We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day at the races”
Review of Churchill Downs

Churchill Downs
Ranked #4 of 174 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful racetrack has been the home of the Kentucky Derby since 1875.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A day at the races”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We participated in the Kentucky Colonel's Day at the races. How exciting!! We were able to view the races from the millionaires row (not a place we could have afforded with out the Kentucky Colonel's Day). They have tours into the paddock area that anyone can sign up to take. The museum there is very good and the races are exciting. Plan on making this one of your stops when traveling through Louisville.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael3735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,676
    585
    138
    32
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville FL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Entertaining Experience”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Never having gone to a live horse race this was a wonderful experience. We reserved seat in millionaire row which includes all u can eat dinner n fourth floor viewing of racing. Had a great day without losing money. We bet only between ourselves.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank akingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOLTEWAH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
“A day at the races”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were in town with some friends for their first time at a horse track. They loved it - it is reasonably priced to get in and if you park off Longview - parking is free. They were surprised how the people in the betting windows were so helpful on how to bet. They obviously cannot give specifics on what you should do or which horses to bet on, but on how to place the bet. The food was very good for concession style.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DEBORAH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
843 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“So much history”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

A must see if in the Louisville area! Even if not a huge race fan still take the tour or stop by KY derby museum. Admission to track is only a couple dollars and it's a very relaxing place to spend an afternoon. The quality of the facility is great and the employees are nice. Great selection of food and drinks at reasonable enough prices. Huge parking lot in front with FREE parking. Not far at all off highway 264 near the airport. If you like horse racing or just watch the Kentucky Derby it's a must see for all the history on display. This place is huge and it's fun walking around seeing all of the different areas.

Helpful?
1 Thank Banny9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Churchill Downs for Downs after Dark”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I and another couple went to Downs after Dark in September at Churchill Downs in Louisville and had seats and dinner on millionaires row 4. I have been to Downs after Dark several times and highly recommend the experiance. The thing I wish Churchill would do is sell the 6th floor first but they won't sell the 6th floor millionaires row until the 4th floor sells out. The seats run $59.90 but include track admission, program and buffet that you can "graze" on for several hours. The food is good but not great but is plentiful. The Downs after Dark are on Saturday nights and watch for theme nights which make it alot of fun. When you get seats I would recommend getting a table toward the far walls toward the buffet or you will have people walking over you all night. Also, avoid a table near near the track because of people walking by.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Churchill Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing