We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a great place to stay in Louisville.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Galt House Hotel to your Saves list
Galt House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Ashland, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and a great place to stay in Louisville.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Gault House is the perfect spot to stay and enjoy in downtown Louisville. The hotel offers friendly and knowledgeable staff, and it is within walking distance of great places to visit such as the Louisville Slugger Museum, the waterfront, and 4th Street Live. I definitely will be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you had a great time in our city and hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    1,040
    615
    288
    174
See reviews for
619
693
132
1,243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Handicap accessible room was okay. Could have had more space to maneuver the wheelchair. Used roll-in shower and flooded the whole bathroom floor. Otherwise, a very convenient hotel to stay in when attending an event at the YUM Center.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are sorry that you had an issue with the shower. Would you please email directly at abrauer@ajshotels.com with more details so that we may address the issue moving forward? Thank you, Ashley Brauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Galt House is a massive hotel with more than 1200 rooms. The front desk staff were especially helpful and courteous and we enjoyed our one-bedroom suite very much. Even though it was not a "water view" room, we could still see a large swath of the Ohio River from our 12th story window. We were in the tower that did not appear to have been renovated since the last century but it was comfortable and we could live with some scuff marks. The bed was comfortable and there were several outlet options for our various devices.

Room Tip: Room 1268 was close enough to the elevator lobby so that we could hear the ding from our living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libraryellen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and will use it in our continuous improvement process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My daughter plays on a travel volleyball team and she was playing in Louisville. This hotel was booked for us by someone else. At first there were concerns about the location in respect to the venue. No worries. This hotel was beautiful, lots of room, and very convenient to the Expo Center! The only downside was that our room was located close to the interstate and that was somewhat noisy. The staff was very attentive and there were numerous dining options both conveniently inside the hotel and within walking distance. Parking was a little chaotic but there was a lot going on in the area on the night of our arrival. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights here while touring Bourbon Country. Loved the river views and our tour bus met at the hotel. Reasonably priced breakfast spot. Walking distance to great restaurants, bars and other attractions. Not a 5 only because the bed was horribly uncomfortable. Shower could be improved for a 4 star hotel. But we had a great time and the staff was accommodating!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kyle_SA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our conference was in the convention center and this hotel was nearby. I like to stay in hotels that aren't so "corporate", that have more culture and charm than big hotel chains. I was excited to stay here because of the history and is looked lovely on the website.
Needless to say, it didn't really live up to the hype. It was old... not cute antique... but just old and out of date. There were closer hotels to the convention center that I wish we had stayed at as they were more convenient and had better accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are sorry your stay did not meet expectations. We know our eclectic, Southern style isn't for everyone, but we hope you enjoyed your time in Louisville and your conference went well. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvarado, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Galt House was an excellent hotel and walking distance to Yum Center for concert and many other downtown museums, shopping, bars. Reasonable price for the quality of a full service hotel. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Executive suite excellent size for a family of 4 or 6. Noise was not a problem from freeway or other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We hope you will visit us again next time you're in Louisville. Would you please email me directly so that we may show our gratitude for your excellent review at abrauer@ajshotels.com. Thank you, Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#17 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#23 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#7 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
#34 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel And Suites
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing