We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Ironman Louisville Race Start and Finish”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #30 of 102 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed August 27, 2014

This hotel was the host hotel for the Ironman Louisville this August 2014. Thank goodness they will be having IM Louisville in October from now on. The heat and humidity in KY in Aug. was brutal.
The hotel was lovely, the suite was very large as was the bathroom. With 4 of us ladies staying in the suite, it was nice to have a lot of mirrors, outlets and a makeup area that was outside of the bathroom.
The suite had a refrigerator but no microwave. It was clean and served us well.
The hotel is a little confusing with all the different levels and you can get confused if you're in the conservatory that goes over the road to connect the hotel that is on both sides of the street and go the wrong way. Not saying I did ;)
I have two cons:
- One was the elevators. I understand that the hotel was packed to the limit with Ironman athletes and families but even at a time when there weren't a lot of people coming and going the elevators took forever. We were on the 10th floor and it was agonizing waiting.
- Another small con was the parking garage situation. I was in one garage where the elevator only went to two floors. I was trying to meet my family members in another garage on the same side of the street but had to go from the basement floor of one garage, up 1 floor to the lobby of the hotel, take another elevator to the 3rd floor where the conservatory was then down a hall to get to another elevator to go up to the 5th floor of that garage. What a hassle especially since they were waiting on me. I guess it's just something good to know the layout of the parking garages ahead of time.

We ate breakfast in the Cafe Magnolia. It was buffet style and the cost was $15. We got a lot for our money. Besides hot and cold items they had made to order omelets and orange juice was included. It beat going out of the hotel. There weren't a lot of breakfast eating choices right close by the hotel. You needed to walk a bit. So I would recommend the buffet.
We also had breakfast one morning at the deli in the Conservatory which wasn't too bad. I had the flatbread breakfast sandwich and it was more than enough.

We ate at Joe's Crab Shack one night that is close by down by the river and had a good meal and a good time.
I would recommend this hotel to family and friends and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scarlett329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

We appreciate your review and have noted the cons. Our best customers tell us how we can improve. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again in October 2015.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,641 - 2,647 of 4,240 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2014

This was my first full Ironman and we decided to stay at the Galt House as it was the host hotel and close to all the Ironman related activities. the hotel staff was outstanding and made our stay very enjoyable.
And I completed my first Ironman race.

Room Tip: the room was very spacious and worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Allen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Congratulations on completing the IRONMAN! We love being the official headquarters for IRONMAN and look forward to seeing you return in October 2015. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Galt House was a fabulous place!!!! It has a restaurant at the very top floor that has windows around where you sit and eat and it moves slowly in a circle!!! It has other places also to eat downstairs that are not so pricey. My family and I had a ball!!! We took a carriage ride around downtown Louisville, that was fabulous!!! This is a great place to stay! Our suite was overlooking the river, we got to see the barges come and go!! Such an interesting place!!!! The pleasure part of the trip was in the center of the hotel they have birds in a glassed area that you could watch, so peaceful.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zzzz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you so much for the awesome review! We're so delighted to hear your stay was fabulous. As you mentioned, our views of the river are outstanding! We look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at the Galt House for the PGA Valhalla tournament. Parked my car with the hotel Valet. When I got my car back from the hotel valet - My car had paint all over it. The hotel took zero responsibility for the paint spray on my car !!! UNREAL !!! DO NOT PARK WTH THE HOTEL VALET!!! Very Unprofessional !!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank PGA1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

nice place, great for downtown walking around. felt safe there. cool bar with the fish! everyone was really friendly and helpful with directions. loved the horse statues and especially the jockey signature area out front. thank you for such a nice space to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Greta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you so much for the excellent review! We take a lot of pride in our hotel. The Al J's bar, friendly staff, and jockey signatures are all great examples of what makes our hotel great. we look forward to the opportunity to host you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Overall, I found the attitude of many staff members just under the "friendly" level and didn't seem to care if they were helpful or not. Maybe it's just the town and these folks are a product of their environment.
They said both towers had been renovated but it appears it was a long time ago. Rooms were so-so. Linens were clean. Internet was awful or non-existent. Had a few redeeming qualities: The Rivue restaurant and Jockey Silks Bourbon Bar. Staff in both were great and food was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Our best customers are the ones who offer us feedback that we can improve upon. Please accept our apologies and will address this with our staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your stay at the Galt House. We hope that you'll give us another chance someday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel was very clean and quiet. Our room was plenty big and included a great view of the Ohio River. It was easy to get anywhere in town whether it was a craft brewery, 4th Street Live, the River, or the trolley. Couldn't ask for a better location or southern hospitality feel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sbiltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We do have great views and strive that everyone of our guest receives the southern hospitality they deserve. We hope you come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 102 in Louisville
1,515 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 102 in Louisville
2,067 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 102 in Louisville
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#4 of 102 in Louisville
1,377 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#15 of 102 in Louisville
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $137 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,314 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with head-spinning cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing