We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #53 of 100 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed June 21, 2006

The room we stayed in was fairly recently updated, complete with fridge and microwave. They were in the process of updating the exterior as well. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast includes cereal (just 2 choices), fruit, bagels, juices, milk, and muffins/danish. The location is 3-4 blocks from the river and 2 blocks from "4th Street Live" restaurant district. There is a gas station/convenience store 1/2 block away. The downtown trolley (25 cents) stops about one block to the north (near 2nd St. and Jefferson).

Unfortunately, there is a dance club directly across the street which does not close until 4 A.M.!! Wednesday night is college night and the crowd spills out onto the sidewalk. (Thurs. and Fri. weren't as busy.) The motel is L-shaped and makes a perfect reflecting wall for the sound. But wait, there's more. In addition to the dance club, they advertise "The world's only drive-in motorcycle bar". By turning the fan on we could mask out most of crowd and music noise, but the cyclists revved up as they entered and exited the area. According to the desk staff, Louisville doesn't have a downtown noise ordinance. If you can sleep through the noise of a thunderstorm, this place may be just the ticket for you.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 289 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2006

I got a room at this hotel due to its close proximity to the convention center and cheap price. The staff at the desk was friendly enough at all times. The room was nice on the inside, however there was almost a one-inch gap underneath my door (which leads to the outside since the rooms are all outside-facing).
During my 2nd night I was awakened by the sound of shattering glass, which made me think someone was breaking into rooms (not a particularly comforting thought when you're staying in the heart of a downtown area). I also heard what sounded like a party right outside my door. After trying to call the front desk for 30 minutes and getting no answer (this was disturbing as well), I looked outside and saw that the dance club across the street was just getting out. There were people everywhere, including the hotel parking lot (with my car in it) and to make matters worse, the employees of the bar were throwing out their glass bottles they had emptied during the night into the dumpster right across the street. Talk about annoying and loud!
Needless to say, I checked out the next day and moved to a nearby hotel for the remainder of my stay. I would only recommend this hotel if you don't care about getting much sleep because you'll be staying up all night wondering if you're actually safe or not.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wonkadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2005

If you are looking simply for an affordable place to stay in downtown Louisville, I would definintely recommend this place... nothing too fabulous, but I don't have any complaints. The staff was friendly and helpful. But if you are looking for a 'nice' hotel (with some frills), this probably isn't the place for you...

All in all, a very good deal, given the location.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ang0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Indiana
13
Reviewed July 6, 2005

Great location and really nice renovated rooms.

Only a couple of blocks away from the river and across the street from the convention center. Close to 4th street live .. only a couple of blocks.

Outside of the hotel is nothing to look at .. really dated but the rooms are very nice. Friendly and helpful staff. The "deluxe" continental breakfast was anything but deluxe .. that is my only complaint.
Good deal on a room ...$66 for a king suite. Recommended.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Mecky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sachiko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank JackThunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 401 S 2nd St, Louisville, KY 40202-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $76 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown, 1 block away from Kentucky Intl Convention center, Fourth Street Live, Papa John's Stadium, Slugger Museum and many downtown business and attractions. Kentucky Fair Expo and Derby is just 4 miles away. I-65, I-64 and I-71 are just 2 blocks away making it highly accessible to not only business travelers but also leisure travelers. Offering the best rates in downtown with business amenities. Hotel offers free wireless high speed access. Microwave, refrigerator, spacious work desk, free copy-fax services and on-site exercise room. Please note 1 parking slot per guest room. Parking Charge: 5.00 per 24hours with in/out priveleges. Parking expires promptly upon check-out, for additional parking, please contact hotel. No oversized parking avail. Please do not request rollaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing