We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to revisit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #51 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“A Place to revisit!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is as good as it gets for this category of motel. Personnel are accommadating and pleasant. Rooms are clean and exterior is well kept. Restaurants and entertainment areas is only a short walk. I visit Louisville at least twice a year and I will be returning here for all my future stays!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We cannot thank you enough for reviewing our hotel. I am glad that everything worked out for you including location of the hotel. Looking forward to your next trip to Louisville.

Pete Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    88
    68
    26
    17
See reviews for
38
92
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our third stay at econolodge downtown. It is pretty much the perfect spot to base yourself for Louisville. It's two blocks from 4th street live entertainment precinct and the visitors centre. Also within walking distance, (cab, bus or free trolley) to so many great bars and restaurants. It is motel style accommodations but it is clean and spacious. We had a king size bed, with a small bathroom, fridge, cupboard and a table. Totally recommend this hotel for those on a budget who still want to stay in downtown Louisville.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilithMorgan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks a ton for the great review and we the Econo Lodge Team appreciate your business all the time. I am glad that you find simple, comfortable and clean and inexpensive room in Louisville Downtown. Looking forward to see you again!...

Pete Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Everything exceeded my expectations. Service was excellent. Pete was extremely helpful. Room was very clean. Only the internet was kind of slow and sometimes cuts you off. Excellent value. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review regarding your recent stay with us and I would like to personally thank you for choosing Econo Lodge Downtown during your stay in Louisville, KY! I was very pleased to know that your overall experience exceeded your expectations, and that our staff was able to make your stay memorable. Please come see us again when you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Pete Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in Louisville as a stop over and not really knowing what this city had to offer. Were we surprised! This hotel is two blocks from 4th street. This is a must for night life. There are many places to eat and drink, very safe with a great atmosphere. The hotel is clean and looks as if they had done some renovations to the place. A couple of blocks to the north of the hotel is a visitors centre and they have everything you need to know about this fantastic city. After staying in Louisville I read in a magazine that it is one of the top places in the US to visit, so true. I would stay here again and it is priced right.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room, you can park right out side your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGeorge62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for the great review and thank you for staying with us! I am glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and clean and comfortable room. Please come see us again when you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Pete Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you just need a place to sleep on the cheap, this will work. It is not exactly a nice place, room was on first floor near stairs so we mostly had the curtains shut, otherwise everyone would walk by and look in. It was nice to have the fridge in the room. The bathroom could use a good deep cleaning.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel for your recent stay. I am glad that you liked aminities we have in rooms. I made a note about deep cleaning of bathrooms and once again I thank you for bringing this issue to us. Please come see us again when you're in the area!

Pete Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days 15/19th Aug. My wife and l loved this friendly ,clean,well located lodge will definitely rebook there and l highly recommend anyone looking for a city centre location and working on a budget to follow suit.

Room Tip: We had a king room ,cant fault it, great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anfieldstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for the great review and thank you for staying with us! Please come see us again when you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Pete Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed at Econo Lodge in Downtown Louisville, Kentucky. I was a little wary when I booked, but I was quite pleasantly surprised. The hotel is located just a few short blocks from the 4th street eateries, so it was easy to dine at a number of wonderful restaurants. Also, for those who like eating in their rooms, there's a gas station food mart just across the street. But more than anything, it was the pleasant and helpful disposition of the hotel staff that really won me over. They responded with eagerness to every single request I made. If I go back to Louisville, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Luisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review and thank you for staying with us! I am glad that you enjoyed the location and our friendly staff. Please come see us again when you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#32 of 95 in Louisville
128 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
#33 of 95 in Louisville
329 reviews
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown, 1 block away from Kentucky Intl Convention center, Fourth Street Live, Papa John's Stadium, Slugger Museum and many downtown business and attractions. Kentucky Fair Expo and Derby is just 4 miles away. I-65, I-64 and I-71 are just 2 blocks away making it highly accessible to not only business travelers but also leisure travelers. Offering the best rates in downtown with business amenities. Hotel offers free wireless high speed access. Microwave, refrigerator, spacious work desk, free copy-fax services and on-site exercise room. Please note 1 parking slot per guest room. Parking Charge: 5.00 per 24hours with in/out priveleges. Parking expires promptly upon check-out, for additional parking, please contact hotel. No oversized parking avail. Please do not request rollaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing