We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Rolls Royce Owners Club”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We travelled to Louisville for a Rolls Royce Owners Club meet. The old-fashioned charm combined with the modern technology (wi-fi) made for a lovely place to have a meet. The convention room was sizable so that the tables of the booths were not crowded. Staff was hospitable without being overbearing. The food was tasty. The rooms were clean. We opted for a suite and were not disappointed with the view of the river and the accessibility to the pool. Would return, just for the charm!

Room Tip: For just a bit more, opt for the suite. We traveled as a couple with sons 18 and 22 and it gave eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Galt House Hotel and at the convention! We do hope you'll come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,369 - 3,375 of 4,100 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at the Galt House on a trip to Nashville and we couldn't be more pleased with our stay. I booked a hotel through Travelocity's mystery hotels and got the Galt House for $70 a night. For this price we had a huge 1 BR suite (plenty of room for 2 adults and our teenage children) with a view of the Ohio River. The hotel is in a perfect location to go to all of Louisville's attractions. It's located next door to the KFC Yum Center, 1 block away from the 4th street experience, and is a short 4 block walk to Louisville Slugger Stadium and the Louisville Slugger bat factory. The front desk was very helpful with our stay and with advice as to get around the city. Parking costs $12, but with the low cost of the hotel it was definately worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for staying at Galt House Hotel! We are happy to hear you had a great time in Louisville and at our hotel. Stop by and see us again next time you're going through town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

rooms were cleaned some days better than others; wait staff seems inexperienced; prices
are for derby time--not summer time, seemed to be from another age. If you can get a room
with a view it is srt of worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

We're sorry that your stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have stayed here twice with excellent deals from Priceline. We aren't terribly picky, so I won't be commenting on what I consider the minor details. We enjoyed our stay because of the adventure, not because of the televisions or fixtures. The older side of the hotel has "character" but is still in upscale condition. You will wait for elevators no matter what, so make sure you have friendly company. The views are mostly spectacular. The suites are gorgeous. Bonus hallway in the suite adds ambience and extra privacy if visiting with guests in the living area. Be sure and close the curtains, though. There is a "Rear Window" effect for all rooms facing the opposite tower. Admittedly, this can also be a source of entertainment. Our favorite thing about the Galt is the 24 hour conservatory and cafe and all of the wonderful events we happen upon even on an over night getaway. If you love Louisville, stay here at least once. This hotel is what started our now regular trips to downtown Louisville, KY. As long as Priceline keeps negotiating good deals, we will gladly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grendarehla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

We're so glad to hear we're a part of your Louisville experience. Thank you for your great feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great place my husband and I have stayed here twice both times booking through Priceline . The character of this hotel is great, clean rooms and great food. We always walk down to Third Street for the entertainment and great atmosphere. Would recommend making The Galt House one of your stops on your trip through Louisville.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank 1gulfstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Galt House Hotel. We're so happy to hear you had a great time at our hotel and in Louisville. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Initially I'd like to say this was the second time we've stayed at the Galt House and each time we've been more delighted. The Ohio river views from the Rivue tower are much nicer in comparison to Suite tower, however those suites in the tower opposite are huge, well equipped and very nicely finished. What really shines through for me here however is the service. Having stayed at some incredibly nice hotels in various places in the world, the service at the Galt House is always warm, wonderfully genuine and will keep me coming back for many years to come. Also, the Rivue restaurant on the 22nd floor is exquisite and comes highly recommended. If I was REALLY nitpicking I could say the bell hops are a little rough with the baggage, but that's really looking for something to be wrong.

To summarise - I've always left with a smile on my face feeling well looked after.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for the kind words about Galt House Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to be a part of your stay here in Louisville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Galt House Hotel twice now and have been extremely pleased both times. The first time we stayed we were in the Rivue Tower and were incredibly pleased with the spacious, perfectly clean room and the beautiful view of the river and downtown Louisville. It is in a wonderful location, within walking distance of Louisville's museums and steps away from Slugger Stadium. If we decided to explore further from the hotel, the staff was very willing to give us directions and offer any assistance they could.The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast although a bit expensive was delicious. We visited the restaurant on the top level and were very pleased with the quality of the food and the experinced and classy service we received. The second time we stayed in the hotel was for our wedding night. Not only were we greeted with congratulations and smiles, we were also lead up to a beautiful suite with more room than most apartments have. The jets in the tub and the glass walk in shower was just the beginning of the beauty to the room. Although the view was not as nice as before, it did not take away from the breathtaking suite. The staff all around including bell hop, front desk and valet all were top notch and incredibly friendly. Definitely could not have been happier and made our wedding night even more special. We both agree we would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a good view the Rivue Tower is recommended; however, if you prefer a more spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Congratulations on your wedding! We are happy to be a part of your special day. Thank you for choosing Galt House Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 98 in Louisville
1,429 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 98 in Louisville
1,750 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 98 in Louisville
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#14 of 98 in Louisville
895 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#23 of 98 in Louisville
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $154 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,314 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with head-spinning cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing