We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #29 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Spent the weekend here and I must say it was a lesant suprise. Very clean and by most standards this place is huge. Many rooms have great views of the city and river. There is a skyway that lets you walk to many entertainment areas of the city including 4th Street Live without going outside. Food was very good and the revolving restaurant has great food and best view in the city. Our hair dryer mounted on the wall didn't work and it took 2 calls however I still had to go downstairs and ask for one after 11/2 hours waiting. parking is easy

Room Tip: we were in the sweets section so I can't gigve a review of a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,045 - 3,051 of 4,168 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have never in all my years of staying in hotels/motels experienced anything quite like this. 50 minutes for us to check in. 4 lines of people waiting to check in. One of the couples missed the wedding we were attending that evening, because it took them 2 hours to check in. The staff just took their good ole time and were very talkative with people checking in. Also, when we got close to checking in, the girl that was in the middle of processing someone in our line walked away for about 5-10 minutes! Really?!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for one evening in mid September.
On the plus side, convenient location to downtown attractions and dining ... Nice river views ... Friendly and helpful staff ... Good parking options .... Comfortable bed
The only real negative is this is a pretty large (for this market) convention style hotel and it feels a bit dated and there are some rough spots around the edges. Some chipping of wood on dresser and desk in the room, common area are clean but feel like they need a more modern look. Maybe a little too much partying over derby week!!
I would say it is above 3 stars because of the positives, but needs improving to be 4 star.
Good value for the price I paid but think there would be better options if you were forced to pay full price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocSaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was excited about staying here after looking at their website. Our room however was on the fourth floor and we had a terrific view of the roof and that's it. Talk about disappointed, we were. Everything was costly, the food and the parking in particular. No wi-fi in the room unless you pay for it. I get free parking, breakfast and wi-fi at a lot of more inexpensive hotels. I would not recommend staying here. Find a cheaper hotel near Loiusville and visit the sites from there.

Room Tip: Stay above the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quizzer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I wouldn't do the Galt House for a casual stay.

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night in a corner suite. It was awesome. We really enjoyed our time and the experience we had was great. Bed was soft. Rooms were clean. Staff was top notch.

This is a place I will be looking up for our anniversaries in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Really enjoyed our room! Very spacious and in an excellent location. The bed was super comfy, we slept in everyday. Staff was nice, accommodating and helpful. Bourbon room was closed, but would love to visit. Two cons- limited vegetarian options on menu, pancakes dry and thick.Lastly, pool is small and located only on one side of hotel, sucked running back to our room on the suite side.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msnikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. We had a great time. Enjoyed hanging out at Al J's & Jockey Silks Bourbon Bar in the hotel. Amber and Rick were a lot of fun and patient with all of our questions about bourbon! We also had dinner in the Rivue Restaurant on the top floor. There are two areas that revolve as you dine. Definitely ask to be seated there. Our waitress Amber was very pleasant and informative of the area.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 98 in Louisville
1,479 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 98 in Louisville
1,775 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 98 in Louisville
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#19 of 98 in Louisville
185 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $150 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,314 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with head-spinning cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing