We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel In The Center Of Downtown”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We got a great price on this hotel thanks to a 'discount travel site'. For the money this place could not be beat.

it is a MAZE though, it's massive... Depending on where you park you may or may not have to cross through the 3rd level connector that contains a really neat aquarium bar with a bird area too containing lots of species of birds.

Cons:

Parking was $12 a day - non comped for guests
WiFi was $9.95 a day - which if you do NOT have a real credit card you can't get their WiFi..,.You were only able to use thier unsecured public access in the "common" areas.
24/7 cafe open
On the non-suite side, the fridge the offer will barely hold 1 can of soda! it's a glorified car fridge with a car charger connected to a different power source. So not worth it, we'd have gladly paid for a bigger fridge.
Poor water pressure in the showers

Pros:

You are blocks from the center of town and the entertainment district
Right on the water if you can get a good view
Planes flying right over head to the airport yet you can't hear them at all
Comfy beds
Slippery bathtubs, but they offer shower mats... Huge plus!

Check in was quick, but again - if you do not have a credit card, do NOT charge anything to your room, as they will charge your entire amount AGAIN to your room. Their system is jacked up.

For the rate, you can't beat it. We would definitely stay there again.. Even though the room was a bit dusty, it was overall clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose the side facing the Belvedere to get a better view of the river. If you face the suite tower...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to hear you had a great time in Louisville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,038)
There are newer reviews for Galt House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,276 - 3,282 of 4,038 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beautiful place. Huge suite rooms bigger than a lot of apartments & reasonably priced for location by the water and easy access to the interstate. 3rd floor bar is in overpass to other building/rooms and has a very long fish tank all the way down the bar top. Canaries & Quail on display too. A few shops and a deli. Great food & room service was not too outrageous. Some of the places were closed when we got there. I think the info boasted 150 types of bourbon in one of the bars. The only disappointment was that the pool was already closed on Labor Day weekend and it was one of the main reasons we booked it online as a stop over between other destinations. We had been swimming much farther north in Lake Michigan earlier that day and had hoped to swim some that night before more driving the next day.

Room Tip: Someone said rooms were small but the suites on the side of the road where the lobby is are huge. Yo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Galt House Hotel. It is sad that the rainy weather meant an early close of the pool. We completely understand the disappointment. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again-- and hopefully have beautiful weather next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Agree with others. A lackluster hotel. Let me first say that all staff I encountered were hospitable and friendly, the location is great for downtown Louisville activities, the rooms have good views, there is a cool Derby display at the front door, there is an awesome Bourbon bar (come for this if nothing else), and the price is reasonable.

Having said this, the hotel is not incredibly tidy once you leave the lobby. The air conditioning is not consistent through the hotel. The elevators are slow. The carpet is old and dirty almost everywhere. They charge for parking, internet, and computer usage. Even the large apartments are not so new or cool. Their balconies open to the roar of the interstate and the annoying calliope on the riverboat. And the mattresses are hard. Overall, this hotel has the feel of a place that is being operated on nearly a shoestring. If you want a nice hotel in Louisville, there are better options.

Room Tip: Stay away from side of hotel on interstate and stay on a lower level floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bocephus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expecations. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Louisville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The employee at the reception desk could have been more helpful when checking in. She didn't provide any other information than 'here is your room number, your keycard and take that elevator'. The rooms were spacious and had large windows. There was only one trash can (in the bathroom) and the noise from the street level was very loud - even on the 14th floor.
Sara, working the breakfast buffet, was a breath of fresh air. She was pleasant, funny and a hard worker.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

First off, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Got a free upgrade to a suite, and the facilities were top notch. The only downpoint was the room service. We ordered pizza at 8:45pm on our second day (service went until 12 midnight), and from answering the phone the attendant was, well, whats a good way of saying b!tchy without actually using the word? That. She gave the impression she couldn't care less, actually stopped me during the order because "I've got all these phones ringing, you're gonna have to wait a minute", and when I came back off hold and completed the order, ended our conversation abruptly without giving a total,estimated time, thank you, or an appropriate body part to kiss.

Needless to say, this left a bad taste in our mouths, but also encouraged us in our future stays with the hotel (and we will be returning) to pursue other food options in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalenP979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for staying with Galt House Hotel. We are happy to hear you had a nice stay in Louisville. We are sorry that the room service experience left a sour taste. We value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Galt House is situated in a great location. The property is beautiful, the services it great, and the rooms were clean. The carpet looked a little run down, but overall my stay was good. My husband and I originally booked a suite with a King bed, and ended up with 2 Queens. Front desk staff was not able to make a switch due to the hotel being full all weekend. They said that they can try to accommodate my request, but it is simply a request. I thought reservations were to "reserve" what you want?

We ate at the Magnolia restaurant in another tower on the property for breakfast. They have a buffet. The selection could have been a little larger, but the cook to omelette and eggs were delicious. There were other items on the menu as well, but we settled for the buffet.

Pros: Valet service, location, room size, nice property
Cons: Need more outlets, clean carpet, not enough trash cans in room (none in bathroom, bedroom, or living room)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for staying with Galt House Hotel. We value your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I planned to stay for a week due to business in the area. It was not a good idea to stay here during the labor day weekend due to a festival that was going on right outside my room. The rooms are a bit small with no frig or microwave. Bed's are not comfortable. The all you can eat fried chicken was good though in the Magnolia. I did take the time out to use the hotels salon/spa which after receiving service I had to correct a minor flaw. I have to say management needs to do something about the horrid smell in the Rivue tower lobby! Someone is cooking food wrong. Smelled like old seafood, which turned my stomach everytime I was leaving or coming. Another note: anyone on business should be placed in the other tower during the festival. The music was so loud in my room that I could not get a good nights rest.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTruthHasBeenTold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We are sorry that your stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 97 in Louisville
1,391 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 97 in Louisville
1,937 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 97 in Louisville
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Louisville
890 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $154 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,314 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing