We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #27 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great overall hotel facility. Amazing workout room. Decent hotel room with a terrific view. I would definitely stay here again. The location is one of the better options and the service at the hotel was exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    1,123
    658
    317
    196
See reviews for
667
758
137
1,347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hueysville, Ky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

First off...The Galt House is located in a very good location. Close to attractions, restaurants, etc. Being attached to the KFC Yum Center is a plus, especially if you enjoy going to concerts and events(Billy Joel in our case). Staff were friendly and room service was great. Would definitely stay here again...Black Keys in September...Maybe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudewebbii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the review! We look forward to hosting you again in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Galt House is an absolutely wonderful hotel in downtown Louisville, Kentucky. It is clean, nicely situated near the Ohio River, and perfectly located in downtown Louisville near all the touristy locations. They have wonderful service, have all the necessary amenities, and is a perfect site for out-of-town guests for weddings, family reunions, or to take in many of the local attractions and near sites of performing artists. While it is a good hotel for your private functions, it is equally suited for business affairs as well. Your money will be well spent at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you so much for the amazing review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
693 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed for the KY Derby Mini-Marathon, and had a suite. For the race, it's less than 1 mile from the start.

I thought the room was very inexpensive (less than $180/night, including taxes), especially for the size of the room and location of the hotel. Maybe it's because I live in another part of the country where things are pricier...

Room was clean, comfortable, and staff was friendly and helpful.

It's also a great location, within walking distance of a lot of what you'd go to downtown Lousiville for. It's near the KFC Yum! Center and Lousiville Slugger field, Fourth Street Live! (restaurants and shops, with bands in evenings outdoors, but covered), the Louisville Slugger Museum. It's also only a few miles from Churchill Downs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3RedDoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. Our location is great for the Derby Marathon. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I've stayed at the Galt Hotel three times as part of a Convention. All three times were excellent. The hotel has two towers one with suites and one with regular rooms. The suites are huge with a large sitting room and frig. There are numerous restaurants, bars and stores in the hotel. Jockey Silks Bourbon Bar is part of the Louisville Urban Bourbon Tour. The front desk is very helpful and the service is great. The hotel is connected to the Yum Center and Convention Center by the covered walkway. It is right next to the river and just a few block from 4th Street Live. If you are traveling to Louisville, this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aputti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Your experience is precisely the type we hope to provide to every single guest staying with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to sing our praises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, KY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked this hotel on a Saturday night in hopes of having a relaxing, romantic weekend on a hotel overlooking the Ohio river. We got neither. In fact, the very opposite. We returned to the Galt House after dinner to discover that about 250 yards from our room, a concert was taking place. A loud concert. A concert that literally shook our windows. At first I thought, "No big deal. It's Saturday night in downtown Louisville. I'm sure it'll be over by 10 and we'll be able to enjoy ourselves and get sleep."

Wishful thinking.

Once 10:00 rolled around, and the concert was still going full swing, I called the front desk. The girl up there told me it would be over by 11:00. I grudgingly said "Ok" and waited patiently for 11:00. Again, this music was shaking the walls of our room. We couldn't even watch television properly because it was so loud. 11:00 came and guess what? The concert was still going full blast. I called again, and this time was transferred to security. They said, "They're probably just winding down. I'm sure it'll be over definitely by 12:00, it's supposed to be 11:00." At this point, I was angry. But again, we waited. At 11:45 I called and asked for the manager on duty. I told her that we would be requesting a refund. I said that we were told this concert was supposed to be over by 11:00. She said "I don't know who told you that, but it's actually midnight."

You can imagine my sentiments toward that. I understand that the Galt House can't control what goes on outside their facility; however, they market this place as a relaxing, accommodating place. Nothing could be further from the truth. My wife ended up with a headache (which came from a combination of the music, horrible pillows, and back-aching beds) that made her just want to go home. There should have been some sort of notification that that we literally wouldn't be able to think straight until midnight.

The only reasons that it doesn't get a 1-star is that the rooms are relatively clean, and the staff seemed friendly. That's their only salvation.

In other words, we will never stay at the Galt House again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DocAndy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
We're sorry to hear that. While we can't control the public park located next door, we can inform our guest better and we will address this with our staff. We apologize and hope that you'll give us another chance someday. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed here in conjunction with a convention also held on the property - and it was an excellent experience. The check-in process went smoothly, as they had sufficient staff at the desk. The room I had was awesome and not what I was expecting - it was actually a suite and the equivalent of an "Embassy Suites-type" suite with separate bedroom, bathroom and spaces, nice-sized living room area and kitchenette. For a week's stay, and sharing with a roommate, it was absolutely awesome to have the extra rooms, space, and refrigerator, etc. I would definitely stay here again! The room was on 12th floor with an Ohio River view (side view - but still very nice view). The hotel property is actually two towers, with a road between, but with a glass conservatory/lobby space tying the two building together and a walk-through; the property sits directly on the shores of the Ohio River with a patio access to the river, and also conveniently downtown no more than about 6 blocks in any direction to practically everything downtown Louisville. Loved the convenience of location. The beds were wonderful! This is a historic hotel with a classical ambience but totally undated with latest conveniences. The elevator lobby on each floor is more spacious than entire hotel lobbies in some hotels - and there was always an elevator waiting [bank of 6 elevators!]

Room Tip: Ask for a suite room (if there is a difference) and a river view is nice, near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCitytraveler701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review! We hope we get the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#13 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Seelbach Hilton
#21 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing