We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Galt House, a Trademark Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Louisville Hotel(Louisville)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,296)
Filter reviews
4,296 results
Traveler rating
1,515
1,303
806
402
270
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,515
1,303
806
402
270
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrivue towerohio riversuite towercafe magnoliarivue restaurantfish tankview of the riveryum centerdowntown louisvillebourbon barlarge hotelconvention centerthird floorfourth street liveconferenceconservatoryskywalk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,442 - 3,447 of 4,296 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Galt House offers reasonable rooms at moderate prices. It has seen a refurbishment since my last visit and it appeared to have improved a bit. The entire downtown-area of Louisville is at your doorstep, so city walks here can be done easily. I had a minor issue with the food service delivered to the room, so we got our meals mainly elsewhere. The Galt House offers a lot of function rooms and is probably geared towards the convention and meeting crowd. Not all rooms are equally outfitted, we stayed at the tower part of the hotel. Several friends stayed here too, some had issues with noisy elevators or malfunctions in their entertainment system.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abstinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at The Galt House, a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'l visit us again next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Galt in October 2010 during a student journalism seminar. Great rooms "suites" and the hotel was totally amazing. Great location downtown right near the river and 4th Street Live. If you gotta stay in LV then you gotta stay at the Galt House! I loved the hotel bar and the bourbon beer they served. Bartender was really friendly.

Room Tip: Go for a suite.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at The Galt House, a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us! We're so happy to have been a part of your great visit to Louisville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was my first time staying overnight though I have been in the hotel on numerous occasions over the years. This is a large convention style hotel and you certainly will not mistake it for a small, intimate hotel but the service is very good. It is an older property and has been updated significantly. The public areas look modern and up-to-date which is a big improvement from a few years ago. We stayed in the suite tower on the 14th floor at a discounted rate and I have few complaints about the room. Our suite was very large, separate bedroom and exceptionally large living room area. Has atmosphere of an older hotel but that is not bad in this case. The bathroom is large but has an awkward layout. It would be nice to have a large spa-type shower included as there is plenty of room for one but instead there is regular bathtub/shower combo (at least with a curved curtain rod). The single sink area is very small, towel racks on the other side of the room from the shower, tp holder is a stretch! It seemed odd for a hotel of this size that there is no indoor pool, also there is a charge for the workout facility. Room service breakfast was extremely good - from the server taking my order to a surprisingly quick delivery by a very professional server (and the food was good and served at the correct temperature). Minor negatives include no guide for the television channels, very dim room lighting, curtain pull rod was missing, curtain hook was off (I corrected this easily myself but no one had bothered to fix it). The mattress seemed a little old as I kept rolling to the center of the bed.

The Galt House seems like two different hotels with one tower being a step up from the other. Based on listed prices and other reviews, I suspect the Rivue tower has not been renovated recently. Glass enclosed connector on third level is a busy place. We had a GroupOn discounted room and at check-in (included parking) and I felt as though i got the same level of attention and service as those paying regular rates. There was even a pre-printed welcome letter for GroupOn guests. For the price I paid, I was happy but not sure it would be worth the full listed price. I can see how the hotel would be a very busy place if full because of a convention or YUM Center event.

The location is very good for exploring the downtown area (though not connected directly to the YUM Center) and parking is relatively convenient. The hotel is noted for it's annual Christmas event which was starting the day we checked out. The Christmas decorations in the public areas are great and the description of the ticketed event seemed family friendly would be worth taking the family to sometime.

Room Tip: Choose the Suite Tower, not the Rivue. Stay off of the third floor as it could be noisy because of the public areas and the connector to the other tower.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KYJman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at The Galt House, a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all your feedback and hope you'll visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Galt house for the Louisville Ironman event. My husband was participating and this was the sponsoring hotel. The suites were more spacious that I expected, with plenty of room for all the gear we were traveling with (luggage, bike, pump, multiple gear bags, etc). The bathroom in particular was enormous. The beds were comfortable. The room was quiet, except you could hear one of our neighbors use the restroom. It was disturbingly clear to the point that I could tell you if they were doing #1 or #2 or perhaps just blowing their nose. It was an odd acoustical phenomenon. Fortunately, it wasn't a huge issue for us.

We enjoyed the pasta dinner offered by the hotel. Simple, inexpensive buffet-style pasta.

I would stay here again if in Louisville.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at The Galt House, a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We hope your husband did well in the IRONMAN Race! Please come see us again next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel is large and bustling - can get very busy but check in was prompt and self parking was easy and convenient. The suite was very spacious - large bedroom and living room spaces separated by bathroom and hallway. We had drinks and appetizers at each bar/lounge during our stay - the only negative, service was quite slow so be prepared to hang out for a while. Buffet breakfast in Cafe Magnolia was good - lots of choices and decent food. It is an older hotel and there is some wear and tear, but lots of character. Great location. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor so you don't have as much traffic noise
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhoDeyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at The Galt House, a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us! We hope you had a great time in the Heart of Louisville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews