August - I must say that the hotel is beautiful - a bit fancier than most Marriotts. It has been very recently renovated and everything is new. The new design especially on the main level is impressive. The room was very comfortable - comfortable bed,well-appointed bathroom (fancy shower as mentioned by another reviewer). Room size and appointments are fairly typical of the newer Marriotts. Spacious well-equipped workout area; indoor pool. Had a Marriott burger in the restaurant and it was one of the best ever! Like other reviewers I feel that the initial kinks are still being worked out but would not hesitate to stay there again. In fact, it will be our first choice. It was not very busy but expect this will change as it becomes better known. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Parking is free and the hotel is conveniently located for access to I-64 and the eastern portion of Louisville. Not much around within walking distance - some shopping nearby. Hotel has adopted themes of bourbon and horses so fits in well to local culture. Manager told us they are planning to do bourbon-themed packages.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGMNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 529 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Friendly staff, beautiful common areas, great food......this Marriott is top notch! Rooms were clean and comfortable. Everyone -- especially on the concierge floor and the restaurant staff -- was very hospitable and made our kids (ages 6 and 9) feel extra special.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K-Mama71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed two nights with my wife while visiting family in Louisville. Marriott’s website says “New” but really it’s renovated. We had stayed there several years ago and weren’t impressed but decided to try it again.
Pros: Very well done renovation, clean and updated rooms lots of free parking, easy drive to anywhere in Louisville.
Cons: middle of industrial park, no restaurants within walking distance.
Bottom line: We found the hotel was up to date and we enjoyed the stay. We visit our family twice a year and have tried 3 or 4 Marriott brand hotels around Louisville, the Marriott East will be our first choice in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdc3293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Review
The Marriott Louisville East is a well styled, newly renovated (renovated as in totally gutted and redone) hotel that seems to be one step below a J.W. Marriott. Upon arriving the hotel was only a couple weeks old. It has a very nice, modern entrance and lobby with a bar and restaurant as well off of the lobby. You are greeted by the hotel staff right as you walk in. The hotel staff are some of the best I have ever encountered at a hotel of any kind. This would prove to be very important later in my stay. Now the room I had had a king bed and a pull out sofa. Room was well appointed with a large TV, many outlets, large desk, and plenty of storage. The bathroom was what really was nice. It is not large but it has a great shower without a tub that is glass enclosed. The one true negative was that my door to the bathroom did not open with ease as it would not just slide as it should. You had to push it in an odd fashion to open it. I was a little scared at first as it seemed as though I was trapped in the bathroom. The view was nothing interesting, as I expected. Unfortunately the roof that you look onto is white so when the sun is on that side it can be pretty tough to look out with out being blinded for a moment. Now on the second night was when my stay got interesting. My mom and I had reservations for dinner and we got back with around an hour to get ready. When she attempted to get into her room, the car would not work. After two trips down to get new keys, they finally had to call maintenance. Maintenance was very slow and seemed to be very inefficient. We sat in the hall for an hour with the very nice hotel staff as they kept us entertained. They were very impressive people and made a horrible experience bearable. They finally sent us down to the bar to have any drinks and appetizers we wanted on them as maintenance worked on the door. We ended up getting charged for the free items in the end so that took ten minutes to get corrected at the end. The front desk lady seemed to question the whole story with the key issue and asked who gave us these free items. It was a little appalling and should never had questioned us. This is the only problem I had with the employees at this hotel. To give you a little more insight on this whole key issue, this Marriott has a different kind of card sensor that you just hold against the sensor and it will unlock. They said this was the first one it had gone out on so it was all new to them as well. We finally got into the room an hour and a half after the whole mess began. On my final night at the hotel there was yet another incident. A few of my friends at the hotel were in one of the elevators and it got stuck. This was around 10 at night. An hour and a half later they were able to get out but it only added to the concerns I had of the hotel. Overall the hotel is very nice, but if I were looking for a hotel in the near future, I would wait a few months before coming to this hotel. It needs time to work out its kinks and become the great, flawless hotel it is destine to become. Keep in mind this is a review from July 2012. I would hope these problems are all addressed to make others experiences perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffreyThompson, General Manager at Louisville Marriott East, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Marriott Louisville East. Your feedback is invaluable and will help us continue to provide the very highest level of service and satisfaction. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the overall service and we appreciate all of the positive comments on our new hotel. However, we're disappointed to learn that you had some unsavory experiences with the elevator and key locks. We'd love nothing more than to make things right, so were working on ways to ensure similar issues don't arise again.

I hope you and your friends can give the Marriott Louisville East another opportunity in the future. We would love to see you again soon. Please let me know if i can be of any assistance in planning your next stay.

Sincerely,


Jeff Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Marriott's have (almost) always consistently impressed me and this one is no exception. We were the first people to ever stay in our room so that was definitely a first. The service was exceptional even though they could have had some excuses working out the kinks on opening weekend. Staff was great, hotel was beautiful and clean. I would definitely stay here every time i'm in the Louisville area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noshame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkmgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana U, Manager at Louisville Marriott East, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Carmelino64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris T, Manager at Louisville Marriott East, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 100 in Louisville
2,028 reviews
East Louisville
Homewood Suites Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 100 in Louisville
1,493 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#5 of 100 in Louisville
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisville Marriott East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott East

Address: 1903 Embassy Square Blvd, Louisville, KY 40299-1800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Louisville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $129 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott East 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full-service luxury hotel in the East End of Louisville featuring Charr'd Bourbon Kitchen & Lounge, 1,500 sq. ft. Workout Room, Business Center and Concierge Services. 21,000 square feet of flexible meeting facilities and services complemented by Marriott's renowned meeting expertise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Louisville Marriott East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Louisville East Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing