We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #38 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

You can expect a nice room, very spacious, clean, quiet, and the staff was excellent. I'm a people person, so I really enjoy being greeted by friendly staff. The room had excellent amenities. Very clean. An excellent location in a very safe part of town. I would reccomend others to stay here. The price and quality were both excellent.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    1,051
    616
    288
    174
See reviews for
622
697
132
1,250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
253 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

I got a lot of advice from co-workers before staying here and assumed that the hotel wasn't appreciated for being unique. Maybe if the rooms were cordoned off and put into a museum, I would like it more than having to actually sleep in them. Dingy, dark, and strange. Like something out of a low-budget movie.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puddle_Jumper_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Fairly large room, right in the heart of downtown. Nice facilities. Attentive staff.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank chopperunderground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I stayed here several times as a kid and thought it was great so I was very excited to stay here with my fiance for a Valentines weekend, what a wreck!
At check in I was greeted by a straight faced man who would be better suited working in a morgue. I asked him about the shuttle service to the casino and he instructed me to look at the poster in the lobby instead of answering me , I guess he was to busy with planning a funeral.
The Cafe Mahgnoliea or whatever it's called was laughable. Our server greeted us, after several minutes of waiting , with a story of how she had just got there and we were her first table and she wasn't ready. As the meal progressed I came to think we were her first table ever. No knowledge of the menu or specials. I ordered the Porterhouse that I had to ask her about, when it came out I saw that maybe there was a reason she hadn't told me about it. This "Porterhouse" looked similar to the steak I had had years ago at a Waffle House but the quality wasn't near as good and my baked potato was nice and cool. Are conversation during dinner was interrupted by another server changing out our table condiments while explaining he has to do it once a week. A manager came by to see how things were but I realized she didn't really care as she was walking away as she said it. What a horrible dining experience.
Our room was as noisy as could be. Every time anyone in our vicinity flushed we heard it. The noises from the outside street were as if the window was open.
The cherry on top was at check out when we were greeted by another morgue worker told us our total with a straight face and held out her hand for payment. No thank you's or how was your stay. Oh and not to mention I was charged .75 for a phone call made to an in house restaurant.
I went to there web site to write them a complaint but there was no place to do it.
A couple of weeks ago I stayed at the La Quinta in Cleveland and had a quieter room, friendlier staff and a free continental breakfast that shamed the poor excuse of dining at Cafe Mangie at half the price of the Galt House.
What a let down!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newt3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Beautiful river view. Lovely. Nice location, access to ped way. Good restaurants, several museums within walking distance.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joliowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
246 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

I stayed only one night but, despite the size of the property, everthing ran pretty smoothly. I got upgraded to a junior suite and it was wonderful - roomy, comfortable, very clean with lots of the little hotel ammenities. However, I encountered two problems: (1) the room temperature was difficult to negotiate (mostly it was hot and stuffy & the windows are sealed) and (2) elevator service is very slow because everyone either leaves for or breaks from their meetings at the same time. If you are part of a convention (I was), the large groups hanging out in the lobby and lounges can be fun but I can imagine other hotel guests finding it crowded, loud and overbearing. The food in the one restaurant and snack bar that I frequented was pretty standard fare and well within the acceptable range for a large hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

I stayed at the Galt House last year and thought my room was wonderful, but this year's experience was even better. I had a one bedroom suites with two separate rooms and a large area in the center with a beautiful bathroom with enormous walk-in shower and a large makeup area in the foyer between the living room and bedroom. It was quiet, even though I was only a few rooms away from the elevator.
It had mini bar and fridge, two TVs, pull out sofa, and another chair, table and chairs and desk with free wifi. 4 people could have stayed comfortably in that room.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#17 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#15 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#23 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#7 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 872 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
#36 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel And Suites
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing