We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, well taken care of - needs updating - noise issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #37 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean, well taken care of - needs updating - noise issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I spent eight days here while at a conference
The plusses...
great location, staff, comfortable beds, amenities, plenty of room in suites, bathrooms are large and accommodating, in room frig and sink are a huge plus
The downside...
furniture is dated and looks dirty even though it is clean, elevators can take a long time to come, no free transportation to airport or surrounding sites, wifi moves at a snail pace, noisy - you can hear other rooms and toilets flushing - had a lot of trouble sleeping
I haven't been to the spa but the prices put me into shock
I would recommend it at the right price

Room Tip: I have heard that rooms on the second floor are preferable - you don't need to use the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ustraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the review! We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    1,046
    616
    288
    174
See reviews for
622
694
132
1,246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was the second time I stayed at the Galt House for a conference I attend each year. Always like staying there. Clean rooms, friendly staff, exercise room has one of the best views in Louisville and I had no problems during the duration of my stay. Hope I get to stay there next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCM123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and returning for a second visit! We love to hear positive feedback from our guests about our staff and hotel. We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Galt House has a prime location on the Ohio River, and I'm sure at one time it was a real jewel. However, she's looking haggard, and needs a facelift. The rooms are comfortable, but the amenities could use a little sprucing up.

Also, it's tacky for a luxury hotel, to charge for a cup of coffee in the lobby.

Room Tip: Tell them you absolutely do not want a view of the Yum Center parking garage. Besides the obvious, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor, we've noted the improvements we need to make and hope that you find it much improved upon your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were in town for a conference with several thousand people, so I thought they would ready for us. It took forever to checkin and check out. They seemed frazzled. Unlike at the Hyatt, where several colleagues were staying the Galt doesn't have a chef downstairs who cooks up little bites and drinks before dinner nor do they have staff outside in the lobby positioned to answer questions or direct you/ help with the elevators, which are slow and full. Our room was nice, however it faced a parking garage, as in I could see people and make direct eye contact while getting dressed while they got in their cars. Parking is pretty cheap but the parking attendant was pretty rude. The beds are excellent. The housekeeper wanted a tip on the third day of our stay, as she as making swans out of our towels. There was a broken dresser drawer handle and there was only one trash can with no liner, that situated in the bathroom. Nth best thing about Galt house was the little convenience snack shop where they sell Graeter's ice cream. The cashier was really nice. The other stores that had tourist items were rarely open. The pool is outside and has a view of the river and highway.

Room Tip: Ask to not face the parking garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarandaA36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor, we've noted the improvements we need to make and hope that you find it much improved upon your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
201 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Spent eight days here. First the positives: very friendly and helpful staff; housekeeping did an exemplary job with room service daily; and a waterfront location in the downtown area that is the best in Louisville. Negatives: rooms are dated and arm chair upholstery was worn and ripped; elevators were very slow; wifi was very slow and could not even upload my hometown newspaper without crashing. Thus overall the positives outweigh the negatives but the negatives prevent this possible four star hotel being related to a slightly above 3 star average hotel. The owners should definitely consider investing in upgrades or they risk losing business to competitors.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjmat49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We've noted the improvements we need to make and as a hotel we are constantly attempting to improve our property. The efforts are ongoing and hope that you find it much improved upon your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

First hotel is huge and can be very crowded with events. I was not sure what to expect based on certain reviews. My experience was a good one. Check in was efficient and my room was nice and comfortable but dated. Bathroom in room was especially nice. I will sum it up this way. Pros clean rooms, good beds, friendly staff. nice area on the river and near YUM Center
Cons, long waits for elevators, hotel hard to navigate and find areas of the hotel. dated guest rooms and as one in our travel party stated the rooms didn't even have a book in them highlighting the city. Such a wasted opportunity. I have seen books with visitor information in them in much cheaper lower class hotels. Also numerous people in our party had issues with the AC units in their rooms. In my room the AC unit was ok but in the middle of the night it got very loud and made strange noises where I had to turn it off. I did turn it back on and it was fine.

One last note. The restaurants at the hotel are great. We had breakfast there and it was delicious and the servers were great very friendly and efficient. If you have the chance dine at Rivue on the 25th floor. It is an amazing experience great view and food was incredible. We had 8 people and every single person was satisfied. Server was amazing. So fun and friendly made everyone feel welcome. One minor thing the piano player was a little loud but we didn't mind.

Room tip ask for an upper floor if possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We've noted the improvements we need to make and as a hotel we are constantly attempting to improve our property. The efforts are ongoing and hope that you find it much improved upon your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very tired and in need of a major renovation (especially the rooms and bathrooms). However, for Derby weekend it sports a great atmosphere and is always fun. The food is nothing to write home about and the service in the bar was particularly bad.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#17 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#23 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#7 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
#34 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel And Suites
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing