We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your money. That's even if they honor your reservation”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Louisville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money. That's even if they honor your reservation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Booked a room six months in advance to be told the week before I arrived that they wouldn't honor my reservation because they overbooked the hotel? Don't waste your money on this place. They don't care either way.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay in their penthouse suite for $1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We're sorry to hear that. Obviously, there was a miscommunication on our end. We apologize and hope that you'll give us another chance some day. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    1,173
    675
    332
    205
See reviews for
709
799
139
1,405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked a room in October of last year on the Galt House website for an upcoming trip to Louisville in March. I was just informed that because of a glich in their online system, they could not honor our reservation (they were overbooked and have been since we made our reservation WHAT???). While they are moving our reservation to another hotel, we specifically picked this hotel because of location to the KFC Yum Center as weather in early March can be dicey. Had we known in October that they were overbooked, we would have had more choice and say in our hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cincygal1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are very sorry about being overbooked and having to move your reservation. We know you chose our hotel for a reason and we appreciate you wanting to stay here. We hope that you found the alternate accommodations acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The valets and bellhops were extremely friendly and helpful. They were the best part of our stay. Carpet in our suite was so dirty our white socks turned black! Room outdated, with cheap fixtures for such high prices. Reminded me of an old Holiday Inn before they updated. Front desk clerk was helpful when ask about local pizza delivery places.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazybucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your feedback. Would you please email us directly at customercare@galthotel.com with more details so we can make sure the problem is corrected promptly. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends and the hotel staff was wonderful for arranging for us early check in and adjoining rooms. (We made our reservations separately, but they were able to accommodate our last-minute requests).

When we walked in to our rooms, the rooms smelled fresh, looked clean, and were very comfortable. Our room offered a lovely view towards the Ohio river. The furniture was classy and comfortable. The valets were very courteous and prompt. Parking was so convenient and safe--our room key swiped us in and out of the parking garage. Yes, we had to pay for parking, but the convenience was worth it.

One of the features of the hotel we had time to enjoy was the coffee shop in the conservatory. The coffee was good and the views from the conservatory were lovely. This was a comfy spot to hang out with my friends, chat, and refuel.

We got a very good rate for such a luxurious hotel because we visited in February. I imagine this hotel is much more expensive around Derby week!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east will give a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for visiting us! We're so glad to be a part of your fun friend weekend! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

At the end of December, our Youth Group from South Dakota took a 21 hr. bus ride down to Kentucky for a Youth Covention. We stayed at the Galt House Hotel & Suites. When arriving they made sure that we had a place to unload all our stuff before handing out our room numbers. They did a great job with organizing and completing this task with as many kids there were.
When we arrived in our room, I was in awe of the beauty of the room. You walked into a living space, with TV and desk. Also a little fridge, coffee pot and sink. Then you walk down a hall to the vanity area, and to the left a HUGE bathroom with great big shower. Then into another room where there were two queen size beds, chair, table, dresser and big TV. It was like a mini apartment.
Our room was very clean and we got new towels and supplies every day that we were there. The staff was friendly, kind and very helpful. You would think with all those kids that some staff may be uneasy and short, but they were very professional at all times.
This is a wonderful hotel, and if I am ever in that area again, this is one I will choose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cutiethebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy to have been a great part of your trip to Louisville and hope you'll have the chance to come back and see us again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We brought in the New Year at the Galt House. My wife and I have stayed here many times over the years. From arrival valet, to departure valet, the experience is always topshelf. You can't go wrong! So nice I'll have to say it twice. We brought in the New Year at the Galt House. My wife and I have stayed here many times over the years. From arrival valet, to departure valet, the experience is always topshelf. You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaptownCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the high praise!! We're so glad you had a fantastic NYE! You'll have to join us again next year... (or before, there's always something going on here!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I booked a one night stay hee for my birthday a few days ago. We booked it thru travelocity so we got a discounted rate. We arrived and opted for the valet parking, which is $18.00/day. Check in went smoothly and we were given a room on the 24th floor of the Revue tower. Lobby was clean and attractive, staff was friendly enough. We had a room with 2 queen beds and a view of the river. The room was pretty roomy, somewhat outdated but we have stayed in worse. The room was clean and although it showed some wear it was nothing I would call unacceptable. We went down to AJs lounge on the 3rd floor for some drinks. The bar was pretty cool, there are fish swimming in the actual bar where you sit. That was pretty neat. Bartender was knowledgble about the drinks but they were pretty pricey. We ventured down to 4th street live area, which is a short walk from the hotel for an early dinner. Upon coming back to the hotel we decided to explore it a bit. I had seen many other reviews saying how the hotel resembled a 70s hotel and I really didnt see that until we started looking around. The 2nd floor has a bourbon bar (we didnt go to it) but the carpeting and wall paper in the hall certainly was very outdated. It almost had a creepy feeling to it. The whole time we were walking around we never saw another guest or worker. We ventured up to the 25th floor, where there is an upscale lounge and restarant. Its quiet the shock when the elevator doors open on the 25th floor and you are greeted with low lighting, glittered floors, and dark painted walls. The lounge is the only thing on the 25th floor and it also had a somewhat creepy feel, but maybe it was just me. We ordered a pizza from room service around 1130 that night. It arrived in a prompt amount of time, price was a little steep but typical of room service rates. Pizza was good but probably couldve done better by just ordering carry out somewhere else. When we layed down that night was probably the worst part of the stay. The bed was awful, one of the most uncomfortable beds Ive ever slept on. And the traffic noise from the interstate below is almost unbearable. Once I fell asleep i was able to sleep thru it but trying to watch tv or fall asleep was a little difficult. All in all i was a little disappointed, I guess I expected a little grander hotel by some of the pics Ive seen. I would probably stay here again if i could get it discounted thru travelocity but i would never pay full price to stay here

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. While we understand that our laid-back Southern charm isn't for everybody, we do have many guests that appreciate our eclectic style. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing