We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Definite if your going to the Yum Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Definite if your going to the Yum Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Rooms are a little bit pricy, but very worth it if your going to the KFC Yum Center. We stayed in the building (there are two buildings for the same hotel) that was connected to the Yum Center and it was a piece of cake to get there. Our room was on the 12th floor and it took less than 15mins to walk there and it was super easy. All of the staff are very nice, very friendly. The parking area height 6'5 so don't bring a large truck. The parking is also shared with the arena so it can get full if you check in late. There is a $12 parking charge. The hotel is very large and there are a lot of people who stay there, so if your on a schedule allow extra time for check in. Each tower has about 25 floors. There is venting machine there, also a little store where you can get soda. I suggest one of their big cookies. It was perfect for our trip to see The Boss!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygurl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We're so glad to hear you had a great time going to see The Boss! Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    1,173
    675
    332
    205
See reviews for
709
799
139
1,405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I attended a conference at the hotel and stayed there for what I believed was a hefty price. I had a suite and it came with a mini wet bar (which includes a fridge) but no microwave. Seeing that the rooms were already so expensive and breakfast was not included in the price of the room I thought that we could at least reduce some of the cost by using a microwave on those early cold mornings when you don't have time to run out to get a cheap meal... Those who stayed on the side of the hotel which was close to the highway complained of the traffic noise. The furniture and accessories (drapes, fittings, etc...) also looked like they will need to be changed soon. Overall it was an average stay for me.

Room Tip: The suites a much better and larger than the plain single or double occupancy rooms. Suites away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilledd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel on Saturday with a friend. I was disappointed in the hotel. The property is massive and I expected amazing rooms and amenities. The service was good and fast at check in. I ordered room service for dinner and I had requested a dinner roll with my soup and salad and never received it. I will say the food was delicious though. I had contacted the extension given when ready for the tray to be picked up at 8:30pm Saturday and when we checked out at 10am Sunday it was still sitting on the floor outside the door. The soundproofing is not good in the hotel. You could easily here people in the hallway and every time someone flushed the toilet the plumbing was very loud. I am sorry to say I would not stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank faith327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We thank you for giving us a try and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanton, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at The Galt House in Louisville KY. The hotel is very nice, clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is within a block from The KFC Yum Center and Fourth Street Live if your in town for entertainment. The only negative thing I could even say about the hotel is that it was a little noisy in our room because it was next to the elevators. Overall, I have and will continue to stay here, it's especially pretty around Christmas time!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased to be a part of your visits to Louisville and hope you'll come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is HUGE, and I would agree with other reviewers who say it all has a bit of a dated feeling to it. It seems when this was first built it would have been top-rate and would be deserving of the $170/night price tag. However, in the condition that the rooms, furniture, and restaurants are in now there's no way it should cost that much.

Our room was on the third floor and smelled of cigars and food as it shared the floor with meeting spaces that were being used for school reunions, conferences, etc...

However, the thing that absolutely earned the one-star review was their lack of sheets on the king-sized bed. When I got in to the bed to go to sleep I realized that there wasn't a fitted sheet covering the mattress, rather a flat sheet that was pulled up and tucked around the top of the mattress, leaving about 12" of the foot of the mattress exposed, just a bare mattress to be shared by every hotel guest's ankles and feet. GROSS. I called down to the front desk — they apologized and promptly had housekeeping come to re-make the bed. Unfortunately, they re-made it EXACTLY the same way, leaving 12" of the bare mattress exposed. I asked if they didn't have a fitted sheet or something to cover the actual mattress, and they seemed confused and then decided that I was requesting a mattress pad, which they called a request in for. I wasn't requesting a mattress pad, but decided to accept it just to have something cover the bare mattress. Additionally, there is nothing covering the box spring either — no sheet, no bed skirt, just bare, stained box springs beneath the partially covered mattress.

For $170/night I would expect a fully covered mattress, rather than feeling like I had to sleep with my socks on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet expectations. We value you feedback and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

While the view of the river can be breathtaking it is not dry close to the coveted 4th street love. In addition, the hotel is confusing with two buildings. Just hope you get a suite or on the 3rd floor so you can figure out how to get around. Also, the lovely suite I was in this most recent time had a view of the basement I believe. I took it as opposed to not being able to get out of the endless halls and confusing maps. The parking garage is a mess and if you can remember where you are in good shape. I'd rather stay at the Hyatt which is nearby and a lot less confusing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiJa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Got a last minute deal on this hotel. First time in Louisville so I can't compare to others but was large, clean, and quiet. Location was perfect within walking to plenty of food etc. Nice views of the river from almost all rooms. Parking under the hotel which was convenient. Watch out for conferences, games, etc which will pack this large hotel full.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JacksonFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We hope your time in the Heart of Louisville was a good one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing