We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$118
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$181
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$118
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Breckinridge Inn(Louisville)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East(Louisville)(Great Value!)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Brown Hotel(Louisville)
$161
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
81
94
75
27
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
94
75
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspapa john's pizzaroom was cleangreat locationwithin walking distancetwo blocksironing boardyum centerblow dryerbudget hotelyogurtlouisville slugger museumfourth street livesafe areawould stay here againnice stayfront desk stafffridge
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 296 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The first room we checked into had stains on the sheet and had a musty smell. The second room the electrical outlet behind would spark when we move any of the cords. Finally, the third room worked. Hard to find a room for the weekend stay so it worked, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel051652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Antioch,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and I sincerely apologize for the maintenance and housekeeping related issues you encountered in your room. Our staff typically does a great job in providing a clean room. I will follow up with them on your comments from this visit. I hope that if your travels take you back to our area, you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you again. I'm sure that you would find that this last visit is not typical of our normal performance.

Sincerely

Pete Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed at Econo Lodge Downtown for two nights. I was traveling for business. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean. Louisville was very busy when I was there, and the front desk did a good job of keeping the check in/checkout line moving.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb stairs, you will need to ask for a room on the first floor. There are elevators available.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 376leahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Leah,

Thanks a ton for sharing your experience for your recent stay with us. We are glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable during busy days. Please let us know there is anything we can do better to make your & our guests stay better. Should your travel plans bring you Louisville, please stay with us again!

Pete Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

If you're looking for luxury or even a good nights sleep then this probably isn't the hotel for you. Yes it has a great price especially compared to the other hotels in the area. It also has a great location within walking distance to 4th Street Live and many other local attractions. However, the rooms are musty smelling. It was actually pretty gross. The rooms are very basic, which we expected. The bed was not very comfortable. The worst part about the hotel was the parking lot. There's signs everywhere about parking at your own risk. It made it seem like they have had issues with damaged and stolen vehicles in the past. We made sure to park our car right under the lamp post and in perfect sight on the security camera (you can see the various areas in the security cams in the lobby) just in case something were to happen to our car. I got the feeling that it wasn't a very safe place to stay. Overall, we loved the location because we were so close to the nightlife, but in the future we will likely stay at another hotel despite the higher cost just so that we aren't worried about our safety or the potential of our vehicle being stolen or damaged.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tomichekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Tomichekn,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent stay with us and I am glad that you loved the location of the hotel. For your concerns for the safety and security of the hotel, we never had any incident of car broken or stolen in past 7 years I have been as a General Manager. The sign you show is a requirement of the insurance company that my company carry. Also you will be glad to know that we are changing our beds and bedding end this year as it will be a part of our renovation. I made a note of musty smell in room and please be assure that problem will be taken care of so all my future guests won't have that problem in the future. Once again thank you for staying with us and please stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Pete Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at the downtown Econo Lodge on March 7, 2014. Excellent location as we were going to the YUM Center to see a concert. It was only about a 5 minute walk from the motel and to 4th Street Live. The motel was dated but very clean. Motel staff was friendly. Beds were comfortable. This motel met all our needs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sas11560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Sas11560,

Thank you so much for the great review for your recent stay with us. I am glad that you loved the location and comfort and cleanliness of the room. Please visit us again!

Pete Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The city was booked solid so I reluctantly booked here. I had low expectations after a frustrating booking process, but I was determined to make it work because I had to attend a Convention.

I checked out after ten minutes. The room was putrid with stale tobacco smell, the bed linen was discoloured and the blanket was 1970's style with cigarette burns, you get the picture.

I am a reformed smoker, and could not have stayed in that room even when I was a smoker.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Mickthered,

Thank you so much for the review and I do apologize for the inconvenience you may had during your visit. I looked into your reservation and found out that you had a smoking room reserved as we were super busy. I took a note about your concerns and will discuss to my staff for improvement. Once again I do apologize for the inconvenience you had!

Pete Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews