We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

Waverly Hills Sanatorium
Ranked #21 of 172 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Waverly Hills Sanatorium is on the U.S. National Register of Historical Places. The massive five story hospital was built in 1926 and sits atop Waverly Hill today. It housed 400 patients and was one of the largest facilities of its kind. Waverly served the community through decades of the worse TB outbreak in the country. After closing in 1961, due to the introduction of life saving antibiotics, the hospital reopened in 1962 as "Woodhaven Geriatric Center" which operated the facility until 1982 when it was closed by the state. Ravaged by years of neglect, the present owners have breathed new life into the building by conducting tours though the facility in effort to restore it to a useful asset for the community once again. Waverly has earned her place as one of the most haunted places in the country and has been host to many films and TV shows. During tour season (March – August) Waverly offers several options of visiting. *2hr. Introductory Paranormal Tour which includes a 20 film then a walk through the building.*2hr. Historical walk through tour held one Sunday each month*Public or Private overnight sessions for ghost hunting enthusiasts. For all tour or overnight reservations or inquiries contact the office open daily 9am to 5pm Monday - Friday.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hell, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have been here three times. I have done the 2 hour tour during the day and two night visits. I would recommend the day tour for people who are too scared and are not sure if they would like to go during the night. I have caught all kinds of things on camera and on a voice recorder. I would suggest going when it's a little cool, definitely not in the summer. It is very hot, especially walking around so much. This is an awesome place to visit for anyone who is interested in ghosts and the paranormal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Nunya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    71
    24
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Mi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Planning on a return visit”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you watch ghost hunters or show like it this tour is for you.
Even if you are not a paranormal believer this is still a good time and lots of true facts about the days when tuberculosis was a killer.
I can only describe it as fun, curious, eerie creepy all at the same time.
GPS does not work very well and only gets you close, use the golf course entrance to get to the access road.
Phone staff needs to be more friendly and helpful was my only complaint (needed directions and opening the security gate)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank g_man_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always Worth It”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

For starters, I live in Louisville and was raised in Louisville so this has always been a notorious place growing up. I have been a total of 4 times now, all have been great experiences.

Weather you believe in paranormal or not, this place has a crazy history and is amazing just to be inside to check it out. I will always keep going back and strongly recommend people to visit!

Helpful?
4 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We did the 2 hour paranormal tour from 8pm to 10pm. The lady tour guide we had was just amazing! We did not watch the 20 minute video others have mentioned. We spent the entire 2 hours in the building. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of stories and her experiences within the building. She even shared her personal history such as being born there and having relatives living there. She allowed our group of 20 plenty of time to explore. We even got to walk to the bottom and back of the death chute! Highly recommend and will definitely be back for hopefully a 4 hour tour next time.

Helpful?
4 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thought it might be different, but....”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was our first visit to WH and had a group of four. The directions on the their website did not match GPS so, that was how the tour started and was our party was rushed from the beginning. The staff was not very friendly and it seemed that we paid our 22.00 to be treated as an inconvenience. I would suggest to the management that gruff and inpatient guides are NOT the way to get return business and loosen some of the rigidness of the public tour. Im not saying let folks run wild but there is a medium ground between being so strict and taking out any excitement and encouraging more business by word of mouth.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 41kellis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waverly Hills Sanatorium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing