We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great location in downtown Louisville. Very accommodating staff. Common areas and rooms very nice and updated.
Close to everything. Heard lot's of good things about their restaurants even though I was unable to try them.
Under ground parking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLBluerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,010 - 3,016 of 4,188 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed here a half dozen times and it has always been a great experience. They have first rate customer service, clean facility, and in walking distance to a large amount of shops and restaurants. You'll be happy with your stay. (There is a decent charge for parking.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a great location right on the Ohio River. From my room I had a great view of the river and Indiana. Staff is very friendly, assisted me in anyway possible. There is a wonder bar in between the two hotel towers. Great view of the city and the Ohio River from this bar. The bar itself is a fish tank, this was really neat to see and watch the fish swim under peoples drinks. Easy walk from hotel to Fourth Street Live.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I've stayed at the Galt house many times and as always...it was a nice and pleasant experience. The room was very clean and comfortable. My only compliant is the charge for the wireless Internet service. The Galt house is the only hotel I've ever stayed at that charges for Internet access.

Room Tip: East side has the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EEstep1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Galt House East, the suite tower while in town for business meetings. I brought along my twelve year old daughter. The rooms are nice sized with plenty of room to move around for two. The decor was a little worn in a few places, but nothing important was shabby. The only issues that I had with our room was there was no microwave, so no reheating leftovers from dinner. This meant we had to eat out every meal, even when we just needed a quick bite. Also I was disappointed that our view did not show more of the city or the Ohio River. It showed partial views of both, but mostly the back of the YUM center( which adds to the location appeal, but not pretty to look at.)
However the service is excellent, room service food was tasty and not too expensive. That helped me with my daughter. She felt like Eloise at the Plaza, having room service while I attended meetings in the conference rooms. The location is really great! Closet to 4th Street Live and many good restaurants. Overall we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alcpowell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice place for a convention. The lounge was very nice with a view of the Ohio River. Food in the lounge was excellent. Close to the hip downtown area with live music. In May 2014 I will be meeting friends for the Derby already made reservations at The Galt House.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Bettie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The rooms are very large, well appointed, and the location is perfect. You are in the center of many nice bars and restaurants and yet the rooms are quiet. The staff was pleasant and you will have a nice stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Sunhopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 100 in Louisville
1,493 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 100 in Louisville
1,791 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 100 in Louisville
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#20 of 100 in Louisville
189 reviews
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $141 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,314 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with head-spinning cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing