We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off to a rough start but then what a fantastic upgrade!”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We reserved a river front suite to join in the celebration of a wonderful couples union. When we checked in the experience was good. The front desk found the the room we reserved and we recieved our keys. When we got to the room one of the doors wouldn't open with the key but the other did work. We entered the room and noticed someone's bag, they had checked us into someone else's room!!
We called down to the desk and they upgraded us to an incredible two bedroom apartment right on the river in the main building. Incredible upgrade for the mistake. The room service was prompt the food was ok. One suggestion if you order the nachos ask for the jalapeños on the side. I swear they piled a whole jar on there. Other then being in someone else's room the worst part of the whole weekend was the bar between the tower and the main building. Service was horrible, incredibly slow and unconcerned that we waited forty five minutes for food that never appeared. The waitress really was inept.
Otherwise great room grea time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,038)
There are newer reviews for Galt House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,911 - 2,917 of 4,038 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Last time I stayed at the Galt House was in the late '80's, remember it being a little cleaner and up to date (for the time). It looks like some of the facilities have been painted over since then, some remodeling here and there, but I think the towers are starting to show their age. One of the bed pillows was mildewed/funky, bathroom could have stood a good bleaching. That being said, for access to things to do/places to go in Louisville, you can't go wrong with the Galt House. Other than minor issues with the room, the rest of the property is great (dining, meeting rooms, etc.). I assume, based on other reviews, that this was an isolated issue, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

If your in Louisville, Ky this is one place I would highly recommend. It is just down the street from 4th Street Live. There is great parking and I will be back for pleasure next time. The front counter staff were fast and very helpfull.

Room Tip: King room on the east tower.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen22588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

- My stay was great. I had a suite which was amazing; clean and VERY spacious. There were fireworks at the stadium one night and though my room was facing the opposite direction - I could see the fireworks in the windows across the street - fantastic!
- My room was not considered a "view" room but I had a perfectly wonderful view of the river.
- Halls are wide so rooms are quieter than many hotels.
- Convention Prices made costs reasonable.
- Melvin is a great doorman/ambassador.
- There were 2 issues. One was that my room phone didn't work and it took an entire day to fix it (including overnight). And the second issue was that the bath mat didn't stick very well - and both it and I slipped getting into the shower. Thus 4 stars.
- There were 2 restaurants but there was limited marketing and pricing. Even when I asked about restaurants - the staff was not very clear. The less pricey restaurant was very good.
- I would definitely stay at the Galt House again.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the adjoining tower are great. Suites are fantastic.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kai_oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Spent the weekend here and I must say it was a lesant suprise. Very clean and by most standards this place is huge. Many rooms have great views of the city and river. There is a skyway that lets you walk to many entertainment areas of the city including 4th Street Live without going outside. Food was very good and the revolving restaurant has great food and best view in the city. Our hair dryer mounted on the wall didn't work and it took 2 calls however I still had to go downstairs and ask for one after 11/2 hours waiting. parking is easy

Room Tip: we were in the sweets section so I can't gigve a review of a regular room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have never in all my years of staying in hotels/motels experienced anything quite like this. 50 minutes for us to check in. 4 lines of people waiting to check in. One of the couples missed the wedding we were attending that evening, because it took them 2 hours to check in. The staff just took their good ole time and were very talkative with people checking in. Also, when we got close to checking in, the girl that was in the middle of processing someone in our line walked away for about 5-10 minutes! Really?!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for one evening in mid September.
On the plus side, convenient location to downtown attractions and dining ... Nice river views ... Friendly and helpful staff ... Good parking options .... Comfortable bed
The only real negative is this is a pretty large (for this market) convention style hotel and it feels a bit dated and there are some rough spots around the edges. Some chipping of wood on dresser and desk in the room, common area are clean but feel like they need a more modern look. Maybe a little too much partying over derby week!!
I would say it is above 3 stars because of the positives, but needs improving to be 4 star.
Good value for the price I paid but think there would be better options if you were forced to pay full price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocSaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 97 in Louisville
1,391 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 97 in Louisville
1,937 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 97 in Louisville
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Louisville
890 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $154 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,314 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing