We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Not Enough!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Samuel Culbertson Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Louisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Thank you Rudy & Kevin. We had anticipated an evening out to see the town & taking in the Urban Bourbon Trail but decided to relax in the mansion instead. Rudy & Kevin were out tending to their own events, leaving us completely alone to explore this impressive home. The only rule: if a door is closed, then it's off-limits. Very few doors were closed! The collection of antiques and period furnishings kept us in awe all evening. Front porch is a great place to enjoy a cocktail and the neighborhood is worth a walk-around. The house is spotless and breakfast wonderful & classy. Rudy asked several times if there was anything else we would prefer than what was on the menu for the day and was willing to whip up other choices. Lots of work and care went into this house and Rudy has plenty of reason to be proud of it. Another guest, being a piano teacher, started the morning with music in the parlor. Will certainly stay here again if ever in Louisville. A bargain at twice the price.
T&K Picciuto, Woodstock, VA

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Thom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were very pleased with our overnight stay here. It is in a fine historic neighborhood, and the antiques that abound everywhere in the house are an experience all by themselves. The host was gracious and accommodating. The breakfast was superb. No doubt about it, we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a wonderful gem in old Louisville! For a bed and breakfast that is over 200 years old, this mansion is immaculate. Rudy and the boys were so gracious. His home is your home. When reviewing a b&b, one has to understand that the owner is inviting you into their home. We enjoyed sitting in the parlor and sharing stories with Rudy and playing with Maggie, the princess of the home. I'm in Louisville often and intend to stay frequently since finding this place! Thanks for the hospitality!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lizstrange09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I often stay in B and B's in spite of the fact that I frequently find them over decorated and too cute by half. Part of the reason is the quirkiness, surprise factor, and intimacy of a B and B. That said, I was blown away by the Culbertson Mansion! It is LARGE, ornate and tastefully decorated in period antiques providing guests a real sense of how the late 19th century upper class lived. Since we were the only guests we had run of the house and I was able to look at all the guest rooms. All are spacious. The bed was comfortable, the room dark and quiet with no street noise making for a great night's sleep. The window unit AC did strain to keep up with cooling demands but was adequate for the job.

Rudy and his assistant Kevin were charming. The neighborhood is walkable and fascinating. Breakfast was unfussy with eggs to order meat, cereal, toast, muffins, fruit, OJ. No grits in evidence, a very good thing, maybe because we had given a heads up that we detest them.

Next time we are in Louisville, we'll definitely be back

Room Tip: Any room is a winner here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hawkseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This inn is best served as a walk through tour only...not an overnight. We found supplies lacking, (It is more than an 'inconvience' to run out of toilet paper at 3 the morning), air conditioner not functioning (rooms were not cooling properly by the window units - not comfortable in 90* heat),, no breakfast choice--baked casserole only - big assumption on part of owner that all guests enjoy this type of breakfast, coffee cups had dirty rims on them(discovered when pouring coffee), tabled place setting not replaced or refreshed from previous participant at table (ugh), probably the worst is just the lack of true cleanliness overall --especially the tubs.
Proprietor and his staff do not seem able to physically undertake the obligations of a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JacquelineJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Having never been to Louisville, we didn't really know what to expect of the area's accomodations, but we certainly made the right choice with the Samuel Culbertson. Entering the hall literally took our breath away...it's spectacular, like staying in a beautifully kept Victorian museum. The innkeeper mentioned that he had spent 30+ years collecting the furnishings and restoring the mansion to the beautiful home it is now. The room was wonderful, huge, and very comfortable, and breakfast was lovely. The area of Old Louisville itself is amazing, with about 1400 turn-of-the-century Victorian mansions in a few city blocks. We were only there 1 night, but hope to return soon- and we will definitely stay at the Samuel Culbertson again- we'd love to see more of it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

this place is like a museum!!! Beautiful from floor to ceiling. I got a chance to play on the grand piano.. It has an amazing tone! Our room was comfortable and large. The bed had beautiful linens!! The big tub was a big winner for us!! Breakfast was tasty. The owner was very welcoming and had great conversation.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TexasFarmStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisville
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 99 in Louisville
2,027 reviews
Old Louisville
Inn at Saint James Court
Inn at Saint James Court
#10 of 15 in Louisville
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 99 in Louisville
4,187 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 99 in Louisville
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samuel Culbertson Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samuel Culbertson Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1432 S Third St, Louisville, KY 40208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range: $109 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing