We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 4 star”
Review of Breckinridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breckinridge Inn
Ranked #71 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed August 27, 2007

The Bredkinridge does not rate a 4 star motel but still a nice place to stay. It has passed its glory days as have many old motels, but our stay was fine. Our room was clean, staff was nice. the continental breakfast consisted of pastries, juice and milk. The milk dispenser was very, very dirty. It had layers of dried milk on the metal part where the plastic milk nozel comes out. We never visited the pool but drove around it and it appeared nice. I would rate this motel a 2 star. Based on the price we paid, it was a good deal.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank octavia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 416 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2007

The staff is very friendly & helpful. The rooms, bathrooms, & beds were all clean as a pin. The beds were extremely comfortable, soft, & plush. The surroundings outside is rather quite and peaceful. The large trees offer quite a bit of shade and also privacy. The pools were nice and clean. The breakfast offered in the mornings was fresh and plentiful. The only thing I seen that needed improving were the hallways leading to the rooms. They are very clean in appreance and very well lit. However, they need some type of fresh air ventilation because the heat we are having here in central KY makes them rather musky smelling. Other than the hallways everything was great. We will gladly book a room here again!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillbilly1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Maybe it was the particular hallway we were on (right off the pool), but the hall and our room was musty and smelly...so much so that we stopped at the store to buy air freshener and scented candles, which only helped minimally. The room must've had bed bugs because we ALL got huge, swollen bites on our legs overnight. The carpet felt so damp that we didn't feel comfortable not wearing shoes. We had the misfortune of the mattress pad coming off so that we saw mystery stains on the mattress. Internet service to our room (again, maybe because we were far from the main lobby) was shoddy and not dependable. So, all in all, we'll never stay here again but it did provide us shelter and a place to clean up.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ntg919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

The Breckenridge Inn was probably a very nice hotel when it was built, but it hasn't had any TLC for many years. It is "off the beaten path" so its business probably never benefited from drive-by customers. It has a "three diamond" rating by AAA, so I must assume noone has been there to inspect it in a very long time. I reserved four nights but checked out after one. (If I could have, I wouldn't have stayed that one night!)

From the parking lot pavement, landscaping and exterior paint to the lobby, front desk, and hallways it looks--and is--neglected and tired. I have NEVER SEEN DIRTIER CARPET in a hotel room, even in hotels that were overall worse than this one. The mattresses and box springs were worn and frayed; the a/c unit was filty, rusty and loud; the windows were foggy and dirty; the furniture in the common areas was worn, dirty or just old. The continental breakfast consisted of dry cereal, white bread for toast, plain bagels, a donut and muffin or two, and milk, juice and coffee. The staff members I encountered were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2006

We were pleased with our stay at the Breckinridge. The hotel is in a nice location with many beautiful trees on the property. The rooms were recently renovated and we found them to be homey and comfortable. The staff was pleasant during our stay. In addition, we enjoyed the free continental breakfast that was offered which had more variety than some other hotels we have patronized.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisehorselover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

This is the second dirtiest hotel I've ever stayed in. My nonsmoking room stank strongly of smoke, and the window could not be opened to air it out. I'm not sure the room was cleaned--the coffeepot still held residue from the last person and there was a stray shampoo in the tub. I saw what seemed to be mold spots in the bathroom, on the ceiling, on the floor, on the soap dish. The light was extremely weak in the bathroom. The radio alarm never went off.

On the plus side, it was quiet in my room even though in the hallway I could hear the TV loudly of the person across the hall. The wireless access worked easily.

The woman at the front desk when I checked out apologized and said they would give the room a "deep clean," but offered no compensation.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fresa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2006

smelled like mold! mold on the bathromm wall1 floor's so dirty the bottom of my feet were black! t.v remote would'nt work! dirty window's! bath tub clogged! leave's in the bottom of the poll inside! all the for the price I don't think so! dirty matresses! I learned my lesson you pay for what you get!!

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank rusty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
South Side
Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo
East Louisville
Best Western Louisville East
Best Western Louisville East
#39 of 98 in Louisville
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#51 of 98 in Louisville
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breckinridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breckinridge Inn

Address: 2800 Breckenridge Ln, Ky, Louisville, KY 40220-1498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range: $76 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breckinridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breckinridge Hotel offers 123 guest rooms. We are a non smoking hotel located just six miles from the Louisville International Airport, Kentucky Fair and Expo Center and Kentucky Kingdom. We are also conveniently located to many restaurants, shopping malls, golf courses and hospitals. Only ten minutes from Churchill Downs, Louisville Zoo, KFC Yum Center and Louisville Slugger Field just to name a few. Enjoy a night at Jerry Greens & Friends with live entertainment, swim in one of our two large pools, relax in the whirlpool or get a massage at Body Integrations located in our Health Club area. Whether its business or pleasure we have something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Breckinridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breckinridge Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing