We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big central average hotel”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #29 of 99 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

A little worn and tired but overall a great value if booked through Hotwire or Priceline. It's right downtown and easy walking distance to everything. Staff are nice and helpful... Rooms are just a little old and when I was there I couldn't shower as they'd turned the water off for repairs overnight... When it came back there was a ton of sedement... Basically brown water... I'm sure running it for a while would have cleared it up but I was in a rush.

It's also worth visiting Jockey Silks bourbon bar... Amazing selection and knowledgeable bartenders

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We thank you for your patience while we made repairs. We try our best not to inconvenience anyone, but know it can be tough to work around everyone's schedules. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,394 - 3,400 of 4,186 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We fortunately got upgraded to the suite for no charge, after looking at some of the other reviews. The suite was pretty awesome. Large shower, separate living room and a cozy bed. I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jthurber10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed for one night at the Galt House Hotel on business. The location was ideal for me as it was 2 blocks away from my meeting location. The room I received on the 9th floor was a huge suite - great value for the price. It was clean and very quiet. The staff I interacted with were very friendly and helpful.

Since I arrived quite late (Thanks to USAirways) I was looking for a quick bite to eat in the hotel. The front desk suggested Cafe Magnolia. The burger was great and affordable and the waitstaff was super friendly.

I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebibond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We're so happy to hear that we could help make your business trip a success! We hope you'll come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The only reason we stayed here is because we were booking last minute, and nothing else seemed to be available. Like the previous reviewer pointed out-- the staff was definitely not warm nor welcoming. They were a bit pretentious, and let me tell you-- they have NOTHING to feel that proud or stuckup about. The impression we got was that they think they're a five star hotel, when they're painfully average.

The rooms were standard, but the sheets were terrible--very poor quality! We were only there for one night (thank god), so I realize you don't have to love the place for that, but still-- we felt like we didn't get our money's worth. For the same price or close, I'm sure you'd be able to find a better hotel, with friendlier staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SuzerSchmoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet expectations. We value your feedback and will pass it along.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

While checking in the woman at the desk was very snobby and rude When she found out we was not staying in a suite she acted if we was wasting her time when I asked how to get to our room she just pointed at the elevator and said 3rd floor and the room # is on your room pass.I should have complained to management but I didnt but I dont plan on ever going back there ,Our room was on the 22nd floor next to the Elevators which sounded like a train going by all night and the beds was like laying on concrete.Worse night I ever spent in a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We're so sorry your stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate all your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed at the Galt House Hotel on Sept 8th weekend. Great location, great water's edge view, short walk to Fourth Street Live, close to Louisville Slugger Museum. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. The bed was fine, no bugs....I don't recommend the roll-away, it was completely uncomfortable, and we ended up not using it. The place is obviously aged, but is still nice, and we got a great deal on Hotwire for $60/nt. The food and drinks at the bar in the 'atrium' were excellent, and weren't overpriced like we assumed they'd be. "Club 360", the workout facility was super nice, great panoramic views, nice equipment, costs an additional $5/day per person. The lobby in the Suite Tower had a weird, fried chicken/sewer smell....all weekend?? But, the rest of the place was fine. They also charge $12/night for parking. I will definitely stay here again, especially if I can get it for the same pricel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coagulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us! We hope you'll come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Galt to see the musical Wicked. The theater is located just a short walk outside the back of the hotel across a scenic waterfront park. Great access to the museums and waterfront activities. The hotel had a historic southern feel with a lot of carved dark wood decor. The views of the river from the room were excellent. Our room was clean as were the other areas we used. As some reviews remarked it could do with some new carpet and updated bedding. We used the free wifi in walkway bar area and it worked great. Self parking was $12 a day. The staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. Easy and quick check in and check out. We did bid on priceline for our stay making it a very good value.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HartleyIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for staying with us! We hope you enjoyed Wicked as much as we did! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#12 of 99 in Louisville
1,490 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 99 in Louisville
1,789 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 99 in Louisville
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#19 of 99 in Louisville
188 reviews
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $147 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,314 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with head-spinning cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing