We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location above average service”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
2 reviews
“Great location above average service”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The Galt hotel is a very nice, clean hotel near the waterfront in Louisville. It was within walking distance of the Louisville Slugger museum, the Actor's Theater, the Frazer museum and the Muhammed Ali museum, as well as to many restaurants and hotels. Get a high floor on the river side and you will have a beautiful view. First impressions linger and the checkin person was very cold and abrupt. Didn't feel like it was a friendly place. Maybe because it's such a large hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smccaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for feedback. We appreciate your staying with us and hope you'll be back to see us next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    1,198
    700
    346
    217
See reviews for
740
836
140
1,423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Galt House in Louisville for a Kid Rock concert and needless to say the stay was quite a surprise. After hearing about how immaculate the hotel was and how expensive the stay was going to be, I thought we were going to be staying at a palace. We requested a king but checked in to the dirtiest, most dusty room in the place that had two full or twins. The beds were small. You could write your initials in the bay window counter and next to the TV. Guest services told us since we booked through hotels.com, the problem was out of their hands. With reluctance they moved us, into another dusty, dirty room. There were no bags in the trash cans, and there was no hair dryer. I left my phone charger and called them the following day. They did not know of any such charger left in any rooms the previous night. My fault but where could the charger have ended up?
Folks, I have stayed at the Brown, Seelbach and some cheapos in the downtown area, and I am not one to knock a place even when the experience is terrible. But if you want a dirty, dusty room and you want to leave with a dead cell phone and a wet head, please stay here.

Room Tip: Call this hotel before booking through 3rd party! Ask for a room with a view of the river. Avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We're sorry your stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here before and really like the location! Staff is always very friendly. Our only negative is that there isn't an indoor or heated outdoor pool. Dining on premises is ok but outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We hope you'll visit again next time you come to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
165 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights, upgraded to the "suite" which was a small living room area and a separate bedroom. The carpet needs to be replaced....very stained and worn, Found trash and other left overs from previous occupants behind the curtains in the bedroom. The walk in shower was a MAJOR plus for our stay. The location is great for being able to visit the downtown Louisville and 4th St area. Breakfast and internet are NOT included in the high room price.

Room Tip: request the suites with the walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indy_Fan_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Galt House is very average for hotels of its class. If you can get a good rate ($100 or less) and need to stay in downtown Louisville, it's worth considering. Nothing sets it apart from the Hiltons, Sheratons, Radissons, etc., though. Service is good, but that's always been my experience with this class of hotel in cities around the country. The Galt House nickel-and-dimes you for internet, but most of its peers do as well.
I've stayed there for vacation travel, but would be unlikely to use the Galt House for business, because the one place it stands out is its inferior elevator situation. No hotel I use for business is as bad.
If you don't need to stay downtown, you should consider the Sheraton across the river in Jeffersonville, where parking is free and you can usually get free internet, saving you $20/day or so over the downtown hotels.

Room Tip: The Rivue side (tower on the west side) elevators seem better than the other (east side) tower. Neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was so excited to stay here, however I was disappointed with the quality of the hotel. The rooms are dated and just average. The view was not what I expected either. I could see the river and the other part of the hotel so all night I watched the glass elevators travel up and down the other part of the hotel (the drunk girls were amusing). The room was clean, I guess I just set myself up for disappointment expecting more. The nicest thing there were the lighting fixtures in the parking garage :D

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsmygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location is ideal for a walk to the river, over to 4th Street Live, or (as we did) a stroll over to Jeff Ruby's for an evening out. There's nothing that stands out too much here (besides an in house bourbon bar, which is always ok with me!). It's obvious that this hotel is an institution in Louisville and is worth a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinmoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! Please come back and see us again next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
1,842 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
1,309 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 95 in Louisville
864 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing