We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location, needs room upgrades”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #27 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location, needs room upgrades”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went for a quick trip for my birthday. We stayed at the Marriott the year before and it was stunning there but didn't have the outdoor pool I was hunting for.
The Gault pool was an experience on a nice Saturday in July! Very interesting party vibe, we took it in and people watched and enjoyed some beer from the makeshift bar out there. The lobby, elevators were lovely in old historic hotel ways...
We went to the spa and it was just ok. Not decorated well, the services were good but staff wasn't remotely friendly.
What was off was our room. We got a suite and it was like two hotel rooms together with a wall cut out. The one room had a bed, the next was a large empty room with a sad looking couch and table. The patio was crooked and made me wish I weighed less so stayed off of it. Once the rooms get a faceliftI think it would be a great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiofoodluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that your stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your feedback and hope you had a nice weekend in Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    1,232
    732
    361
    233
See reviews for
769
857
142
1,480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a lovely stay at a measly Holiday Inn on the way into Louisville, so we had high expectations for a hotel of such stature. The service was not up to par. The check-in clerk was hurried and impersonal. The bellhop didn't offer to help with a question about a rollaway until I asked the procedure, and then he did as an afterthought. We called multiple times checking on the whereabouts of the rollaway, only to be told on the fourth call that it was a fire hazard in the suites (though not in a non-suite?). We were told repeatedly just to use the fold-out couch when the request was for a toddler whom we didn't want sleeping alone in a separate room (and we wanted to watch tv there before going to bed). We called to complain that one of the phones didn't work and we couldn't receive incoming calls, and we received a curt offer to send someone up to check it right then (late at night when we were putting the children to bed). We asked for it to be the next day, but nobody ever came.

No one came to clean our room until almost dinner time (we were out of the room for several hours midday). At that point the baby was sleeping, so I asked the maid just to clear our trash. She stood there while I gathered it up for her, and then said she had to call from our phone to say our room had been cleaned (which it had not). Since the other phone hadn't been fixed, she said she had to use the phone in the room where our baby was sleeping. Was there really no other way? Of course, this woke the baby up.

We were disappointed but not surprised to see that, after everything, we were charged for the rollaway we never received. The same thing happened at breakfast at the Cafe Magnolia . . . we were charged for bacon which we ordered but never received. There was just no attention to detail, no friendliness, no extra effort to help. And we aren't "those people" who complain about everything; we were always polite and accommodating . . . but we expected the same in return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We're sorry your stay was not up to expectations. We want to make this right with you. Would you please email customercare@galthotel.com directly with your comments. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I decided to stay at The Galt House because it was the host hotel for the World Cyclocross Championships and from my first interaction to my last, I was underwhelmed by the level of service I received...especially at the Fitness Center, which charges $5 per day. Parking is $12 per day and Internet access has varied charges, depending on your needs. Streaming video access is more expensive. I rang up a pretty large bill with all of the extras. The general attitude from the Hotel Staff is that i was bothering them with any request. The person working at the Fitness Center refused to look up from her phone to interact with me. Al J's bar was usually very crowded and you could only get service at the bar. It would have been convenient to have a few Server's around the entire area. I did not utilize this area, since it was impossible to get service. Cafe Magnolias breakfast buffet is the same old fare....runny scrambled eggs and harsh browns. There is a custome olmete area, but was too crowded to order one. I went late for breakfast and the restaurant was not too crowded, but the kitchen was overwhelmed. The couple next to me cancelled their order, as it was taking too long. The Server apologized and said the kitchen is so busy, it is going to be a while. The rooms are okay, but as a previous review noted, the linens are sub par. My alarm clock was broken and when I first entered my room, it was playing music and I had to unplug it to make it stop. I got the impression that this hotel caters more toward conventions and meeting than to general guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We're sorry your stay did not meet expectations. You're right, the hotel was very full that weekend, but that's no excuse. We hope you'll give us another chance to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Galt for business many times over the last decade, and I'm sorry to say that there has been a real decline in service. Whether it's the general lack of helpfulness of the front desk staff, the fact that there is always construction noise within the hotel, or that they are now using the poorest quality bed linens you can imagine, I am SO DISAPPOINTED with my experience here. There are other fine hotels in Louisville - I suggest you try one of them instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTmac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all your feedback and hope that you'll give us another chance to change your mind. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Galt House in Louisville after booking it through Hotwire and getting a great deal. We were celebrating and wanted to get away for the night and this was a perfect place for us to stay. It is within close proximity to everything we could have wanted that evening. We were able to walk to all the main restaurants and bars on 4th St. The service at the hotel was great and our room was clean. This will be where I stay if I ever want to stay downtown again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacerr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are so glad to hear you had a fantastic time staying in the heart of Louisville at Galt House Hotel. We hope you'll be back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Galt House is attached to just about everything in walking distance by a skywalk. Because it's attached to the KFC Yum Center and Convention Center, and because of its own large banquet rooms and restaurants, it has a LOT of non-guest walking traffic. This amount of walking traffic naturally cuts some services a hotel would normally offer for free, such as access to the hotel gym, complimentary coffee, tea or fruit in the hotel lobby. That said they really have a lot to offer their guests. The room prices are so reasonable for what you do get!

There are a handful of small retail shops stocked full of gift type merchandise, necessities you may have forgotten at home, wine, and clothes. The Galt House has several restaurants within the (hugs) complex. Revue Restaurant is by far the best (and most expensive), but there is also a bar with better-than-bar food, a buffet-style breakfast spot (which is just ok and you may want to just skip this spot all together), a bourbon room, and more.

The hotel salon is great. The services we received were excellent. I especially liked my hair cut and color. The gym is excellent. The gym membership is $5 per day or $10 per week. The steam room is just wonderful.

Service at The Galt House is excellent. From the valet staff, to the Bell Hop, to the concierge, to the room service staff, everything we needed was taken care of and more! The facility is beautiful. We loved the massive chandeliers and decor. The conservatory area with the birds is a great place to hang out.

We enjoyed our stay, and we just loved Louisville. I hope we can visit again sometime!

Room Tip: Our room was close to the elevator, but it didn't bother us one bit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbusers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are happy to have been a part of your trip and to hear that you had a nice time in our city and our hotel. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff here was the epitome of service and helpfulness. Once we waited in the lobby a few minutes while my husband waited on the valet to come park the car. Someone came up to ask if we needed help, and when I explained we'd been waiting on the valet, he rushed outside to help the one little valet guy get the cars parked. Our room was extremely spacious - not your 2 beds and a bath type, but it included a separate living area, a wet bar with fridge and an overly spacious bath/dressing room. And CLEAN! Each morning we went to the 3rd floor to the cafe for coffee, and the cafe employees were friendly and cheerful and remembered us every day. Even the other guests were talkative and friendly. It was certainly one of the best hotel experiences had!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and in Louisville. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 97 in Louisville
1,363 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 97 in Louisville
1,908 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#17 of 97 in Louisville
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Louisville
884 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,310 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing