We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you depend on internet service, this place is not for you”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“If you depend on internet service, this place is not for you”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is now the second year that I stayed at Galt House. Once again, I stayed on the 9th floor of the Suite Tower, and while I was told that I had an executive suite at check-in, the room was not a suite, which was a bit disappointing. It appears that the room was recently updated. I had no issue with the decor or the cleanliness. There were two main areas of concern I had with the room 1) internet access and 2) the bathroom. I found the internet situation to be even worse than last year when I stayed here. I never had reliable service. Both my colleague and I were continually bumped off and at times it would take us more than 20 minutes to get any kind of connection. On the second day of my stay, I called the front desk and explained the issue and was told that, well, there are just a lot of people trying to use the internet, so it will be slow. I find that answer to be unacceptable. In a modern hotel that seems to cater to conference crowds, it should be expected that there will be many people staying there, wanting to use the internet. The system needs to be upgraded. The second issue is in the bathroom. We had a shower stall only. In the shower stall, there is a small dish in which to put soap, but there is no place to set a wash cloth, shampoo or anything else. Everything else had to be put on the floor. The same is true with clothing. There's not a single hook in the bathroom to hang anything. Also, the design of the shower leads to a lot of water pooling outside of the shower.

I visited the bourbon bar twice while there. The first time, I waited 15 minutes without even being acknowledged by the server, who had only one other table in the bar. That's not acceptable. I wanted to leave, but my colleague suggested moving to the bar, where the bar tender was helpful and took care of us. The second night I visited it, there was no issue at all, even though it was much busier.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michigan_Traveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. While we have just upgraded our WiFi to an extremely robust system, we are finding that there are gaps from time to time. I can assure you we have experts who are actively working to correct these problems. We are sorry your WiFi was impacted. We appreciate your opinions and will use them as constructive criticism to improve our future customer experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    1,173
    675
    332
    205
See reviews for
709
799
139
1,405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago,il
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at the Galt House for a Church Conference. The hotel is huge and shows signs of wear and age. The staff was accommodating and helpful and went out of their way to be helpful. The suite was spacious and seeminly newly remodeled with flat panel tv's tile bath and refrigerator, no microwave though which is little strange, fridge but no micro which would have been nice. The bed was the hardest I have ever seen, it was almost impossible to sleep on. The food in the Magnolia cafe was very good. The banquet food at the conference was delicious. Parking is $$$$ Overall it was a good experience. The hotel has seen it's best days tho.

Room Tip: Nice shopping, in Lewisville (?) Indiana. The front desk had directions printed out for all shoppin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beejay0099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We thank you for staying with us and are sorry to hear that the matress did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was our 8th year in a row staying at The Galt House over the Memorial Day weekend and was a very good experience. Check-in went very smoothly as well as every aspect of our whole stay.

Room Tip: When we go we usually stay 6 nights so we get the executive suites and they are very nice and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkellis16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty in staying with us. We are so glad to hear that your stay went well. We'll see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed at the Galt House during a business trip to Louisville. I did not encounter any of the issues with the parking garage or the check-in being in another tower that some others did. There was plenty of parking (although the key reader was "touchy"), and the lobbies are only a few feet from each other via a covered walkway. The staff was very friendly, and the location can't be beat - you can walk anywhere downtown in just a few minutes. Also, being a runner, it was a bonus to be right along the Riverwalk - a 5 mile path along the water, with parks, benches, and marinas along the way.

I was in the Rivue Tower, and my room was clean and quiet. The only thing that I found odd was that I was in an interior room (228) which was on the shopping promenade - closed and quiet at night - and my window opened up to the escalator lobby. That meant that I really could never have my window open, unless I wanted everyone coming and going to have a full on view of what was going on in my room. I did like being on the 2d floor, as that meant I could walk up and down the stairs or take the escalator to the lobby/garage, and did not have to wait for the elevators, which seemed to take quite a long time.

I would stay again, but would ask for a suite and a widow to the outside - river or street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a window to the outside. And, just so you know, the rivue tower rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nattitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a good stay and were able to enjoy being in the Heart of Louisville. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrews, IN
Level Contributor
180 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just completed my annual trek to Louisville to attend Abbey Road on the River Beatles festival and as usual stayed at the Galt House due to it's proximity to the event. This is the ninth year that my buddies and I have stayed at the Galt House in conjunction with the festival. As usual, check in was a little chaotic due to the number of people doing the same thing at the same time, but went off without a hitch. The only minor issue was that we wanted to stay on the third floor to avoid the elevators but had to settle on the fourth floor instead which meant climbing one flight of stairs (not that big of a deal). When the hotel is full the elevators can become a challenge since there are only four of them to each tower in the facility. However, the rooms are spacious, pool is nice, and the maids were accomadating to our wishes when cleaning the rooms. Really, my only complaint is the lack of a microwave in our room. The parking garage was under construction which caused some minor problems as well but I guess they are working to make it better so cannot complain about that. All in all things went very well and with four splitting the cost of one suite, it was not that expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
We thank you for being such a loyal guest! Glad to hear you had a great time at Abbey Road on the River. We appreciate your feedback and will hopefully see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed at the Galt House last week for a conference and was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. My only issue was that the hotel bar, AJ's, employs bartenders that do not know how to make an Old Fashioned, which, along with the Mint Julep, is a Louisville standard. Of course, these were daytime bartenders, so perhaps therein lies the explanation...

Room Tip: Stay in the Rivue tower in an east-facing room if you want to have a good view of the Ohio River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Carrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We're so glad you had a great stay! We hope you'll come visit us many more times in the future! And you're right about the Old Fashioned's... we'll get that worked out for you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Nice hotel, though prices shoot thru the roof during big event weekends (no different than anywhere else) We enjoyed the close proximity to downtown and the ability to walk to 4th St. Live (a Must Do in Louisville) Clean rooms, friendly staff!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blayne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
We thank you so much for your kind review. So glad you had a great stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing