We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little room for the price with a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #49 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Elma, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great little room for the price with a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Nice room. Parking is five dollars a day. Room was clean. A little small but not crazy tiny. Nice view of the city. We heard no traffic noise on the Monday night we were there. Breakfast was blah but it's included and you can find
something. Service was a bit slow but it was fine. I would stay again and recommend it since it was so affordable and in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and are happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us. It's guest like you that make our jobs so fun! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    73
    56
    24
    13
See reviews for
31
76
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I do not travel a lot, but my stay at Econolodge in Louisville made me write review about my stay. Wonderful staff, great location and clean rooms. Rooms are small but clean and not fancy but have everything what you need for your stay. Also the rates are best in downtown compering other hotels in downtown. Since I don't travel a lot, all I look for clean and comfortable rooms and this Econolodge has everything you need! Micro and fridge in rooms are bonus. Free Wi-fi worked great. They charge $5 for parking, but when I was searching around, I show that other hotels in the are charge from $9 to $22 per day. So, very comparative for parking as well. fourth street live is only two blocks away which is a main entertainment street. Staff answered all my questions and gave me good recommendation for restaurant. The water front park is few blocks away which is a great area for morning walk. I can go on and on, but if you are looking for clean and comfortable rooms with very reasonable price, this is the hotel!!! Great Job staff!!!

Room Tip: try to get rooms facing liberty street but not above the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sp162014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We strive to provide each guest with a great experience and thank you for letting us know you had one. We look forward to earning your business again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Arrived on Thursay, June 19, 2014, without a reservation. Asked for two nights and was told that since there was no discount for two nights, we should pay for one and if we decided to stay a second night, we could come down to the front desk and pay for it the next morning. At 7:30 the next morning when I tried to pay for a second night, I was told the hotel was sold out and to check out by 11:00am. The manager spoke to me like I was an idiot when I explained what I was told, pretty much saying "too bad!". Another customer behind me experienced the same thing and he, too, was told the same thing by the manager. I called a reputable, "much more expensive" hotel in the area, and explained the situation and we were given a king suite for Friday AND Saturday night at such an unbelievable rate! I turned my key in to the Econo Lodge manager and told him that this must have been a blessing in disguise. At the better hotel, we didn't have to walk passed what I swear was a hooker and her john. Nor, did we have to hear the pizza shop employees partying in the hotel lot all night. At the better hotel, we had an ice machine on our floor that worked and our suite was not hot and stuffy, like at the Econo Lodge. I won't make the mistake of choosing this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swizzlestick68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to share your observations regarding your stay, I deeply apologize for the problems you encountered at our hotel, We take pride on having very high guest satisfaction scores, I am disappointed you did not receive this level of service. In our general practice, we do make sure to provide information for 2nd day availability when guests ask for possibly extending stay for 2nd night. We will take your experience for training purpose and will make sure that won't happen to any other guest in the future. Please give us another chance to remedy your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Louisville hotels

Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We picked here because it was downtown, and in walking distance of most of the night life. Thankfully only stayed one night.
The guy at check in was rude, and unhelpful. Told us our room was "over there" and just pointed at a general direction that was actually the wrong side of the building.
The room was pretty small. It was clean, but had a really musty smell lingering. Almost like mold or something. Also, our room was facing the road, and we could hear every car that went by. Luckily I'm a heavy sleeper, so it wasn't too bad once I got top sleep, but it did take me a lot longer than normal.
The breakfast was terrible. The bagels and muffins were stale...

I know it's the econo lodge and I didn't have too high of expectations for it, but this was ridiculous. I would suggest paying a little more money and staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal here at Econo Lodge downtown is to always serve our guests. I would like to personally apologize to you for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to exceed your expectations in that area. We have taken your feedback to heart and I have reviewed your comments with each of my staff members to ensure this does not happen again in the future. It is our hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank you again for your time.

Best Regards,

Pete Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
480 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Spent 2 nights here on business: convenient to work at medical center. Room was clean, the rate was good and the staff welcoming. Breakfast included that was adequate; I was taken back a little that they charge for parking, however.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenBee0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Really nice hotel in a great location. Friendly helpful guy on check in. Room was really clean, with almost everything you need. Bed comfy. Good price. great wifi. Location is perfect for downtown, we actually walked everywhere, down to the river saw the paddle steamers, had lunch in Joes crab shack which was right on the front and lovely food. Walked back around to the stadium. Went to 4th street in the evening. Great place and so easy to walk around and friendly. Would use Econo again if ever we come back. Only downside - we were on a road trip and only two out of eighteen motels had no coffee/ tea maker in room, this was one, we had stayed in a few Econo lodges elsewhere and all had coffee makers.

Room Tip: I would guess all rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Citygogetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay. We here at Econo Lodge Downtown, Louisville, KY strive for excellence when it comes to guest services and we are so happy to hear that everything worked out great during your stay! We hope you have us in mind for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a concert on 4th Street. It was a great value, easy to get to from the interstate, a short walk to the venue, nice room with a mini fridge and microwave. We weren't aware of the $5 charge for parking but gladly paid it so that we didn't have to worry about street parking. When we woke up in the morning we were surprised to see the road crew for the artist we saw the night before at breakfast, and the artist's tour bus parked in front! The room had a couple of burn marks on the carpet, but otherwise was very clean and tidy. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajay0876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing Econo Lodge Downtown! We always enjoy hearing from our guests. We strive to provide the best amenities and guest service in the industry for economy hotel. Hearing from you, that we met that goal just made our day! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#23 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown, 1 block away from Kentucky Intl Convention center, Fourth Street Live, Papa John's Stadium, Slugger Museum and many downtown business and attractions. Kentucky Fair Expo and Derby is just 4 miles away. I-65, I-64 and I-71 are just 2 blocks away making it highly accessible to not only business travelers but also leisure travelers. Offering the best rates in downtown with business amenities. Hotel offers free wireless high speed access. Microwave, refrigerator, spacious work desk, free copy-fax services and on-site exercise room. Please note 1 parking slot per guest room. Parking Charge: 5.00 per 24hours with in/out priveleges. Parking expires promptly upon check-out, for additional parking, please contact hotel. No oversized parking avail. Please do not request rollaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing