We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive but locals can swim at the same pool”
Review of Breckinridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breckinridge Inn
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Lambertville, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Inexpensive but locals can swim at the same pool”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My kids and I wanted to stay at a decent hotel ($51/night) while visiting Louisville this June. With the inexpensive price and mixed reviews, I agree it was not great. The staff was very friendly, the rooms needed updating (paint cracking, leaking bathtub faucet, and old beds). The beds were very uncomfortable and the rooms are small. We were able to get a roll away bed but barely had room to fit it. When we asked for more towels, they sent them right down. The rooms also had a strange smell when you walk in.

The thing I found the strangest was the locals (apartments are almost in the same parking lot) were allowed to buy memberships to the pool. When we arrived there was water aerobics going on in the outside pool. We had to wait to swim. The locals also would show up with coolers and cigarettes to get their sun from about 9AM until 10PM. One group even had a party at the pool that we had to walk around to return to our room. It was very odd and brought in a lot of strangers which were not all friendly. In the inside pool, people were swimming laps. The hot tub jets were broken. The lifeguards on duty were always pleasant but some were there to chat it up with their friends instead of doing their jobs.

The continental breakfast was fine and included cereal, juice, coffee, bagels, muffins, etc. Nothing fancy but enough to feed the kids.

Room Tip: The rooms were quiet. Ours was near the pool entrance but had no traffic issues or noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    134
    88
    46
    50
See reviews for
158
86
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

service sucks, room had feces in the toilet, floor/carpet was wet, beds smell like your urine
Roy is a horrible man, scared my neice to death, didn't like that I complained in front of others guests, so he kicked me and called the cops banging on my hotel door like a I am gangster or something.
I am going on every website possible telling everyone what happened.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gomie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Louisville hotels

Cincinnati Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed in a block of rooms for a wedding at the Kaden Tower. It was very close to the venue.
The entire staff was super friendly and very helpful. The ice machine was broken the first night but repaired by the next day. The room was very clean but there were marks in the tub. The worst thing was the smell. Sort of musty. The room was 146, ADA compliant. It is a pet friendly hotel. The breakfast was ok, not too many choices.

Room Tip: Near the pool rooms are damp, 161
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
323 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The first thing you notice is the painfully dated decor. We saw the film "Grand Budapest Hotel" not long after staying here and it kinds of reminded us of the hotel in the moview, although this place was never that oppulent and the locations isn't very scenic. This hotel has colors and patterns not widely seen together since the 80’s and it probably should stay that way. It really really needs an update. One gets the idea this place was added on to several times and as a result, the upper floor hallway isn’t straight, but meanders and turns and then they throw in occassional sets of three stairs. When we tried to use the heater (this was in late April and it was still kinda chilly), it stunk up the room so bad we had to turn it off. Then the HVAC unit in rooom wouldn’t shut off off until we unplugged it. Breakfast here was pretty basic. This location is also not especially handy to the downtown attractions. For a night’s stay, the room was adequate and we’ve definitely stayed in worse, but I’d check into other options before staying here again. If you do stay here, a tip would be that the front parking lot tends to fill up, so drive around the back and park by the “health spa” (really just the pool) and go in the back door.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmarkwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed two nights on a family trip. The hotel was aged but CLEAN, the staff was friendly, the outdoor pool was wonderful. However, the mattresses could use an upgrade and so could the breakfast. The breakfast would have been fine IF my husband was not diabetic. There was nothing he could eat save a boiled egg. We had to eat elsewhere, which wasn't terrible considering the price of the rooms. Two simple, inexpensive additions to their breakfast, fruit and oatmeal, and I could have given this place four green dots for "very good". All this being said, my husband and I agreed that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldiva1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel was very convenient for our stay visiting family for a long weekend. The outside is gorgeous. The inside could use some updating and a facelift, but everything was very clean. Our room was comfortable and clean but in need of the same updating. The free breakfast was very limited, but the food offered was fine and the room a decent size. We did not use it, but the outdoor pool looked awesome. The staff we encountered were friendly. All in all it was a fine stay and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustyCleveland_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We booked our stay for a volleyball tournament. We originally had two nights, but I called over a month ahead of time and cancelled the first night as we would only be coming in for the one night. The female I spoke with stated they do not have confirmation numbers or emails, so that I could not get one, but they have us down coming in on Saturday now. Well....we arrived on Saturday and they said "oh we missed you last night"???? What! So, figuring we did not show up, they placed me and my two children in rooms above the bar and also my father was placed in another room above the bar. Stating "no other rooms were available. We had to listen to music until 230 am then listen to people carrying leaving out in the parking lot until about 330 am or so. AWFUL!! Then I had to call back for several days to speak with the only manager about getting my money back, because they charged me NOT only for Friday night (which I cancelled several weeks prior), but for a THIRD ROOM, that I never booked!! **On a positive note, they did refund all of the charges. But the sleep we missed and having to get up early for a volleyball tournament! Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#43 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo
East Louisville
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
East Louisville
Homewood Suites Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breckinridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breckinridge Inn

Property: Breckinridge Inn
Address: 2800 Breckenridge Ln, Louisville, KY 40220-1498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breckinridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breckinridge Hotel offers 123 guest rooms. We are a non smoking hotel located just six miles from the Louisville International Airport, Kentucky Fair and Expo Center and Kentucky Kingdom. We are also conveniently located to many restaurants, shopping malls, golf courses and hospitals. Only ten minutes from Churchill Downs, Louisville Zoo, KFC Yum Center and Louisville Slugger Field just to name a few. Enjoy a night at Jerry Greens & Friends with live entertainment, swim in one of our two large pools, relax in the whirlpool or get a massage at Body Integrations located in our Health Club area. Whether its business or pleasure we have something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Breckinridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breckinridge Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing