We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect!”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at The Galt House in Louisville KY. The hotel is very nice, clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is within a block from The KFC Yum Center and Fourth Street Live if your in town for entertainment. The only negative thing I could even say about the hotel is that it was a little noisy in our room because it was next to the elevators. Overall, I have and will continue to stay here, it's especially pretty around Christmas time!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased to be a part of your visits to Louisville and hope you'll come back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,256 - 3,262 of 4,093 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is HUGE, and I would agree with other reviewers who say it all has a bit of a dated feeling to it. It seems when this was first built it would have been top-rate and would be deserving of the $170/night price tag. However, in the condition that the rooms, furniture, and restaurants are in now there's no way it should cost that much.

Our room was on the third floor and smelled of cigars and food as it shared the floor with meeting spaces that were being used for school reunions, conferences, etc...

However, the thing that absolutely earned the one-star review was their lack of sheets on the king-sized bed. When I got in to the bed to go to sleep I realized that there wasn't a fitted sheet covering the mattress, rather a flat sheet that was pulled up and tucked around the top of the mattress, leaving about 12" of the foot of the mattress exposed, just a bare mattress to be shared by every hotel guest's ankles and feet. GROSS. I called down to the front desk — they apologized and promptly had housekeeping come to re-make the bed. Unfortunately, they re-made it EXACTLY the same way, leaving 12" of the bare mattress exposed. I asked if they didn't have a fitted sheet or something to cover the actual mattress, and they seemed confused and then decided that I was requesting a mattress pad, which they called a request in for. I wasn't requesting a mattress pad, but decided to accept it just to have something cover the bare mattress. Additionally, there is nothing covering the box spring either — no sheet, no bed skirt, just bare, stained box springs beneath the partially covered mattress.

For $170/night I would expect a fully covered mattress, rather than feeling like I had to sleep with my socks on.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet expectations. We value you feedback and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

While the view of the river can be breathtaking it is not dry close to the coveted 4th street love. In addition, the hotel is confusing with two buildings. Just hope you get a suite or on the 3rd floor so you can figure out how to get around. Also, the lovely suite I was in this most recent time had a view of the basement I believe. I took it as opposed to not being able to get out of the endless halls and confusing maps. The parking garage is a mess and if you can remember where you are in good shape. I'd rather stay at the Hyatt which is nearby and a lot less confusing.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiJa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Got a last minute deal on this hotel. First time in Louisville so I can't compare to others but was large, clean, and quiet. Location was perfect within walking to plenty of food etc. Nice views of the river from almost all rooms. Parking under the hotel which was convenient. Watch out for conferences, games, etc which will pack this large hotel full.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JacksonFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We hope your time in the Heart of Louisville was a good one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Galt House is quite a large hotel. In my mind, it's perfect to groups, meeting and the like. It's fine for independent travelers as well altho, personally, I prefer a smaller property.
The location on the river in Downtown Louisville is very convenient for all of the attractions in the area. There's plenty to see & do there as well as lots of restaurant choices.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

if you happen to be visiting the very bland city of louisville, this is a nice place to stay. it was kind of expensive considering the the room was just average, although it was HUGE. The service in the hotel is HORRIBLE, however. I stayed with my mom, and we ordered room service breakfast-- two orders of pancakes. they delivered the order and left it on the table covered in plastic wrap. worst of all, though, they only brought ONE pack of silverware. We called and asked for some to be sent up and 30 (yes THIRTY) minutes later, someone brought it, after we had already eaten in shifts, washed and shared the existing silverware. we were told the bill would be comped as a result but it was not. The people did not care at all. they just said they were "busy." This happened AGAIN when we ordered room service the next morning. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: the suite was VERY large-- great for everyone having their own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room was only "okay". . .only one trash can in room (in bathroom with no liner), coffe & pot were on sink but there was no sugar/creamer/stirrer. Had to hunt for coffee cup & found one on desk tray in bedroom with ice bucket & glasses. Never did find a restaurant/coffee shop for dinner or breakfast. They only had a small deli in a big bar with not enough staff or a very expensive dinner restaurant on the 25th floor. We paid rack rate for a less-than-impressive room and will not stay here again when in Louisville.

Room Tip: High floor in Rivue tower in even numbered room provides nice view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

We are sorry your stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 98 in Louisville
1,424 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 98 in Louisville
1,748 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 98 in Louisville
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#15 of 98 in Louisville
894 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#23 of 98 in Louisville
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $154 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,314 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with head-spinning cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing