We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,015)
Filter reviews
5,015 results
Traveler rating
1,734
1,445
927
513
396
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,734
1,445
927
513
396
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ohio river suite tower cafe magnolia rivue restaurant fish tank view of the river yum center downtown louisville bourbon bar large hotel convention center third floor fourth street live conference conservatory skywalk deli
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,925 - 4,930 of 5,015 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2007

I stayed at the Galt House in Louisville for three nights, while attending a convention. I was booked into a suite in the East Tower on the 11th floor, and it was fabulous. The suite was huge, with a nice sitting room, much more than adequate bathroom, and large bedroom with double beds. I really appreciated the free wireless Internet in my room, too. This hotel is spotlessly clean and the employees are professional yet warm and friendly. I worked out several times at the Fitness Center on the 18th Floor. It has excellent equipment, with a beautiful view, too, and the staff there were so helpful and accomodating. The glass Conservatory area, which connects the East and West Towers, is a very relaxing place to get a drink at the bar, or at Thelma's, an espresso/deli restaurant. We also ate at Rivue, on the 25th floor of the West Tower. The food was incredible, and of course, the view (with a revolving floor) is stunning. I will be returning to Louisville on business again next year, and will definitely rebook at the Galt. I am very impressed with this property.

Date of stay: September 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank dawnzascorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

We spent 3 nights at the Galt and loved it. Our room was very nice and the bed was great. The dining and bar situation in this hotel is fantastic. The Conservatory is wonderful with the very nice bar and the 24 hour deli/gift store. Where do find that? You can get a sandwich or a snack or whatever at all times. The 25th floor restaurant, Rivue, was absolutely fantastic. It's brand new with a great lounge area and the food was NYC great. Great location with a trolley right outside. Don't believe the nitpickers.

Date of stay: September 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fig414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Stayed here four nights in March 07 and then one night last week; it has not changed :-)

Kind of dated with the 80's decor; needs a facelift. Check-in was smooth (this time, last it took until 4 pm to get a room).

Wireless internet was useless on the 14th floor and I did not have a cat V cable to plug-in the wall.

Room was clean, bed was comfy after a 4000 mile trip from AK. Great location for the downtown scene. I woke up after a nap at 9 pm and was able to find something to eat within a five minute walk of the hotel.

One question. Why does the Galt charge $9.00 for guest to park, when there is parking right next door at $4.00?

Date of stay: September 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Jaegerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

We stayed three nights at the Galt. Though it tries to be great, it doesn't quite make it. It is a bit dreary and dark, and it could use some sprucing up. The Rivue at the top was quite elegant and the view terrific, but the Magnolia served an awful Eggs Benedict. Next time in Louisville we will go to the Museum Hotel. Proof restaurant was fabulous. MJL

Date of stay: September 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
7  Thank 717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

the gault house hotel is a great place to stay! the check in was really easy, even though their were a lot of people in line. the rooms were beautiful and large. we had a suite, with a microwave and a regrigerator. this hotel is right on the water, and easy to walk anywhere downtown. i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank number1hedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews