We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #49 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Close to everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Traveled to Louisville for a concert and was primarily concerned about a location close the Yum center to avoid driving and parking. This Hotel is very conveniently located to all the major downtown venues including 4th street live, easily within walking distance to everything. The Hotel is a little dated and rough in a few spots, but served Our needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gklittle500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear gklittle500,

Thank you so much for the review and I am glad that you loved the location of the hotel. I made a note about your concerns about hotel condition and I will share with my staff. Once again thanks a lot for the review and please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    73
    56
    24
    13
See reviews for
31
76
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were able to check in quickly - staff was not really friendly but not unfriendly either. Cigarrette hole in bedspread and we were in a non-smoking room. It was also either too hot or too cold - there was not a happy medium & when you turned the heat on it blew the curtains out - not an inconvenience just odd. Completely overpriced (we paid $185 for one night) but close to everything downtown and only $5 per car for parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lesa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Lesa,

Thank you so much for the review and I do apologize for any inconvenience you may had during your stay. I took a note about your concerns for hole in bed spread in nonsmoking room, heat temperature and room price. Just for your information, our average rates are from $79.00 to $99.00 per night but rate changes for the events like national farm show, truck show and KY Derby as they are high demand events. The rate you paid was still lowest rate in downtown for the weekend.
Once again I appreciate for the review and I am glad that you loved the location of the hotel as much as we love. Please visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Surprisingly clean, and affordable hotel for being in downtown Louisville. We checked in late and they waived the parking fee! They had a great military discount! Free Wifi, and the breakfast wasn't bad. No waffles :( LOL, The shower hot water lasted forever!! Awesome!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Angela,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to write such a great review of our property! I am happy to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and clean. Please let us know if there is ever anything we can do to make your stay even better. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We needed an inexpensive hotel, near downtown, for 2 nights. Booked non-smoking rooms, but were given rooms that had clearly been smoked in. Called the front desk and they were very good about changing our rooms. The rooms are very basic, but comfortable and very quiet. Free Wi-Fi and a decent breafast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KonaIronmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for the great review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Once again thank you so much and please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Location is great, room very clean and nice, We enjoyed our stay very much. When we arrived, the heat in the room did not work. Manager on site was very accomidating and nice about it and immediantly gave us another room, which was very nice and warm. I would definantly stay here again because the facility and staff were very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel for your recent stay. I am glad that you find clean, comfortable rooms. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you with room that you were satisfied with. If you are in the area in the future, please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to start off our KY Bourbon Trail. Free wi-fi, free breakfast [though limited], and daily parking at $5. The rooms are a little old, but fine. The bathrooms could do with a re-do. Great location, not far from the Yum Centre, 4th St Live or dining/attractions of Louisville. Comfy beds, cheap deal if you want to stay downtown walking distance to everything. Only real negative was there was no elevator, and we had to lug our luggage up the stairs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much the reviewing our hotel for your recent stay. I am glad that you find clean, comfortable room and you loved the location of the hotel which is in the heart of Louisville Downtown. About your concerns for an elevator, we must haven missed to inform you during your check inn, but we do have an elevator which is located in the corner where our vending machines are. Once again thank you for staying with us and should your travel plan brings you Louisville, please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Affordable place to stay and it is right downtown! We were in town for a game and we walked to the arena. A lot of restaurants. Overall, this was a great place to stay and we will be back.
Affordable place to stay and it is right downtown! We were in town for a game and we walked to the arena. A lot of restaurants. Overall, this was a great place to stay and we will be back.
Affordable place to stay and it is right downtown! We were in town for a game and we walked to the arena. A lot of restaurants. Overall, this was a great place to stay and we will be back.
Affordable place to stay and it is right downtown! We were in town for a game and we walked to the arena. A lot of restaurants. Overall, this was a great place to stay and we will be back.
Affordable place to stay and it is right downtown! We were in town for a game and we walked to the arena. A lot of restaurants. Overall, this was a great place to stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: affordable place to stay and it is right downtown! We were in town for a game and we walked to the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrighttravier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel for your recent stay with us. I will share your experience with my staff and I am sure they will be as happy as I am. Should your travel planc brings you Louisville, please stay with us again.

Once again and thanks a lot and looking forward to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#23 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown, 1 block away from Kentucky Intl Convention center, Fourth Street Live, Papa John's Stadium, Slugger Museum and many downtown business and attractions. Kentucky Fair Expo and Derby is just 4 miles away. I-65, I-64 and I-71 are just 2 blocks away making it highly accessible to not only business travelers but also leisure travelers. Offering the best rates in downtown with business amenities. Hotel offers free wireless high speed access. Microwave, refrigerator, spacious work desk, free copy-fax services and on-site exercise room. Please note 1 parking slot per guest room. Parking Charge: 5.00 per 24hours with in/out priveleges. Parking expires promptly upon check-out, for additional parking, please contact hotel. No oversized parking avail. Please do not request rollaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing