We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and well done”
Review of Churchill Downs

Churchill Downs
Ranked #4 of 174 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful racetrack has been the home of the Kentucky Derby since 1875.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting and well done”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I'm not a horse racing fan but thought I should see it anyhow... Well worth it... Great tour of the grounds

Helpful?
Thank sdrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,686
    587
    138
    32
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

They were remodeling Churchill Downs when we were there but the museum was nice and we got a tour of the grandstand and paddock area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SanAntonioFLHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Horse Track with a Good Cafe”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We didn't go in the museum, but we went to see the track and stopped in the cafe. Their food was actually the best we had in Louisville. Try the Kentucky Nut Pie - yummy!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“BOA Trip”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Always been my favorite place in Louisville! Anyone who visits Louisville must see it. They now also have a museum which offers a great education on the history of Churchill Downs and the Kentucky Derby.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why I choose not to support churchill”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As a local, Churchill downs is amazing. But I'm choosing not to support it so much because the local folk can't play with Churchill on Oaks and Derby unless you're in the 1%

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank vegevault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Churchill Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing