We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breckinridge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Breckinridge Inn
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
327 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed 4 nights at the end of March and was very pleased. The room with King bed was clean and comfortable. My room was near the end of the hallway so it was quite. I found the location very convenient being right off the highway and near St. Matthews which was plenty of small local restaurants and 2 large malls (one with a nice movie theater). The pool was large and the hot tub was clean and hot. It was attended by lifeguards as I believe they sell pool memberships to the community. On the down side, the breakfast was free but did not many healthy options and the health club is poor - old equipment and not maintained. Overall for the price I was very pleased and would stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell-UP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    125
    84
    44
    44
See reviews for
143
82
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were going to Church nearby, so the location was excellent for us. The room was fine - but the live band in the lounge played pretty late into the night - It seems like most of the guests liked it. It worked out fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrmigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

At first glance Breckinridge inn looks OK; but from the moment I checked inn it went downhill.
The person at the front desk acted as if I was interrupting something important when I checked in, a performance that was repeated throughout my stay (if you could find someone at the desk).
Next the room, for a person over 6ft tall it was easy to see they never dusted the tops of anything, and worse there was dried flem in the bathroom sink! The room felt crowded and uncomfortable, worse the internet did not work forcing me to go to a coffee shop to to send and recieve important e-mails.
I spent 2 days there then went to another hotel I stayed at previously that was cheaper with better sevice just no pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Louisville hotels

Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a tight budget for our trip to Kentucky, so we wanted to spend less than $60 a night, but we were not sure what to expect for that price. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was nice, we had a King bed. I found the mattress a bit stiff, but I also like my mattresses softer than most people, and my husband did not have a problem with it. They have a flat screen tv with a good selection of cable channels, plus two HBO channels. They also have free wi-fi which seems rare these days. The only downside is that the walls seemed a bit thin, because we could hear everything going on in the hall and the room next door. It is possible we just had especially noisy neighbors, though, and the hallway noise could probably be avoided by asking for a room on the second floor.

My husband and I like to go lap swimming several times a week, so we were really glad that they have an indoor pool with lap lanes. It is just short of 25 meters, maybe 22? Half of the pool is for lap swimming and half is for leisure. The pool was quite warm, which is probably really nice if you are just floating and relaxing, but was a bit warm for lap swimming. We still appreciated having lap lanes, though. Be aware that people in the area can buy memberships, and so the pool can get a bit busy. If you come around 5pm, be prepared to wait for a lane, especially since it seems like some people reserve lanes for people who do not appear to be waiting, so it is hard to know when you will be able to use a lane. If you go in the middle of the day, though, you will probably not have to wait long if at all. They also have a nice hot tub there, and it is a good place to talk to people that live nearby to learn about the area.

The breakfast is okay, it is mainly cold items like bagels and cereal, but they do have hot biscuits with gravy, which my husband thought were good. Plus it is free so it is hard to complain.

The hotel is located about 15 minutes from downtown, but it is right off the freeway so it is easy to get there. There are a lot of good restaurants nearby, especially if you go into St. Matthews. You will find a good combination of chains and independent restaurants there, and a lot of ethnic food. There is also a bar in the hotel, which was nice. The bartenders were friendly and they had a good selection at a reasonable price. We were there on a weekday, but apparently if you go on weekend there is a cover and a 2 drink minimum, because they have live entertainment, so be aware of that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkenaturegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

The stay at Breckinridge Inn was fraught with many difficulties that made for an unpleasant stay (having to make both beds after finding hairs in the sheets and duvet covers because housekeeping had gone for the day, and other things). After emailing the General Manager concerning my displeasure, she immediately replied and did the best she could to make the situation better. Quite grateful that she did make an effort, because I really did not want to post the pics I took of everything that was wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for the hotel room to be far from the live band, if you're looking to sleep at night. Band s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinherenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is located convenient to Interstate 65. It is well very kept up and an incredible value. A spacious room with two double beds was $62 plus tax. The free breakfast was average, nothing special. I was traveling with my dog and the hotel is very pet friendly. The only problem we encountered was that the water level on the commode was too high.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennchi60640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
South Side
Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#44 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
East Louisville
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East
East Louisville
BEST WESTERN Louisville East
BEST WESTERN Louisville East
#47 of 95 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breckinridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breckinridge Inn

Property: Breckinridge Inn
Address: 2800 Breckenridge Ln, Louisville, KY 40220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breckinridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breckinridge Hotel offers 123 guest rooms. We are a non smoking hotel located just six miles from the Louisville International Airport, Kentucky Fair and Expo Center and Kentucky Kingdom. We are also conveniently located to many restaurants, shopping malls, golf courses and hospitals. Only ten minutes from Churchill Downs, Louisville Zoo, KFC Yum Center and Louisville Slugger Field just to name a few. Enjoy a night at Jerry Greens & Friends with live entertainment, swim in one of our two large pools, relax in the whirlpool or get a massage at Body Integrations located in our Health Club area. Whether its business or pleasure we have something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Breckinridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breckinridge Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing