We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT Friendly Customer Service”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Booked Galt House based on reviews as an overnight stay and paid in advance for a long road trip over Thanksgiving with my children. On the way, I had car trouble during the trip and could not make it to Louisville, KY. Had to stop in Charleston, WV to get the car repaired. Called to hotel front desk to explain that I could not get there, but asked could I rebook the stay for overnight stay on the return home. I understood the inability to refund, but the hotel would not let me reschedule for the return trip. They essentially listed me as a no-show and would NOT give me any options to use the paid stay for the return trip. I prefer spending my money at businesses that do the right thing. I will NEVER book a stay here. Spend your money at businesses that care about customers!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank 1DallasCowboyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

We are sorry for your experience. Your feedback will be forwarded so that the appropriate managers see it. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,378 - 3,384 of 4,234 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Literally THE worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Shocking. Its filthy dirty-- every where-- even though the rooms and hallways reek of toxic super-industrial-strength drum cleaner. The beds are like a rock, linens a chafing polyester mix, pillows ancient crumbling foam. Heating/cooling system in guest-room is so LOUD one can't even make a phone call with it on. This, added to the incessant din of the Interstate reverberating between the two towers that are literally constructed right above it, make a good night's sleep the stuff of fantasy. Its impossible to know where you are at inside or out because the signage is so dismal. It would be funny if it weren't so insulting. The restaurants are hideous, the food's worse, the staff universally apathetic, amateurish and slow. When I found a condom wrapper IN THE LOBBY I knew it was a sign from God that sleeping in a refrigerator box on the street would have been far preferable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andrew k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

We are so sorry that your stay did not meet expectations. Your feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for follow up. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A wonderful hotel to stay at! Convenient to museums, and restaurants within walking distant. Across from the Ohio River. Beatles Abby Road in May and other special events throughout the year! For Hard Rock Cafe lovers, Louiville has one alsomwithin walking distant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank udaytonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us! We're happy we can be part of your Louisville experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The location was great. The layout and amenties on the property were really great. we loved/ the Bourbon Bar and the third floor lounge. You didnt really need to leave the hotel for night life. the bartenders were great especially in the Bourbon Bar. We stayed here for 3 nights. Each day they checked us out and we had to get new room keys when our reservation was for 3 nights. The front desk was rude in resetting our cards and helping straighten out the bill since we kept being billed each night seperatly. Also check in was horrible. When i made the reservations i said we would be checking in after midnight and when we showed up the lady was rude. She said she put us as a no show and we should have called. I told her when i called to make reservations i was told they would put a note on the file saying we would be late. She said she didnt have a note and somehow that was my problem. Also we were suppose to get a welcome bag for a wedding and we didnt. Other than the front desk the rest of the staff was great. the rooms were a little old and you could hear a lot of noise in neighboring rooms and the hallway. the buffett for breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

We apologize for your experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Galt House offers reasonable rooms at moderate prices. It has seen a refurbishment since my last visit and it appeared to have improved a bit. The entire downtown-area of Louisville is at your doorstep, so city walks here can be done easily. I had a minor issue with the food service delivered to the room, so we got our meals mainly elsewhere. The Galt House offers a lot of function rooms and is probably geared towards the convention and meeting crowd. Not all rooms are equally outfitted, we stayed at the tower part of the hotel. Several friends stayed here too, some had issues with noisy elevators or malfunctions in their entertainment system.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abstinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'l visit us again next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Galt in October 2010 during a student journalism seminar. Great rooms "suites" and the hotel was totally amazing. Great location downtown right near the river and 4th Street Live. If you gotta stay in LV then you gotta stay at the Galt House! I loved the hotel bar and the bourbon beer they served. Bartender was really friendly.

Room Tip: Go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us! We're so happy to have been a part of your great visit to Louisville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was my first time staying overnight though I have been in the hotel on numerous occasions over the years. This is a large convention style hotel and you certainly will not mistake it for a small, intimate hotel but the service is very good. It is an older property and has been updated significantly. The public areas look modern and up-to-date which is a big improvement from a few years ago. We stayed in the suite tower on the 14th floor at a discounted rate and I have few complaints about the room. Our suite was very large, separate bedroom and exceptionally large living room area. Has atmosphere of an older hotel but that is not bad in this case. The bathroom is large but has an awkward layout. It would be nice to have a large spa-type shower included as there is plenty of room for one but instead there is regular bathtub/shower combo (at least with a curved curtain rod). The single sink area is very small, towel racks on the other side of the room from the shower, tp holder is a stretch! It seemed odd for a hotel of this size that there is no indoor pool, also there is a charge for the workout facility. Room service breakfast was extremely good - from the server taking my order to a surprisingly quick delivery by a very professional server (and the food was good and served at the correct temperature). Minor negatives include no guide for the television channels, very dim room lighting, curtain pull rod was missing, curtain hook was off (I corrected this easily myself but no one had bothered to fix it). The mattress seemed a little old as I kept rolling to the center of the bed.

The Galt House seems like two different hotels with one tower being a step up from the other. Based on listed prices and other reviews, I suspect the Rivue tower has not been renovated recently. Glass enclosed connector on third level is a busy place. We had a GroupOn discounted room and at check-in (included parking) and I felt as though i got the same level of attention and service as those paying regular rates. There was even a pre-printed welcome letter for GroupOn guests. For the price I paid, I was happy but not sure it would be worth the full listed price. I can see how the hotel would be a very busy place if full because of a convention or YUM Center event.

The location is very good for exploring the downtown area (though not connected directly to the YUM Center) and parking is relatively convenient. The hotel is noted for it's annual Christmas event which was starting the day we checked out. The Christmas decorations in the public areas are great and the description of the ticketed event seemed family friendly would be worth taking the family to sometime.

Room Tip: Choose the Suite Tower, not the Rivue. Stay off of the third floor as it could be noisy because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KYJman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all your feedback and hope you'll visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 102 in Louisville
1,515 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 102 in Louisville
2,067 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#20 of 102 in Louisville
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#4 of 102 in Louisville
1,374 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#14 of 102 in Louisville
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $136 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,314 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with head-spinning cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing