We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Louisville Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    90
    71
    27
    17
See reviews for
42
94
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The room was very good and clean.... The hotel staff was very courteous...the price was right.... Parking was nice... And it's just a 2 block walk to 4 th Street. Definitely coming back. The internet was fast... I hate to write a review about it because it might become to popular....

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mightymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of our Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon! We know you have lots of choices as to where you stay and we are glad you stayed with us here at the Econo Lodge Downtown...

Sincerely,

Pete Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

First the good: The location and price are excellent. It’s within walking distance of the action on 4th Street. The woman at the front desk was very nice. It was quiet at night and we slept so well that we completely missed the continental breakfast.

The not-so-good: The property is run down, plain and simple. While the outside looks ok, the room interiors are in need of a lot of work. In addition to being worn and dated, some outlets dangle or are loose in the walls and some don’t work (I was so relieved when we woke up and the place hadn’t burned down!). There was a significant amount of mold on the bathroom ceiling, and parts of it looked like they could cave in at any moment. For the price we paid, I knew not to expect perfection, but based on the reviews, I expected a lot better.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beentheredonethat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to share your observations regarding your stay, I deeply apologize for the problems you encountered at our hotel, We take pride on having very high guest satisfaction scores, I am disappointed you did not receive this level of service. Please give us another chance to remedy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Louisville hotels

Monument, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Very conveniant to the convention center, "efficient" check in, not overly friendly but didn't mess around getting me checked in. Room is nice, came with fridge and microwave. It has your standard continental breakfast, muffins and coffee, juice but is located close to a lot of eateries.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We sincerely thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We know your time and money is valuable and are pleased to know that you were happy and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again and promise to improve our service and make your stay even better.

Pete Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Remember, this is a 2-star hotel, if that. So it should be graded as such. They're not trying to be anything above that.

All that being said, I would choose to stay here again based on the very cheap price relative to all the other hotels in this convention center area. I wouldn't stay here for romance or a family vacation, but for me with a friend at a conference it was just fine for the price and convenience.

Front desk staff was friendly and helpful at check in. Very good service.

Room was as expected for a motel. A little on the dated, musty side, but it was fine. There was a cigarette hole in my comforter which was gross. Mostly clean overall.

Bathroom soaps and shampoos were tiny, but we were given many more upon request. Shower water pressure was good, but water did stand in the tub during shower.

There is coffee in the room, as well as 24 hours in the lobby.

TV was flat panel, although immovable. Beds were small, but I slept well.

Very little noise. Comfortable temperatures in room. A/C units were not overly noisy.

You pay $5 a day for parking, which is a steal compared to anywhere else around.

The breakfast was very basic. Continental. But it filled me up until lunch each morning.

I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay for super cheap but still within walking distance of the Yum Center and Convention Center.

A solid offering for a motel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mpugh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear mpugh22,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience for your recent stay with us. I am glad that everything worked out great during your stay. Please be assure that small issues that you have mentioned has been addressed. I am glad that you had a great time in Louisville. Please stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was concerned when I read other reviews. However, I needed to be close to the convention center and I was pleasantly surprised with the room and the very helpful staff. Plenty of time to talk and share advice on where to go. Room was clean and very quiet. I would stay here anytime.

Room Tip: Easy two block walk to 4th street restaurants. Felt safe in walking all around down town. Staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Debbie,

Thanks a ton for the review for your recent stay with us. I am glad that you loved the location of the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your experience with my staff and I am sure they will be happy to know that they are doing great job. We are looking forward to see you in the future!

Pete Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owingsville
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Not fancy but clean, safe and handy to downtown.
I had fridge, microwave and nice big bed each time I have stayed.
Great value during the week but pretty much doubles on weekend nights :-(
Pizza restaurant in same parking lot for convenient good grab.
You have to pay desperate for parking. $5 for 1 vehicle, $10 for a second 1.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Sharie,

Thank you very much for the review. I am glad that everything worked great with your stay, and please let us know there is anything we can do better to make your stay better. Once again thanks a lot and looking forward to see you in the future!

Sincerely,

Pete Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
#32 of 97 in Louisville
332 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#28 of 97 in Louisville
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown, 1 block away from Kentucky Intl Convention center, Fourth Street Live, Papa John's Stadium, Slugger Museum and many downtown business and attractions. Kentucky Fair Expo and Derby is just 4 miles away. I-65, I-64 and I-71 are just 2 blocks away making it highly accessible to not only business travelers but also leisure travelers. Offering the best rates in downtown with business amenities. Hotel offers free wireless high speed access. Microwave, refrigerator, spacious work desk, free copy-fax services and on-site exercise room. Please note 1 parking slot per guest room. Parking Charge: 5.00 per 24hours with in/out priveleges. Parking expires promptly upon check-out, for additional parking, please contact hotel. No oversized parking avail. Please do not request rollaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing